We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience at the Dream Inn Daytona Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #40 of 104 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Margate, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My experience at the Dream Inn Daytona Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I visited for one day and was very pleased being right on the beach. I liked the grounds in between the hotel and the beach as it had an area to sit or lounge on a hill above the pool. My room and the hotel itself was nice, but a little dated. I did have a good, restful night. Jody, who manned the front desk, was pleasant and helpful also informing me of a discount at three areas eatery's, which I took advantage of. Yes, I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience, Lisa. Giving our guests a peaceful place to stay while enjoying the charms of Daytona Beach is our mission, and it sounds like we did just that. I'm glad you were able to out that restaurant discount tip to good use, too. If you're ever back in the area, I hope we'll have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Best wishes,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    134
    29
    12
    38
See reviews for
102
203
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Okay....first thing first. The photos on the site are like 20 years old. The outside is ok. Lots of construction next door. The staff(one guy) is not friendly at all. He couldn't even help us figure out what we should do as we were tourists. The king size room we stayed in was terrible. Mold all in the bathroom! If u want to take a shower too bad! The drains clogged so you get a bath as well. Water was not clear ...it was like a milky yellow. Smelled like sewer water. And I felt more dirty after I showered. Bed sheets were damp so we woke up damp. Very dirty feeling. No one came to clean our room,offer us towels, or even smiled as we walked by. And we stayed 3 nights. The pool is filthy dirty with stuff skimming the entire top of the pool. Only 2 of the big chairs and 2 regular chairs by the pool. We saw other guest pullin the lawn chairs to sit by the pool. This is not somewhere you want to stay. We tried to get our money back but were told no cancellations would result in a refund.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yackyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
I'm sorry to hear you had an unpleasant experience. When did you stay with us? We recently underwent major renovations, which our website reflects. (Our photos were taken in July 2012.) I can't imagine that your bathroom or our pool were the way you described; cleanliness is a huge priority for us. In addition, we have more than enough pool chairs and no lawn furniture.

Regardless, did you bring any of your complaints to our attention at the time? Did you request new sheets or extra towels? If we had known there was a problem, we would have gladly done everything in our power to make your stay more enjoyable. We also would have been happy to give you a refund had you asked earlier.

If you can offer any additional information about your visit, please call me at (386) 767-2821. I would appreciate the opportunity to get to the bottom of this.

Sincerely,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeccaSmith_79
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I will absolutely stay here again. For the low price of $60 we got a comfy, clean room steps from the beach. It is an old Florida style motel - one story except for the ocean view rooms...small little place, but very clean. It is not fancy at all- but plenty of seating and tables by the pool and on the patios for enjoying the view. The pool was nice and warm (heated) and they had chairs, boogie boards, etc that you could rent. It is located across the street from the 7-11, which is pretty convenient. I also like the fact that there is a full kitchenette. We will be back for a long weekend this summer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeccaSmith_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay. You're right—we're not fancy. We aim to impress our guests with our clean rooms, ample amenities, and beautiful views, and it sounds like we hit the mark with you. I appreciate the kind words and look forward to having you back this summer!

All the best,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishkill, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Dream Inn is a refreshing departure from the sterile highrise hotels and dives in Daytona, lending the feel of a private, tropical getaway and relaxation among the hub-bub. It fits perfectly with classic cars, if that makes sense. By that, I mean it doesn't have that new car smell or the latest gadgetry (despite having Wifi and many amenities), but you wouldn't pass up the experience and couldn't duplicate the sense of history and satisfaction from cruising in one. It's on the beach, has a wonderful pool, and surprisingly intimate outdoor spaces. The rooms are clean and the service, genuinely friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the rooms above the front office, which is as far from the beach as you can get at the Dream Inn. However, the elevated, semi-private attached deck compensates and offers a completely unexpected place to enjoy an ocean view AND a view of the main drag while enjoying the sun.

The room had two sinks, one in the bathroom and one in the room, making for quicker morning routines.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms looked amazing, but be prepared for availability issues. The two rooms above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docbny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review. I'm glad we were able to be your "private, tropical getaway"; we strive to give all our guests a relaxing, personalized experience. Your classic car analogy is perfect, too—our charm lies in our warmth and retro feel. It sounds like we really hit the mark with you, and I couldn't be happier to hear it.

Thanks again. If you're ever back in town, I hope we get the opportunity to host you a second time!

All the best,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

As most, I do tons of research before choosing a location. This place kept popping up over and over, so I gave it a chance.
The stay was wonderful. The location is perfect for beach access, a quick trip to Daytona, Ormond and I-95.
The room was nice. The bed, pillows and linens were great and comfortable. The bathroom was fine. That shower head was a trip and I'm probably going to invest in one!
The only negative side to my trip was it was advertised if you stay so many days you would receive an hour of jet-ski, beach chairs

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamrobinson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks so much for the good words. Nice amenities, comfortable rooms, and easy beach access: that's what we're all about, and it sounds like we hit the mark during your stay. I'm sorry you missed out on the jet ski and beach chairs. The promotion you mentioned only applies to the internet rate, not the non-refundable rate. However, we welcome all our customers to rent jet skis and beach chairs after they make their reservations.

Thanks again for writing about your experience. I hope we get the chance to host you again in the future!

All the best,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
248 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This sweet little hotel is on a lovely stretch of beach. Our room needed some attention to detail - the walls needed painting, carpet should be ripped up and replaced with tile - it looked and felt grungy, one of the cabinets in the kitchenette had the veneer ripped off - it just looked neglected. The beach/pool towels were awful, small, grungy and rough. That said, the bed linens were actually very nice and the bathroom towels not too bad. The in-room safe is a nice plus. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (the maid service is unbelievably slow - sometimes our room wasn't cleaned until after 3 p.m. and it was Daytona 500 week so you'd think they would have planned for high occupancy) so we were given complimentary beach chairs that they let us keep for our entire stay. The garden areas are pretty and well maintained. It seems with just a few upgrades this could be a very nice place. Plenty of parking and convenient location are two more reasons to stay. Reasonable rates too..... Oh yes - the light outside the door at night is too bright - even with the blinds closed it is bothersome!

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which looked out onto a nice garden. They do have oceanfront....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junemagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry your experience wasn't entirely what you'd expected. We're a small, family-owned hotel, and while our accommodations may not be fancy, we hope our guests find them clean and comfortable. When did you stay with us? We've recently undergone renovations; I think you would be impressed with the end results. Hopefully, we'll get the opportunity to host you again—I know we can reach the potential you saw in us.

All the best,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is not the Hilton. With that said, if you like a great view, reasonable prices, and friendly staff, this is a good choice. The room was dated, the bathroom had very old fixtures. Except for the showerhead, which was space aged and great! The room was very clean. There is a nice sitting area overlooking the beach, though spoiled a bit now by construction next door(to the north). Enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioSpitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for trying us out and sharing your experience. I'm pleased to hear our simple, cozy accommodations were to your liking. As a family-run business that's been in operation for 21 years, we take a lot of pride in our quaint atmosphere and rustic charm. My apologies if the construction was a nuisance. I really appreciate your being so understanding about it.

Thanks again for the good words. Hope to get the chance to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#18 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oce...
#13 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#42 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Ocean Palm Inn
Atlantic Ocean Palm Inn
#46 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 3217 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach Shores, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dream Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us make your beach vacation a Dream Vacation. Dream Inn was featured on the Travel Channel and is an award winning hotel. With an amazing attention to detail and service, Dream Inn truly stands out. Whether you're a first-time visitor or life-long customer, we encourage you to enjoy the beautiful beaches of Daytona Beach Shores and hope that we can make your upcoming visit a memorable and carefree time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Regatta Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Daytona Beach
Dream Motel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing