We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the best place on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Probably the best place on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2004

We recently stayed at the Ocean Walk Resort from October 7 to October 12. Like one of the last reviews said, most of the places on the ocean were hit by the hurricanes. The Ocean Walk did not appear to get hit at all. We really enjoyed our stay. After reading many of the reviews posted, we were eager to see if the resort was all that everyone said it was. Our check in was pleasant except we were unable to check in until 4. We arrived at the hotel at 1, so we had some time to kill. We spent it out by the ocean and by the pools. If I could make a recommendation, I would like to see the Resort let guests check in if the room is ready. They said ours was not, but I'm not sure that was all true. Upon check in, we were given our ocean front room, as booked. We had an A room on the 14th floor. It was, for the most part, well kept. The only suggestions I would have is the carpet in the livingroom needed to be cleaned or a new one put in. The kitchen was well equipt and well kept. Having the mini washer and dryer in our room was a big plus. They gave us some detergent upon arrival but we went to the store to buy more. We needed an extra blanket which we had to call twice for, but it was delivered in about an hours time. We found the staff to be very polite and friendly as well as eager to make sure our stay was good. I must say that I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the shower. The shower floor looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time. Also, the maids only do light housekeeping.....make beds, empty trash and provide fresh towels. They don't clean your sink or bathroom at all unless you request it. I called the front desk and requested they clean the bathroom better. They did. Also, the housekeepers do not speak much english, so we were unable to communicate well with them. There was food in the hotel which made it nice. They had an inhouse breakfast and dinner once during the week for a nominal fee, which was nice so we didn't have to go out to get food. They did have a nice pool side cookout with tropical music on the nice days. We were also able to rent chairs and an umbrella on the beach for $25.00 for the day. It was worth it. The outside of the resort was well kept, clean and very nice to sit out and enjoy. The inside of the hotel all in all was well done. We would recommend this hotel to those who want to get away and spend some time at a nice resort as a family or as a couple. There are scheduled activities to do for the kids as well as a game room and computers. We had a one bedroom condo with a pull out sofa bed in the living room which was great for our 13 year old. Our bathroom even had a jacuzzi in it which we didn't use. The Daytona beach area is very run down, so if you are looking to do a lot of shopping or pretty sight seeing along the beach, this would probably not be the place to go, but if you are looking to stay at the hotel most of the time and enjoy the ocean and pool area I would recommend this hotel. I am a very picky reviewer, so I would guess that many people would have a great time at this Hotel. I've read that some people had difficulty with long check in and elevator wait, but we came off season and didn't have any trouble. I'll bet that on season or during a big event, the check in, elevator and parking would be a huge problem. Probably 15 minutes away is International Speedway Drive where you can shop and eat and visit the speedway. This area is well kept. Please beware, that many of the surrounding hotels are very run down. The Ocean Walk is a new resort and was worth far more than the fee of $113.00 per night we were charges. I suspect because it was off season. Don't let the photos of other resorts on the internet fool you. Read the reviews.

Helpful?
3 Thank kathydnys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    599
    351
    262
    250
See reviews for
1,135
320
25
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2004

We had all our pool items stolen within an hour of our arrival (beach towels, swimsuit coverups, etc). Although security staff took down information, no one else on staff seemed too concerned. Also, very high pressure sales presentation. We would not go back even though our room was wonderful.

Helpful?
5 Thank cindyEW94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2004

We just returned from a 2 day stay at the beautiful Ocean Walk Resort and had the time of our life. The resort is gorgeous, especially considering much of the surrounding area was recently hit by 2 hurricanes. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful and the pools were crystal clear and wonderful, yes pools -- one adult and one children with a wonderful water slide and one indoor (that was completely empty). There is also a free mini golf course indoors and a lazy river. What else could anyone ask for??? We were surprised to find a week-end barbque and the hamburgers were just $3.50 (with all the trimmings). Plus, this is all located on the beach. This was one of our most relaxing trips ever and I would suggest it to anyone who loves luxury and fun.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2004

The Fairfield Resort at Ocean Walk are such helpful with any informations for tours, activities at resort, and all others. We adored the hotel, especially with our suite which made me felt like I was in "Trading Spaces" eposide and I had much of enjoyment and a lot of fun staying at the resort. I will suggest this resort to anyone I know who would consider going to Daytona Beach as their next vacation trip! Many thanks to the Fairfield Ocean Walk staff, especially Charlene!!!!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2004

Just returned from a week at the Ocean Walk and loved it.The staff was helpful and courteous.The grounds were very nice.My kids loved the pool with the waterslide and lazy river.We stayed in the newer tower.The unit was fully equipped with cooking utensils,washer/dryer,jacuzzi tub.We did not want to leave.Will definetly go back in the future.

Helpful?
1 Thank suzym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2004

i loved it. i went down last week with 7 girls and we had an awesome time. the hotel is clean, big and the pools are out of this world. it is more of a family resort but we had great time. it is highly recommended

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
niagara falls, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2004

This was the best resort on the beach. With daily activites for everyone, the pools, lazy river, and the washer and dryers in the room, it far surpassed my expectations. We stayed here 6 nights from August15-21. The first 3 were in an oceanfront room and the last 3 were in b units(unexpected last 3 nights due to change of plans caused by Charley) The b units were ok, little odd that the windows is in and interior hallway, but the oceanfront room was just great. I will be going back to this resort in the future. I cannot say enough good things about this resort. The pools were never too busy but was hard to find a chair if you like to lay out in the sun and were not there first thing in the morning, but we only needed 1 chair to put our stuff on while we were in the pool, and we were always able to find one. They have tons of activities and service was good. I recommend this for anyone visiting this area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lmwest28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#18 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#21 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
0.0 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#35 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Property: Wyndham Ocean Walk
Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing