We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mayan Inn
Ranked #78 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Ocala, Florida
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I frequent Daytona Beach often. The Mayan Inn is the best bang for your buck in the area. The staff is really awesome to deal with including Rachelle at the front desk. The rooms are kept up and the location of the hotel is great. The Tiki Bar out back is really good with some of the best drink specials in all of Daytona Beach. I'm a big race fan and would choose no other place to stay in Daytona Beach besides the Mayan Inn.

J- Ocala

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 99Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa D, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you 99jake for your business and your kind words. We most definitely appreciate your decision to be so loyal to our hotel and our team of excellent people. Rachelle is wonderful and I am so glad to hear she has made your experience commendable. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    72
    58
    55
    81
See reviews for
108
78
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here Friday and Sat. night, I think it's kind of a "you get what you pay for" kinda place. But, in daylight hours we noticed a large part of the support structure of the building is missing, and the foundation is held up by metal poles and jack stands. It just doesn't seem right. Is this place about to fall into the ocean? We chose this place due to pricing when we researched hotels a couple of months ago. At the time it seemed like a good deal relative to nicer properties nearby (Hilton, Wyndham) but oddly enough using Trip Advisor, I noticed these nicer properties were completely competitive in price when you are flexible and don't make your reservations months in advance. Go figure, could've stayed in a luxury resort for the same price, low $100's per night. So, lesson learned, booking online and early is not the best deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerLisa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa D, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are preparing to start some exterior concrete restoration, which the jack stands are a part of. In order to make the needed improvements to the pillars which support that area of the building we must place these to relieve the pressure which rests on them. This area is normally one which you could drive under the building and park in the small parking lot behind the area by the beach. There is nothing missing, we have just added the stands as we prepare to begin restoration. This is a process that includes engineering and inspections to ensure that what we are doing does not jeopardize the safety of our guests and the integrity of the structure. While it is not visually appealing and does not help our parking dilemma by forcing us to lose 12 parking spots, it is necessary for the future success of the Mayan Inn. I hope this helps in offering a better understanding of the circumstance. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is an older property, but don't let that scare you away. The service is excellent! The front desk staff was exceptional when we checked in, and just now Phil helped us book a return visit. Housekeeping is friendly and efficient! This is an older hotel, but clean and the service is what you would expect at a 5 star!

Room Tip: South side fronts a popular restaurant/bar with live music that you can enjoy from your balcony, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa D, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and for your recent stay with us. You are correct that our building is older, but we take pride in our ability to focus on a positive experience through excellent customer service. I am very happy to see that you found our team members friendly and efficient. Your comments mean a lot to us, thank you. I hope you are able to return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Do not stay here! Booked an accessible room, which it was not. Regular height toilet and tub/shower combination. I guess they wanted a wheelchair bound guest to shower by the pool! The door from the hotel room to the balcony over looking the garage and the restaurant next door did not lock! One double bed was freshly made but the other double was filthy. Hallway permeated with smoke. Went to front desk and we were moved to another room. Room was at least clean but do not look at the rusty door, the peeling paint on the ceiling, and the yellowed stained bathtub and sink. Why was it stained, turn the water on! Even after the I left the water running, it was still yellow. I am still wondering what the $8.00 a day resort fee was for. Stay somewhere else!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JenniferJ747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa D, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your business and for letting us know how your stay was. I am very sorry that your request for an accessible room was not accommodated. We have 4 accessible rooms with larger restroom & doorway, hand rails, and one with a roll in shower in our ocean view room type. It is very probable that these rooms were already requested by other parties. Our building is older and showing signs of its age, but I am glad to see that you found your room to be clean. We do have some repairs planned over the next few months and I hope that you will give us another chance to better serve you. It is best when requesting an accessible room to contact the hotel directly so we can ensure that we are both aware of and able to accommodate your request.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here with family. We ended up moving from another hotel down the beach to this one, which we regretted. The hotel is very old and run down looking. Nice staff with an excellent location. The Ocean Deck Restaurant, right next to the hotel was worth the stay for me, because it was very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa D, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Matthew,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to see that you were dissappointed in our accomodations. Our hotel is an older building, but we do our very best to provide clean rooms and a quality of service that one would expect at a 5 star hotel. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our excellent location and that you found our staff to be friendly. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

i stayed at the mayan inn off & on for 20 yrs. until 2 yrs. ago when i got tired of paying that price for a hotel that's falling apart. My step-daughter last wk got a room there because of the memories we have had there in past. I went to the bathroom & there was no door handle on door or toilet paper. tried calling front desk get t.p & nobody answered. had to get the t.p out of the bathroom by pool. the roof on her balcony was so bad we were waiting for the people above us to fall through. I had them come to my room which was @ roomba inn & we enjoyed drinks there. I come to daytona every few months & until mayan does improvements we won't go there again. we all live by clearwater so we know that's not the way u run a hotel on the beach with those prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherry g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa D, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Sherry,

I am so sorry that your most recent experience with us was not what you and your family had expected. I am aware the building is showing its age and we are getting ready to make some repairs to the building at the end of this year. We do our very best to provide quality customer service and it seems that we were unable to provide that to your family while they were here with us, please accept my sincerest apologies for that. We will continue to strive for service excellence and use your review as a learning tool to see what areas we need to improve upon. I hope that you and your family will give us another chance to better serve you once we are able to complete some of the work that is planned. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#73 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#49 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#75 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabreeze Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabree...
#20 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#35 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roomba Inn & Suites
Roomba Inn & Suites
#43 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Property: Mayan Inn
Address: 103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from Main Street Pier and walking distance to Ocean Center, Peabody Auditorium, Boardwalk, Daytona Lagoon and various other restaurants and attractions. Private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Oceanfront pool deck w/ seasonal Tiki Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing