We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean Walk Is Heading Downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“Ocean Walk Is Heading Downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We have been staying at this property for several years now and have been mostly satisfied in the past. This year, however, things are a bit different. The two outdoor pools were not heated. They were listed as under renovations in December 2010, but it said they would be back operational by the end of 2010 (we stayed the 1-27 through 1-30). There is also a noticeable decline in the room interiors. There were light bulbs burned out, dust all over the lighting fixtures, hair on the floor in the bathrooms, and a non-working ice machine. In addition to this, the mattresses in the rooms were indented in the middle of each bed (we stayed in a 3 bedroom unit) making them not very comformable. Once you were able to get comfortable, you had all the lights from the hallways coming in through the bedroom windows, as most units do not have room darkening window treatments.
Lastly, free wi-fi in the lobby - but you have to pay to use it in the rooms.....
Don't know if we'll stay here again next year -- sad.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msteven5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    607
    357
    264
    251
See reviews for
1,155
325
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, nj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights for the Rolex races this past weekend with my husband . I booked it becasue it looked nice on the website and location was great. Also it was cheap, only 140 a night for a 1 bedroom ocean front. When i fist walked in I was impressed, it looked very nice, The woman at the counter was rude. Then I got to our room and it was very outdated , looked very 80's. No housekeeping , I was told to wash my own towels. The handle to door broke off and there was no hot water. However, they did fix these things right away. They called me twice to try to get us to attend a sales meeting to buy a condo, which is something i am not intereted in doing during a vacation stay, send me and email . I was told that everything was open when i booked it. The tiki bar was not open , i was dissapointed, they said weather permitting , we just flew in from Philly in the snow so as far as im a concerned 60 degrees is weather permitting. The lazy river was green and there was a very bad gas smell from the pool heater which made it hard to sit outside, also they play music outside from 8 am in the morning untill 11 or so at night which made it hard to just enjoy the sound of the ocean . They even turned it on at 8 on a sunday morning when I would think people want some peave and quiet. I will not stay here again, I would rather spend another 100 a night for a little more luxury. I want room service and housekeeping when i go on vacation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisadanNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

The Wyndham is a very nice hotel. There were eith of us that stayed in a three bedroom. There was sufficient space although it only had two bathrooms. Three would have been preferable. Was dissappointed that it only came with one parking pass. That meant an extra $60 for 3 days at the parking garage accross the street for each additional vehicle. Also, I guess because a washer and dryer is included with a sample packet of detergent, you are expected to launder your own towels and no room service is provided. That is crazy. Also, it was difficult to get pick up wrist straps/welcome package information. Front desk had no clue when personnel would be at their post. I got 3 difference times and all were wrong. Luckily it was cold and we did not need them.

Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank marietex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Great resort,for every time of year.In the heat of Daytona Beach,close to everything,plenty to do for everybody,great service.Love it.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnnaR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saxe, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

When I have time I will write more
This place is OVER rated and the staff except for the luggage guy was awful! I would never stay here again nor would I recomment it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58163Bluevamagnolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

When we checked in to Worldmark Ocean Walk in Daytona, we were told someone would bring up a "welcome basket" the next morning at 9 a.m. and ask us just THREE questions. The woman who came presented us with a COFFEE MUG containing two small snack packages of cookies and a Reese's Peanutbutter Cup candy bar. Then she insisted on sitting down in our dining room with us and our guests to "ask a few questions" which turned out to be MANY questions. It soon became clear she was going to pitch a sale for Wyndham points. I expressed frustration, and she responded by being extremely rude. "Are you in a bad mood? Have I done something to offend you?" I responded, "Please don't hastle me in the middle of our vacation." And the insults continued from this woman. To Worldmark and Wyndham: Please don't send these people to our rooms! We come to Worldmark properties to vacation, not to hear the hundreth timeshare pitch! The condo was great in most ways, but the intrusion into our privacy is inexcusable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBO1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

Broken toilet and clogged sink. A 1990's spring break feel to the hotel. Had a great time and would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a throwback to the 90's.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.5 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#19 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#20 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
5.5 mi away
Residence Inn Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Property: Wyndham Ocean Walk
Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing