We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“No Place For Yankees!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nautilus Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nautilus Inn
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“No Place For Yankees!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Problems abound if you are not canadian, owned by canadians, they cater to same, nice at first but try to complain about something and forget it... then you are treated terribly! The TV didn't work, and i was up all night because the beds were so hard, but they wouldn't change my room, kept sending over maintenance guy to fix it this went on until 12noon (ruined my whole morning) then they tried to give me a room right over the parking lot and trash, also employees walked right into my room without permission, told them i was hard of hearing but they didn't care. Finally gave me another room, knowing i was exhausted they called my phone woke me up for a forgotten toothbrush...the icing on the cake is when the manager sent a housekeeper to my room to reprove me for getting on a bus to go to the golden corral buffet for lunch, i was told by sheila i could go on trips posted on the wall so i went, someone squealed on me wonder who? If it looks too good to be true...well you know the rest! Moved next door to Choice Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gailslist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela S, Operations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
True, we do have many Canadians staying with us and we do cater to them, as we do all of our guests.
Every effort is made to accommodate the needs of each patron; it is very important to our entire staff that everyone perceives their stay as a positive experience. With this practice in mind, our hotel has consistently maintained its excellent rating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    99
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
205
144
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, SC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We were traveling and decided to stop and see Daytona beach. Chose Nautilus Inn based on reviews. All so true. The place was so clean and well kept. Beautiful pool and courtyard area and great beach area. Room was spacious. Nice full kitchen. Everything updated. Nice continental breakfast. Very friendly front desk. Casey called local pizza place for us when we arrived late. Also enjoyed Sheila's recommendation for lunch at Our Deck Down Under. Great local experience! We plan to return to Nautilus inn!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We were going to write a rave review on the Nautilus Inn.....mentioning how clean the hotel & rooms were, how well maintained the property is, the wonderful complimentary breakfast & Happy Hour, the very friendly staff, the beautiful deck & pool, the great location on the beach, how every room had a fully equipped kitchen, the fun activities, free wifi, every room has a wonderful view and very secure environment.....but, the previous 156 reviews have already said it all. and this is why the Nautilus Inn is number 2 out of 108 Daytona hotels reviewed. Take our word for it....this is the best hotel for your dollar on Daytona beach. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The front rooms face the ocean...all the other rooms have ocean views.......except for the lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julia b, Public Relations Manager at Nautilus Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our little 'home away from home.' The credit goes to our great staff who ensures we are offering well-maintained guest rooms and common areas, along with excellent service.

We are very proud of our trip advisor ranking and we know that it wouldn't be possible to be #2 if we didn't have the support of guests like yourself posting reviews. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed recently with my wife and two daughters, ages 19 & 15, during a cheer competition at the Oceans Center. Suffice it to say, the room was impeccably clean and larger than expected, pool area meticulously maintained, and the hotel staff were phenomenal. Location was a plus being a short distance from all the madness near the competition site and directly on the beach. While the majority of hotel guests were somewhat elderly, this did not detract from our wonderful experience...and probably added, in a positive manner, to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PapasPicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Found the hotel by chance after checking out other hotels along the ocean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Showed us the room before we excepted it. Everything was in it's place and CLEAN! Watched them clean the patio off before the morning risers. Pool and hot tub was open when we wanted to use it, midnite, both were clean and a good tempature too. This hotel has gone the extra mile to set the bar for other hotels to follow. I will stay there again no question.

Room Tip: Move your kitchen table in front of the window so you can take in the view while eating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigeon Forge TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just returned home from a wonderful stay for a week...The staff was great from the first phone call i made for reservations, on arrival and throughout the stay....I can't remember all the names, but Chase checked us in and was so nice and then Daniel was there most of the other nights and he went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed also... They even wished my sister and mom a Happy Birthday on the activities board and also gave us a bottle of champagne!! The weather was great and we had an oceanfront room on the 9th floor which was great to see the sunrises from.... they had a continental breakfast each morning from 7-10...It was nice and quiet even though there was a tour group from Canada there, very nice people....we were there one night between 6 and 7 and they had live music and a happy hour.....they have it every night, but we were always gone at that time the other nights.....If you want a nice, clean place to stay in Daytona,,,, i suggest saving yourself time looking for other places to stay, this should be your #1 pick.......

Room Tip: if you want an oceanview, they have some corner rooms that have a view of the street too,,, i looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruznut712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We drove down to Daytona from Ohio to get away for a few days and didn't have any plans to stay at any certain place. We just turned into the parking lot and this was the first place we came to and got very lucky to find the best place ever. My wife is 43 and I am 46 and we are pretty laid back and wanted a peaceful place to relax. We found it for sure. Most if not all the people who were staying here were a lot older than us and it made our stay awesome because there was no loud activity whatsoever and we had the best 2 nights of sleep we have ever had at any hotel we have ever stayed. The rooms were spotless and the staff were the best you could possibly find anywhere. I have stayed in hundreds of places because I travel with my job a lot and have never experienced anything like this place anywhere.
We paid a few bucks more for a room that faced the beach and it was well worth it. If you are an older mature person not looking to party hard this is the best place you will ever stay. I only wish we had the time to stay longer. We left and drove uo A1A up the coast for a day then cut back over to 77 and took our time driving home and couldn't stop talking about how wonderful our stay here was.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bahama House
Bahama House
#13 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
4.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#19 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautilus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautilus Inn

Property: Nautilus Inn
Address: 1515 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nautilus Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover true hospitality at The Nautilus Inn in Daytona Beach, Florida! In addition to our newly renovated pool deck and updated kitchens and baths in every room, our friendly staff and immaculate housekeeping practices will keep you coming back. Recently refurbished rooms including granite counter tops in bathrooms and kitchens, full size appliances in every room, and a spacious Atlantic Deck that wraps around our ocean front-pool and hot tub. Choose between our ocean-front rooms and those with a view up or down the beach - you'll enjoy either view from your private balcony. Free amenities include a continental breakfast, cocktail hour, parking and wireless internet. Minimum rental age is 25 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Nautilus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing