We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Bad”
Review of Chez Paul

Chez Paul
Ranked #92 of 373 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: A blend of gourmet French and Italian food prepared and beautifully presented. Some of the dishes are even prepared tableside, such as our fresh, crisp Caesar Salad, Bananas Foster and Cherries Jubilee. From steaks to pasta to seafood, there is something on the menu for everyone. Visit our restaurant, and prepare to have a true fine dining experience.
Daytona Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Bad”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Went for Valentines. Restaurant was busy and the service was terrible. Drinks were brought out 1 at a time and 2 of the 4 were incorrect. Limited menu, small portions, no tableside
Ceasar salad prep. Table was not ready when we arrived and we were asked to wait outside on the porch on a cold evening, but there were other prepared tables inside. Took our credit cards, then forgot us. Had to ask for them back, but they had not run the check yet. Came and asked, again, what we ate, but the 4 menu items were all the same. Old, run down building,parking lot next to a bait shop. Why would anyone like this place?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    10
    3
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
96 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Dining Experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

There are many local restaurants that serve good food and are quite good. There are, however, very few that also deliver a special dining experience. Chez Paul is not only an excellent restaurant but one of those special experiences that is long remembered. Definitely try the table side Cesar salad to add a special touch.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Local Gem”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Chez Paul has become a regular stop whenever we're in Daytona Beach. Don't be fooled by the less than scenic parking lot; this place is outstanding and never disappointing. Don't go if you want to eat quickly, want chicken wings or pizza; this is a place to DINE. From the beautiful table, settings, the sorbet between courses, to the after dinner Sambucca (complete with floating coffee beans) everything is meant to be savored. Chef Paul is your host, chef and entertainment all wrapped in one... and if his 92 year old Mom is working that night, it's a duo not to missed. Be sure to ask about the specials not on the menu; but you can't miss with any dish on the extensive menu, all prepared in-house by Chef Paul. The whole evening was a flashback to a kinder, gentler, classier era, when dinning out was an experience to be savored, lingered over, in the company of good friends, gracious hosts, exceptional food, and roses for the ladies as we departed. Chez Paul will be our first stop when we again return to Daytona. Ken & Bev

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was Trip Advisor Ever Right!!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been all over New Smyrna Beach and decided to branch out for my birthday dinner. We found Chez Paul and picked it to try! What a treat!! It wasn't busy (sadly for them but GREAT for us!!) so we had great attention and service. Chef Paul was there as was his 92 year old mother. (This we confirmed; she is as spry as a 20 year old!). He entertained without being intrusive and we learned a great deal about the history of Daytona from one of its former Mayors! He does a radio talk show on station 1380 AM on Mondays through Fridays! Give the Butterfields a shout out, Paul! We will be back! Thanks for a delightful evening!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PBUTTERFIELD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“gourmet delight”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I had never been to Chez Paul on N. Beach Street in Daytona Beach. It was our loss and we will try to make up for lost time. Set near the Intercoastal waterway, this mid sized restaurant is deceiving from the outside. Once you have entered, prepare yourself for an epicurian delight with beautiful table settings and ambiance. Very friendly staff, with the owner, Paul,(a former mayor of Daytona and an Italian by lineage) leading the charge, and backed up by his 92 year young mother handling the bar and junior in the kitchen. Bernadette, our waitress, while not related, also was very friendly.
We started with a cocktail and I mentioned I was hungry. Inside of a minute we had a plate of flatbread and hummus. This was to be the first of 4 pleasant surprises during the evening. The second surprise was a small portion of pasta al pesto, which was preceeded by #3, warm Italian bread and a serving of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. There were several specials and we shared an appitizer of portobello mushrooms with red peppers and a great taste.
My wife's entreee was a breaded chicken dish with angelhair pasta. I had the coquille st. jacques (scallops +). They were both delicious. We were politely asked during the course of our dinner if all was okay and was there anything else we desired. By this time we were sated. We deferred on desert but the offerings were available.
Our final lanyap of the evening was a snifter of Sambucca with coffee beans. A delightful treat to finish our evening. My wife said it was the best meal she had eaten during our last 12 years in Daytona. I agree with her. A delightful evening. We have made reservations to return New Years Eve.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul9939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Paul also viewed

 

Been to Chez Paul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing