We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Marina Roach Motel”
Review of San Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Marina Motel
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Cool Ridge, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“San Marina Roach Motel”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

The place looked nice from the outside when we got there and was across from the beach side which we expected. We got in real early so we decided to let them know we were in town and got our first rude experience from the office. We came back later and got our room which seemed ok when we went in,nothing fancy but seemed clean. A couple of days into our stay we discovered a family of roaches living under the fridge so we reported it to someone in charge when we could find someonre who spoke english. We were never moved to a bug free room and no one treated the roon while we were there. We felt like we were more of an inconvenience than guests . The price would have been great if it was roach free, but not at any price the way it was! Like a brick layer friend of mine once said "Looks good from the road". We wont stay there again or recomend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kacrmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    12
    11
    61
See reviews for
29
36
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I booked at room here for two nights over a weekend and we were so surprised! At 44 dollars a night (for a single, non smoking room), the value of the place was great! The room was newly remodeled and the bathrooms were really nice. Everything was clean and well kept. I would definitely recommend this for a quick stay. You only have to cross the street to the beach, and it's right near one of the beach ramps so that if you want to drive on the beach, that's an option too! The only other thing I would recommend is to bring your own pillows because the hotel only provides one per guest. Other than that this place is great!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marrog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradenton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Pleasantly surprised, our room was very clean, recently remodeled. Did not experience the horror stories in previous reviews. Front desk, at check in was very polite and helpful.
The room attendants/maid were not overly friendly but did their job, although this is a no frills place, not the Ritz. Reminder that you are not paying for the Ritz either. The owners live on premise with their children and seem to be very nice. The showers are great
older high pressure. The beach is just across the street. Great location. You can see the waves from the motel. Great place on a budget. Although if you do not have a cell phone, there were no phones in our room.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grouchee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Very nice room for the money. Across the street from the beach, but convenient to the beach at the corner of University.
We stayed April 14, 2010 and returned to DB and stayed another night on the 19th. Both times we stayed in room 206. The room was nicely remodeled and very clean. Very nice tile work in the bath.
For those that care about such things, the bottom sheet was not fitted the first night. I believe it was fitted the second night.
When we return to DB we will definitely check in at the San Marino.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2010

The rooms were clean, recently painted, and the bathroom was newly remodeled. Great location right across the street from the beach and close to the shopping strip! The housekeepers did clean the rooms daily but they did ask if anything was needed. Overall, a good experience! For the money it is as good as it gets!


P.S. One of the house keepers does use a stolen shopping cart as a utility cart to clean with!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sightseer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2009

I can see I am against the grain here! Many rooms are being totally redone...everything including even the drywall is being replaced. I assume all rooms will be redone as a large percentage were being stripped...off season of course. I saw no bugs! I have spent $125 a night in Daytona and was not impressed. That was at the La Quinta which is just a revamped version of the "Budget cabana". In season to be fair. Anyway...room was as clean as any of the places I have been at in Daytona Beach. (La Quinta had mold on shower curtain, this place did not)
My room had not been redone but for 32 bucks I had a shower that pushed me across the tub and the pool was clean but of course cold. I think people are missing a big point here. You stay ACROSS the street from the ocean to save money. The Hilton is readily available. I stayed at the "Desert Inn" just south of this place in June...THAT was a dump!
Wall was waterlogged and the whole door frame moved as a result when you shut your door!! Disgusting "workout" room... cockroach city down there!

Oh...wireless internet too!! Some rooms only but they say that up front.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brylo2Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakeland fl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Very small rooms, roaches everywhere, nasty bathrooms. The pictures they have online are not pictures of the actual rooms you get at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dallas7307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#56 of 72 in Daytona Beach
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#49 of 72 in Daytona Beach
573 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach
Super 8 Daytona Beach
#33 of 72 in Daytona Beach
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Oceanside Inn
Oceanside Inn
#30 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
653 reviews
4.0 mi away
Super Inn Daytona Beach
Super Inn Daytona Beach
#48 of 72 in Daytona Beach
29 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand Prix Motel
Grand Prix Motel
#22 of 31 in Daytona Beach Shores
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marina Motel

Property: San Marina Motel
Address: 1001 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3626
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — San Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your San Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marina Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing