We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The Right Choice"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayan Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mayan Inn
Ranked #84 of 104 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Mauldin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“"The Right Choice"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I drove down to Daytona Beach all night from Greenville South Carolina enroute to Orlando, Fla. When the sun came up the next morning and still no sleep, I took an exit towards Ormond beach in hopes of finding a place to eat and stay overnight. Turned south A1A towards Daytona Beach and worn out from the trip. Stopped at a couple of hotels that looked inviting. After inquiring about the room rates we continued our journey up and down the A1A strip until we happened to look off toward the ocean and saw the Myan Inn. I probably looked like the "Walking Dead" at this point, I am sure that I felt like it. The staff was real friendly and the price was better than expected. I got the Military discount rate and with an ocean view...Life is Good ! I had stayed at hotels around the world and this one is one of my favorites on my list. We arrived early so we had to wait for a room which was fine with us. We wanted something to eat anyway. The staff directed us to the bar and grill next door "Ocean Deck". We were within walking distance from the boardwalk and Capt Joe's seafood restaurant, which BTW is on the pier. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and quite. We will make reservations the next time bc We will be back.

Room Tip: Get the Ocean view..It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Slingshot1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa D, General Manager at Mayan Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and for leaving such a lovely review. We certainly appreciate you sharing your positive experience with others, as so many people go to past reviews to get an idea of where to stay. I am sorry that we were not able to get you into your room early, but am glad you found our neighbor's establishment and were able to have a nice lunch while you waited. We are in one of the best locations in Daytona Beach, with so much near by that you can easily walk to. I am also glad to see you were able to take advantage of our great military discount and want to thank you for your service to our country. I hope you are able to make it back to see us soon, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    65
    56
    50
    79
See reviews for
105
69
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I had read so many negative reviews on here about this hotel and was a little worried about staying there. We booked a cheap last minute air/hotel package through Allegiant Air. We arrived early in the day on Thu and checked in with no problems to find we had been upgraded to a king ocean front room. The lobby area was bright, and clean the front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was on the 6th floor with a balcony and beautiful view of the beach and water. It had a king bed, flat screen Tv, pull out couch, mini fridge, and microwave. The bathroom had a shower/tub and toilet in a very small room. The small sink area was separate. It was also very clean and the cleaning staff does an excellent job. The hotel is a bit dated but the room was nice and certainly worth the great price we got. Also the location is great and close to the boardwalk, lots of good restaurants, and the Ocean Deck next door. The elevators are dirty, and they are very slow. The lounge is nice and was a great place to hang out and watch the college football games and meet other guests. The bartender was great. For the price, the location, and the great service we would stay at the Mayan Inn again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryBeth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I went to Daytona Beach on Oct.26th thru the 28th and stayed at the Mayan Inn. I went for the Richard Petty ride-along. We have stayed there 4 times and were very pleased. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and we liked the rooms we stayed in. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away.Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We enjoyed each room. The last 2 times we stayed on the 8th floor. It was a side view, but you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The staff is amazingly sweet. Don't be discouraged by bad reviews. You most definitely get what you pay for. They bumped us up to Ocean view no charge. We left a Hilton hotel to stay here and didn't regret it for one second.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hislitlprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

stayed in this hotel 3 different occassions and when i was going again this year I almost blew the whole vacation by reading some aweful reviews that this hotel does not deserve. Just returned from 4 days it was as clean and comfortable as always. The service aone the pool great and the room as clean and roomy as always. The price is great and so is the location. Please if you need a great place with great service this is it. One note: breakfast could use some up grading.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballston Lake, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for Oktoberfest Bike week, our phone didn't work, TV remote didn't work, bathroom tub was like surfing all bucket up, with under it,Stains on the curtains of god only knows,and step on a piece of small glass in the room... Our friends stayed next door and had to get a new Air-conditioner,also had killed several bugs in their room. Place needs a HUGE renovation!!!!!
Staff was the only nice accommodation they have to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Anglesey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Mayan inn


What can I say!!?...... After all I read on trip advisor I was so paranoid about our stay for two nights at the weekend.....but I was amazed, happy and totally pleased with our stay.
We checked in no problem and had a front room with full ocean view (602) this room was clean, roomy, had a microwave and fridge and a good shower and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The housekeeper, Toni, was the best! She was always on the go and kept everywhere clean and during breakfast she was always there making sure we had plenty. She was helpful in every way and is a diamond :) the breakfast was continental and good basics of toast, cereal etc. we didn't go hungry.
Yes the hotel is old and well worn, but it is also well loved and if it was all refurbished and made plush then we would never be able to afford to stay here. It is not the Ritz and if that is what you want then it is not for you, but it is warm, friendly and a happy place to stay. The view from the balcony was awesome. We were there for Wings and Waves and my husband had a big smile on his face with the view. Only minor criticism is that the wifi was not so good. even reception couldn't help, but it wasn't too much of a problem, nice to switch off for a while. We will definitely be back next year and I cannot recommend this too highly to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#76 of 104 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#55 of 104 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#73 of 104 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabree...
#47 of 104 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#32 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 406 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oceanside Inn
Oceanside Inn
#75 of 104 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayan Inn

Property: Mayan Inn
Address: 103 South Ocean Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mayan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 blocks from Main Street Pier and walking distance to Ocean Center, Peabody Auditorium, Boardwalk, Daytona Lagoon and various other restaurants and attractions. Private balconies with beautiful ocean views. Oceanfront pool deck w/ seasonal Tiki Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Mayan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayan Hotel Daytona Beach
Best Western Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing