We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Resort in Daytona!”
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
ON, Canada
16
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Ocean Walk Resort is a wonderful vacation spot for anyone looking to relax in the sun. It is a five-star resort and definitely the best resort in Daytona! I had a wonderful time staying here. The service is excellent. I felt like a princess while staying here because all of my needs were met. The indoor and outdoor pools are heated and are very refreshing. The ampi-theatre, Ocean Walk Shoppes, huge water slide, 3 hot tubs and mini-golf course kept me occupied during my vacation. The Ocean Walk Shoppes are connected to the resort itself which made for very convenient shopping. (and the prices were reasonable) I was fortunate enough to have a view of the ocean from my balcony and enjoyed sitting out there at night looking at the stars and the waves. The staff are friendly and willing to help make your vacation as memorable and enjoyable as possible. I recommend this resort to anyone who is going to Daytona on vacation. The atmosphere is superb and the rooms are top-of-the-line. With a kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, washer and dryer I was given access to everything I could possibly need. If you are going on vacation to Daytona please consider this resort. Although it may seem expensive you are definitely getting your money's worth!!! It is all around excellent.

6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,088 - 2,094 of 2,225 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
McRae, Georgia
11
Reviewed March 12, 2006

This is a good family vacation resort. The kids and adults had a great time. We brought the grandparents too. We are going back in the Summer of 2006. The worst thing was waiting on the elevators. But, the place was booked up, so what do you expect....

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2006

Stayed at Ocean Walk during the Daytona 500 weekend, Feb. 15-20, 2006. Rented from private party owners, Room 2325AB in North Tower. Check in was a breeze, the view from the room was fantastic, and the pools were a welcome ending to a long day spent at the Speedway. Location was terrific in relation to the track. Only took 15 minutes to get there after the Daytona 500. Will never stay anywhere else again when we go to Daytona for future races.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Youngstown, Ohio
19
Reviewed February 5, 2006

We enjoyed this resort, but I didn't feel it was kept up very well. There was rust on the appliances in our room and stains on the carpet and furniture.
Unfortunately, I don't know if I would stay there again. The place had a lot to do and was very nice, but I look for cleanliness first.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2006

We're Fairfield owners, but had never stayed at the Fairfield Daytona Beach. We arrived late after a long drive from the Fairfield Nashville, but we were checked in quickly and the staff was pleasant.

They didn't have any carts available for bringing our stuff in, but a security guard went and got us a cart which was very helpful.

We stayed in the south tower and the room was very clean and had a great view and balcony looking at the ocean. Our one bedroom unit had a large whirlpool tub and large shower. It also had a stacked washer and dryer which we always like.

The pools were very clean and a nice place to hang out and the beach was just down the stairs. The Lazy river was closed for maintenance, though.

We only stayed 3 nights, but we would come back here in a heart beat. It was in a great location with many things within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RLMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2005

Just returned from a wonderful week (Sept 24-1Oct) at Daytona Beach. A good time to go as the high season crowd seem to have eased off. The Fairfield resort was more than we expected from some of the previous reviews we had read. We swapped our points to Ocean Walk to be close to the beach and have a quality experience. We had never been to Florida before so was somewhat nervous not knowing what to expect. The Fairfield staff from the front desk to check out were outstanding and helpful in every way. We had a wonderful unit facing onto the beach and pool area. We were on the 17th floor which gave us a fantastic view of the ocean and sea front, as well as away from any noise. We observed that the units on the reverse side of the facility had a nice view of the inland waterway and city, but you get what you pay for. This resort has most everything that an individual or family would want. You can have individual privacy on the beach or family fun with all of the in-house or local area activities. Attached directly to the resort is Ocean Walk which provides resturants and shops of diverse styles at reasonable prices. There are also many shops close by also within walking distance that provides for most of your needs. One problem which we experienced was the drive into the facility. It gets a bit crowded during the busy check in and out times getting the family, luggage unloaded, but the hotel staff attempts to process you as quck as possible, and provides good instructions as to parking and access alternatives once you are booked in. We read that problems were occuring at check in and with the resort elevators. We arrived about 3PM on Saturday and had no delays what so ever. For timeshare owners, and if you have a car, we recommend that you go to the Publix supermarket which is located about 2 miles north of the resort, to purchase your food and necessary needs. The hotel staff will give you specific directions, but it is easy to find. The hotel concierge staff were very helpful and provide some great advice and fantastic savings coupons for activities and resturants. Yes, during high activity periods, the elevators traffic did have some delays, a few minutes at most, but expected with the size of the facility and the number of patrons in the resort. One of the main attractions at the resort is the Lazy River tube float area. Fun for both children and adults alike. Also, the direct access to the beach from the resort is great with a shower rinse unit at the gate to clean off the sand. Let us highlight one point - there are safes in every facility for security of your personal property. We used the safe in our room, but forgot to remove our valuables upon checking out. Once we realized our problem the next morning, we quickly contacted the resort and they took quick positive steps to resolve our problem. They took proper steps to confirm who we were and went on to look into the problem. Within minutes they called back acknowledging that the possession were secured from the safe. The hotel security staff ascertained where we would like to have the items forwarded and took immediate actions to provide us with our items in a very timely and secure manner. The material was forwarded to us by overnight FedEx and we received all items within 24 hours. Wow!! What a relief and fantastice service by the Fairfield staff. Our thanks.
Yes, we hope to return to Ocean Walk in the near future.

22  Thank HappyHickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2005

We had a wonderful week at the Daytona Ocean Walk September 18 - 25. I had read some reviews that were less than positive so I was somewhat concerned about what we might be getting into. Those reviews were certainly not representative of our experience.

First of all, the place is bigand very impressive! You can't miss it as you drive down the road. The staff was extremely nice and helpful with everything. Any questions, problems, etc. that we had, they quickly and gladly took care of us. Check in was easy...although we checked in on a Sunday, which I'm sure is a little slower than on Fri or Sat. Our 1 BR unit was very nice. We were in the South Tower which is the older one, but it was still a really nice place, with everything that we needed. While we didn't have a direct ocean view, we were on the side, so we actually could see both the ocean and the intercoastal. We were on the 16th floor, so it was a great view. It would be bad to have a street side, interior view...basically nothing to see but the street and parking deck. So if you can at all request an ocean front room, do it.

Our kids had a blast the whole week. (ages 5 and 2). They were at the pools everyday. Due to the hurricane in the south, we had rain 3 days, but it certainly didn't stop my family. We were still outside for most of the time, you're already wet, what's a little rain??? At the times when it rained alot we just moved to the indoor pools. That is what is so great about this place as compared to many other resorts...there is always something to do rain or shine. Plus there is also indoor mini golf, an arcade, constant activities, computer rooms, etc... And as I mentioned the staff is great!!

We only ate out a couple of times...with the fully equipped kitchen there really was no need to spend money dining out. But the 2 places we went were great. I highly recommend The Views, which is just a couple of blocks away on Seabreeze Blvd. It's a small place, but wonderful food and very good prices. Another night we went to Inlet Harbor Restaurant at the southern tip of the island. It was also very good food....mostly seafood, and very reasonably priced. DON'T order pizza from Napoli Pizza across the street....it's really not very good. There are plenty of other pizza places close by or that deliver. Also, Adobe Gila's at the Ocean Walk shoppes next to the resort wasn't anything special...basic bar food, not very good margaritas (served in a styrofoam cup?!?!?! - sacrilege!!)

We didn't leave the resort to do any siteseeing....Daytona is still a pretty seedy place and there just didn't seem to be much to do with kids, that we couldn't already do at the resort. My husband and son did go to Daytona Lagoon WAter park across the street from the hotel. They voted it one of the best water parks they had ever been to. It wasn't at all crowded (remember this is September off-season) and they loved all the slides. There are some large mini-golf courses, the lighthouse, speedway, etc... if you want to venture out, and Kennedy Space Center is only 1 hour away (but it's a little pricey at $30 for adults and $20 for kids) Of course, Orlando...the land of long lines and price gouging... is only a short drive away...but we are putting that painful experience off a few years until our kids really beg to go.

All in all, we really liked the Ocean Walk and would most likely return in the future...it's too bad it's located in Daytona and not a nicer beach town, but can't have everything. Definitely great for families!!

The beach at Daytona is OK, but it has taken alot of abuse from the recent hurricanes, so they have

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank LOVEMARCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#22 of 74 in Daytona Beach
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
2.5 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $144 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing