We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”
Review of Mayan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayan Inn
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Daytona Beach
1 review
“Terrible hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was my first time in Daytona and my fiance wanted it to be a very good experience for me for biketoberfest. This hotel is discusting. First of all ordered a king bed ocean front view but was given a double with ocean view. Very nasty! The window seals were filled with bugs and dirt, the ceiling had black mold on it, the faucet knob fell off, the vent in the bathroom was black, the drain in the bathtub would not drain if the stopper plug was kept in the drain which was supposed to be able to bring it up and down to plug and unplug, the tub was moldy, the balcony ceiling was very retreated, the pool was algae lined (Gross)!!!, the sheets were not changed, only was allowed 2 washcloths per day!!!! And the resort fee was rediculous!!! Very Very unhappy! The night staff was very hateful!!! The parking was very slim and the roof leaked on the top of the truck therefore no gutters on the roof. The breakfast was was sad!!! Will never ever be back will definitely go down the road for the same price or even cheaper!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    76
    59
    59
    86
See reviews for
116
82
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and it has never been GREAT, but this time it was really BAD. The hotel was under major renovation on half of the rooms and the other half really needed renovation. Very run down. Will be very sceptical of booking there again

And to top it off, room prices were escalated due to it being Biketoberfest - definitely not worth the money paid.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammaNete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Riverdale, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I can't say it doesn't need a little work, because it do, but I had the time of my life. I called in my reservation and when I got there, I had to wait because I got there before check in time, but they got me and my mom in quickly. I loved it and plan on returning next July, and I have to brag on the housekeeper on the eight floor. She was very helpful, nice and kept a lovely smile. Sometimes you just have to try something yourself, because what might be good to you, might not be good for someone else. The only problem I had was the elevators, one of them need a little fixer upper.

Room Tip: It's close to the pier, and you can see everything from the ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy2079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stay at the Mayan at least twice a year & wouldn't dream of going anyplace else. As I read some of the reviews people submit I'm amazed. I've never had a problem with any of the staff or the cleanliness of the room. In fact I can't say enough good things about the staff and have always had a great experience with all of them. Yes, the hotel is older but in the last few years they have started making improvements. As for the comment of the hotel being held up by jacks, that is not the case. There are temporary support poles in place while some renovations are being completed. In no way is the building structure compromised by this. My husband is a engineer that worked in the construction industry for 35+ year so I'm confident when he says the building is stucturally sound. Can't wait to see all of the staff next spring!

Room Tip: Upper level ocean front rooms are the best. Great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanB1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Nice people , and great service ! Not bad for the money . The place needs to be updated. I was there in July 2013. The elevators where the worst part , they are very Slow and aging. The location is the best part! Go check out the Ocean Deck next door! Great food and music! The Pool is very nice. You get a continental breakfast, was not too bad . I will stay there again, it's Not The Hilton ..... The price is not either !

Room Tip: If you need a good night sleep ,ask for the side Away from Ocean Deck , they play music loud . Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed at this hotel for a week. had prepaid so was stuck. no where on the web does it say that they are under major renovation. the room i was in had a sink that drained very slow, and a door look that wouldn't accept the pass keys after about 3 day's. one night i was even locked out instead of try another key the desk clerk put me up in another room. had no access to my stuff including medication. i had to have the pass key's remade 4 time during the 7 day's i stayed there.
the only positive about the hotel was it is on the beach.
additional note i have tried to reach management about the issues during my stay but have not received a reply to my email nor the survey that i took.
i would have had a better time sleeping in my car.

Room Tip: go some place else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I come 2 Daytona every year. First time at the mayan. Daytime staff was fantastic especially Jane at front desk, i hope u enjoy the coffee lol & the house keeping staff was phenominal. Maintenance Supervisor Wes. Im sorry I didnt get to say thank u in person 4 all ur help. U were polite, courtious & always took care of any issues with a smile. Contact me so i can thank u personally at linalashes@yahoo.ca U were busy getting things done when I left! Great location, walking distance 2 everything & great oceanfront pool. The downside 2 this hotel, the nite staff does not pay attention 2 its guests. Call front desk no answer, go down & front desk guy sitting watching tv while phone rings off the hook? Other evening woman sits in back office & no one greeting anyone who walks in. Not enough security around. Being a solo vacationer, security is a big thing! When u walk in at night & see no one? Not good! Manynon guests wandered around! Manager needs 2 watch how she speaks 2 staff, very rude & unprofessional & resort fee cost does not justify what u get. Breakfast, safe, internet & parking were always free at all the other hotels Ive stayed in! Needs some updates & internet is stronger in rooms closest 2 lobby. I was in 312 oceanview & loved my location & room & super comffy bed! Over all, I would go back!

Room Tip: I was in the ocean view room 312. Very comfy but across from Ocean Deck Bar so loud music till 3am k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiLi6571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#47 of 72 in Daytona Beach
331 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#49 of 72 in Daytona Beach
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#39 of 72 in Daytona Beach
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
1.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#56 of 72 in Daytona Beach
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#21 of 72 in Daytona Beach
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Property: Mayan Inn
Address: 103 S Ocean Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4321
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from Main Street Pier and walking distance to Ocean Center, Peabody Auditorium, Boardwalk, Daytona Lagoon and various other restaurants and attractions. Private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Oceanfront pool deck w/ seasonal Tiki Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing