We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trap!”
Review of San Marina Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Marina Motel
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I wanted to enjoy a wknd by myself so I booked me a room at the San Marina Motel. My room was so small you could turn around 2 times and everything was at a fingers touch. My ac only worked when plugged in. My comforforter had so many cigarette burns they should have replaced it with a new one. Towels were not completely white. Thank God I bring clorox clean-up to every trip I go on (even the Marriott) because I would have been scared to use toilet shower sink, etc. The room looked like a crime scene room. You knw the rooms where u find the chalk outline in them? Yea that bad. The pool was good and my friends room was ok I guess I jus had a bad break I guess. A lesson learned and no I won't be staying here anymore.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for San Marina Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

I never go by the hotel reviews on TA, must be most people live in glass houses, I do not. Booked 3 night on expedia for the last leg of the trip, I booked the cheapest room I could find on the beach, ever though the way everyone talked I was going to be mugged, got a smoking room for 35 bucks, place looked neat when we checked in, the desk guy asked, you want a smoking room, I said no but getting low on funds so just saving the extra money for beer, he said I'll give you the non smoking room, room was small neat and clean, 2 beds, mimi frige, microwave and flat screen tv, bathroom tidy and stocked with towels, pools was the best we had on the trip, huge and clean, beach was across the street, 75 yards, sat out one night and drank a bottle of wine on our swing in front of the room, enjoyed time with other guest from Michigan who brought a group of pleasnt teen girls to the beach, talked for an hour with the owner and he gave us many tips for Daytona, had so much fun we didn't want to leave, walked everywhere late into the night never with one bit of worry, we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cindykeys08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great place for a cheap hotel, very old and run down ,no closet or storage space for your stuff.
Thin cheap towels and if you ask for a extra towel they charge you $1.00per towel.
No frills here so if you don't care about your hotel and you just want to save money stay here.
Personally I would not!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanibellaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Me and my husband traveled 4hours and arrived at this run down motel!!The room was located at the bottom of the stairs. Everything was Cluttered together.The room had a terrible smell.We went off the word of the Expedia and end up paying more money to get a room at another hotel and waiting 3 to7 days to get a refund! I don't recommended this motel to anyone!!worst place ever!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popcorn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Truly, I'm not fussy when it comes to accommodations. When I'm at the beach, I'm fine with a local place that has good rates, a decent pool and a friendly staff. The San Marina motel is not really the best spot. It feels like the place has seen one too many seasons of spring break or bike week without the proper TLC to get things spruced back up again. Most of Daytona Beach feels this way, but I digress.

The room I stayed in was shabby, the linens and towels were not very clean. There is no hair dryer in the room (I mean, come on. Who packs a hair dryer anymore? I thought that was a standard in the hotel business these days.). The grounds are positively littered with cigarette butts and bottle caps.

The owners are not friendly; they come off as brusque and surly. I never feel compelled to secure my things when I leave my room but I locked up my suitcase when I saw the housekeeping crew. In fact, I refused service from them when they first came to my room because my things were scattered about and I didn't have time to gather them and secure them that day.

The pool truly is the best attribute to the place but it was not clean and, like everything else on the property, looked like it needed a good scrubbing, along with skimming and maintenance.

Internet signal was really weak in the room where I stayed (119) and when I asked for the PIN for the stronger signal, I was flatly denied.

I saw that some reviewers complained about the parking situation. I didn't have a problem at all with parking, which came as a relief.

I bailed out 2 days earlier than I'd planned and headed to Orlando. Unfortunately, I lost money because I booked through hotels.com and the reservation was nonrefundable. Save yourself the expense. Daytona was a bust, overall. Go north to Ormond Beach, which seems far less sketchy. But if you must stay in Daytona, go with a different choice.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank italia9970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Here on business trip now May 28,2013
Small room but has new carpet,flat screen TV, microwave, and fridge. No clue what people are complaining about. OK it is small bars of soap, my experance with hotels they are all the same, small hotel soaps. Also same thin small hotel towels. Will always stay here when I come to Daytona! The price is great. Only complaint is the deposit for non smoking room that was not disclosed up front. Yes all rooms are not created equal but room 119 is the best. On back side of building, could park my car in front of my room door. Not many rooms have this, since parking is on the back side of the building.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chefiecharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Worst service possible. No service actually. We stayed there new years eve because we didn't plan on spending much time in the room and just needed a place to sleep. We had errands to run around town the next morning, but I ended up wandering around the parking lot and hotel grounds for over an hour instead. Someone had parked directly behind our car. I contacted a wrecker service to move it, but they said they needed the hotel's permission. No one would answer the door or phone at the hotel though. Someone finally answered to office door to the hotel and it turned out to be one of their employees/family members that was parked behind me. They're lucky I wasn't in my truck or my Ranchhand would have moved that BMW for them. Won't be back, at least not in a car!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#57 of 73 in Daytona Beach
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#49 of 73 in Daytona Beach
603 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach
Super 8 Daytona Beach
#36 of 73 in Daytona Beach
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Super Inn Daytona Beach
Super Inn Daytona Beach
#47 of 73 in Daytona Beach
30 reviews
6.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Daytona Speedway
WoodSpring Suites Daytona Speedw...
#40 of 73 in Daytona Beach
28 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sunrise Inn Daytona
Sunrise Inn Daytona
#60 of 73 in Daytona Beach
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marina Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marina Motel

Address: 1001 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3626
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $53 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Marina Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your San Marina Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marina Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing