We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing, Retro, Gem of Daytona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dream Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dream Inn
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Fishkill, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refreshing, Retro, Gem of Daytona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Dream Inn is a refreshing departure from the sterile highrise hotels and dives in Daytona, lending the feel of a private, tropical getaway and relaxation among the hub-bub. It fits perfectly with classic cars, if that makes sense. By that, I mean it doesn't have that new car smell or the latest gadgetry (despite having Wifi and many amenities), but you wouldn't pass up the experience and couldn't duplicate the sense of history and satisfaction from cruising in one. It's on the beach, has a wonderful pool, and surprisingly intimate outdoor spaces. The rooms are clean and the service, genuinely friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the rooms above the front office, which is as far from the beach as you can get at the Dream Inn. However, the elevated, semi-private attached deck compensates and offers a completely unexpected place to enjoy an ocean view AND a view of the main drag while enjoying the sun.

The room had two sinks, one in the bathroom and one in the room, making for quicker morning routines.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms looked amazing, but be prepared for availability issues. The two rooms above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docbny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for the great review. I'm glad we were able to be your "private, tropical getaway"; we strive to give all our guests a relaxing, personalized experience. Your classic car analogy is perfect, too—our charm lies in our warmth and retro feel. It sounds like we really hit the mark with you, and I couldn't be happier to hear it.

Thanks again. If you're ever back in town, I hope we get the opportunity to host you a second time!

All the best,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    138
    29
    12
    38
See reviews for
108
209
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

As most, I do tons of research before choosing a location. This place kept popping up over and over, so I gave it a chance.
The stay was wonderful. The location is perfect for beach access, a quick trip to Daytona, Ormond and I-95.
The room was nice. The bed, pillows and linens were great and comfortable. The bathroom was fine. That shower head was a trip and I'm probably going to invest in one!
The only negative side to my trip was it was advertised if you stay so many days you would receive an hour of jet-ski, beach chairs

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamrobinson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thanks so much for the good words. Nice amenities, comfortable rooms, and easy beach access: that's what we're all about, and it sounds like we hit the mark during your stay. I'm sorry you missed out on the jet ski and beach chairs. The promotion you mentioned only applies to the internet rate, not the non-refundable rate. However, we welcome all our customers to rent jet skis and beach chairs after they make their reservations.

Thanks again for writing about your experience. I hope we get the chance to host you again in the future!

All the best,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
us
Level Contributor
264 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This sweet little hotel is on a lovely stretch of beach. Our room needed some attention to detail - the walls needed painting, carpet should be ripped up and replaced with tile - it looked and felt grungy, one of the cabinets in the kitchenette had the veneer ripped off - it just looked neglected. The beach/pool towels were awful, small, grungy and rough. That said, the bed linens were actually very nice and the bathroom towels not too bad. The in-room safe is a nice plus. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (the maid service is unbelievably slow - sometimes our room wasn't cleaned until after 3 p.m. and it was Daytona 500 week so you'd think they would have planned for high occupancy) so we were given complimentary beach chairs that they let us keep for our entire stay. The garden areas are pretty and well maintained. It seems with just a few upgrades this could be a very nice place. Plenty of parking and convenient location are two more reasons to stay. Reasonable rates too..... Oh yes - the light outside the door at night is too bright - even with the blinds closed it is bothersome!

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room which looked out onto a nice garden. They do have oceanfront....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junemagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry your experience wasn't entirely what you'd expected. We're a small, family-owned hotel, and while our accommodations may not be fancy, we hope our guests find them clean and comfortable. When did you stay with us? We've recently undergone renovations; I think you would be impressed with the end results. Hopefully, we'll get the opportunity to host you again—I know we can reach the potential you saw in us.

All the best,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is not the Hilton. With that said, if you like a great view, reasonable prices, and friendly staff, this is a good choice. The room was dated, the bathroom had very old fixtures. Except for the showerhead, which was space aged and great! The room was very clean. There is a nice sitting area overlooking the beach, though spoiled a bit now by construction next door(to the north). Enjoyed our stay here and would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioSpitfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thanks for trying us out and sharing your experience. I'm pleased to hear our simple, cozy accommodations were to your liking. As a family-run business that's been in operation for 21 years, we take a lot of pride in our quaint atmosphere and rustic charm. My apologies if the construction was a nuisance. I really appreciate your being so understanding about it.

Thanks again for the good words. Hope to get the chance to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrisburgh, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Two friends & I traveled from Vt to Key West this past week. Stayed here on our way through in one of the oceanside rooms. It was a beautful, sunny, warm day. Just wanted to say we enjoyed our stay. Almost wanted to stay put & not travel further. Would recommend this place. Very clean & beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for the glowing review, Barbara! I'm glad to hear you and your friends had such a pleasant stay with us. We always strive to give our guests a relaxing, comfortable experience; it's wonderful to know we hit the mark with you. I appreciate your recommending us and hope we get the chance to host you again in the future!

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I was slightly disappointed with the room. The pictures shown on the website I think are maybe one or two rooms that they have The bathroom was extremely small and really not enough room to put anything. The only place to hang your clothes was over the garbage can and where the microwave and coffee maker were there was no closet. At night time there was a light right by our room that came through the door and we had to cover the door window with a blanket to keep the room dark. It was fairly chilly at night and we only had a sheet and a duvet to use. I looked in the hotel binder that is left in every room and it said for a blanket it was 35.00 and for extra towels there was a charge as well. If you are staying at this INN why would there be a charge? For 2 people there were only 3 towels to use. I know that this is an old INN but upgrades need to be made. The room was clean and the garbage was emptied everyday. The INN was close to the beach which was nice. But im sorry to say that I will not be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelly2399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Although I'm glad you enjoyed our location and found our accommodations nice and clean, I'm sorry you were unhappy with your room. We have pictures on our website of each style of room we offer; all types are represented so our guests know what to expect. All rooms have closets—in the particular room you stayed in, yours was in the armoire—as well as hooks on the bathroom doors.

I do apologize if you had difficulty sleeping due to light shining through your door. Did you bring the matter to our attention? If a customer reports a problem like this as it's occurring, we always try to fix the situation.

As for the blankets, most people find the sheets and duvet sufficient. That being said, all our rooms have their own thermostats so guests can adjust the temperature to their comfort level. If someone does need an extra blanket or towel, though, they can simply call the front desk and ask for one. There is no charge for blankets or towels unless you want to take them with you.

All in all, I'm perplexed by many several parts of your review. I'd appreciate it if you could call me at (386) 767-2821 so I can better understand the situation.

Sincerely,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been coming her for several years and look forward to the next trip. It is as we call it our place. Have noting negative to say. The view is unbelievable. We like the fact that it has a Mom and Pop feel. The owners always are friendly and helpful. We would recommend the Dream Inn to anyone from just the two of you to a family. We enjoy the location it have everything you need all within a few miles.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Autozone58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lola486, Owner at Dream Inn, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words. As a small, family-run hotel, we love nothing more than getting to know our guests. It's truly flattering to hear that, thanks to our warmth and hospitality, we've become "your place." I'm glad you enjoy our views, too. There's nothing quite like watching the sun rise over the ocean from the comfort of your own bedroom!

Thanks again for your wonderful review. I appreciate your recommending us and look forward to hosting you next time!

All the best,
Jody Kinberger, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#17 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
1.8 mi away
Emerald Shores Hotel
Emerald Shores Hotel
#50 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#39 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
3.4 mi away
Oceanside Inn
Oceanside Inn
#76 of 104 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 594 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Ocean Palm Inn
Atlantic Ocean Palm Inn
#47 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream Inn

Property: Dream Inn
Address: 3217 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach Shores, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-6225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#20 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dream Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us make your beach vacation a Dream Vacation. Dream Inn was featured on the Travel Channel and is an award winning hotel. With an amazing attention to detail and service, Dream Inn truly stands out. Whether you're a first-time visitor or life-long customer, we encourage you to enjoy the beautiful beaches of Daytona Beach Shores and hope that we can make your upcoming visit a memorable and carefree time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Dream Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dream Hotel Daytona Beach
Dream Motel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing