We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure they spell your name correctly.”
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

I had a room booked to compete in an event across the street. The hotel lost the reservation and said the name was probably not spelled correctly. I spent over an hour there waiting for the manager to be told there is nothing they can do without the right spelling. The other rooms were booked. It was terrible.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Hi Jennifer,

We cannot apologize enough for the major inconvenience you experienced regarding your reservation. We strongly encourage the verification of any reservation with the booking company prior to check-in to avoid any similar situations. Our management staff will be reviewing the issue that occurred to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

939 - 945 of 2,225 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed Feb 28 to Mar 7th. Very nice resort on the beach. Can walk for miles when the tide is right. Room was very nice but furniture was uncomfortable. Balcony had partial view of ocean and partial view of city. Never had any sun on the balcony and doors looked right into the doors of the resort beside. Even though it was Spring Break for some, everyone was very well behaved and we had no trouble with noise. Pool was warm but by about 2 p.m. at this time of year it is shaded. Only complaint I had was smokers at the pool. People need to have consideration for others. We were in the timeshare units and we arrived on a Friday and left on a Friday and never had anyone come to replenish any supplies or change towels but when we went to the front desk they supplied us with what we needed. Apparently you have to stay longer than 8 days to get any service in your room??? Overall I would return to this location again. Very pleasant, relaxing holiday and that is what we went for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadabeachbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during Bikers Week in Daytona Beach. The room was clean for the most part.The pools were also very nice, great for kids and an excellent way to relax and cool off, yet they were only really an optimal choice for visits in the morning, because the day would wear on, the pools would become shadowed (and therefore a bit chilly) because of the hotel's height. Its location on the beach made it easily accessible. Besides the pool though there were a lot of activities for kids (eg., mini golf, tye-dye t-shirt making, milk sand stone making, an arcade, etc.). There were also plenty of options for entertainment and restaurants around. However, the Wi-FI accessibility was extremely limited, and about 90% of the time we received absolutely no Wi-Fi. The only place during these times that we could go to receive internet was the main lobby. In our particular case the shower also resembled more of a shower stall in a public swimming pool than a regular shower. The parking towers were also completely filled, however this can be related in part to the fact that it was Bikers Week. The front desk staff, when consulted about changing rooms, were not helpful. The phones in the room were also not working, and when asked to make a brief phone call to a long distance number to pass a message to another guest at the hotel, the front desk simply shrugged us off. Overall, this hotel was fairly good, minus the horrible Wi-Fi and filled parking towers. If you're planning to visit this hotel, make sure it is NOT during Bikers Week. Will definitely never be staying there again during Bikers Week, as it makes for a very unpleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the ocean on the south side. Also, do NOT go during Bikers Week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

We are sorry to hear that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices. We are working to improve this feature; however this may take some time. We also apologize for the issues you encountered with parking due to Bikers Week. This time of the year can be a bit hectic as there are many guests onsite. On a positive note, we are so happy your kids enjoyed the pool and many of the activities available. We hope your experience does not discourage any future visits to our resort. We value your feedback and appreciate you reaching out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for five years in a row during biketoberfest motorcycle week.
The positive..world famous beach, condo accommodations full kitchen ,living room ,washer dryer.
Very close to Main Street .two pools one with water slide . Lazy river . Covered parking area .close to water park.
The negative. You have to rent beach chairs..no maid service..only a snack bar type restaurant on the premises. ( plenty of restaurants nearby ) . The pool has no sun in late afternoon due to the height of the building. They tell you whatever you want to hear when you make your reservation but when you get there you get what is available..and they are not always polite about it.
This is a timeshare owned operation. Customer service is not a priority.
I would stay here again . Knowing what I know I work around the negatives and enjoy the positives.

Room Tip: I always ask for oceanfront king. The oceanfront is guaranteed . I ask for a Low floor so I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

When arriving early we were asked to not come back to check in until 4pm. We walked around the beach which was beautiful and at 3:58 were turned away from the arrival desk because of being too early to check in. Was told that because we are early we are not allowed to tell us any information about our room or when it would be ready. While the concierge rolled her eyes and told me to stand at the back of the line and wait two minutes. There was no respect because of being under the age of 25. Thoroughly disappointed and will never return. Avoid at all costs and spend your money somewhere where there is true customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Courtkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

We are so disappointed to hear about your interaction with the front desk staff, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in. We know that while on vacation it is imperative that our guests are treated well. To clarify, standard check-in is at 4 pm, however the way this information was communicated is unacceptable. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We have stayed at Ocean Walk for several years. This year we rented from a Condo owner. Our room was a one bedroom unit oceanfront. It was a little dated, but clean. Our problem was not really with the unit, but with the hotel staff. Talk about rude? When we checked in the girl at the front desk said, "Let me tell you how it is. UNLESS you have a problem with the door or the safe, DO NOT call us." I tried once and they did not answer. Oh yes, we were second class citizens. We went to the bar for a drink the first evening. I requested a vodka and club soda. Can you believe they had no club soda...probably the cheapest glass filler around. They said it would be a half hour till they had more. My guess is, someone was going to have to make a trip to the store. Another night we stopped at the bar and was served a plastic cup of wine from a little single serving bottle. You really expect glass from a hotel of this caliber especially for the trumped up price you pay. Of all the years we have stayed there we have really never run into so many rude employees. And they were not actually dressed as expected. We expected kind, professional people running this hotel. People who cared about their visitors who have paid good money to stay there. The morning of checkout I took my key to the front desk. The newspapers were on the counter and I asked the girl if I could have one. Her response to me was " These are for VIP's". After leaving, I realized that if I had approached from the other side, which would have been the North Tower, I probably would have been considered a VIP. My opinion is anyone walking through the door is a VIP. I think they need to bring back the caring people who used to work at that hotel. Last year was Great, this year, something else entirely.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SRE777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Do not stay in south tower. Had "studio" on 17th floor. No outlets or counter space. Had to plug in coffee maker in BATHROOM, Gross. No where to plug in cell phones/lap tops to charge. Finally brought me a power strip. Shower ...it took one half hour to get Hot water. Shower handle filled with mold. One SMALL towel bar. No Wifi in room. Balcony door lock broke (they did fix it right away with my husband's help) There on conference. "No other ocean view rooms available". No vending; no ice; Have to go to Store if you want any type of food or beverage in your room. Maid Service is additional. No cleaning supplies if you want to clean your bathroom yourself. Pillows and beds are HORRID and uncomfortable. Only 4 hangers in closet. Noisey - could hear all street noise. Location is good. Stay somewhere esle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Ocean Walk, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Hi Denise,

We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the lack of outlets in your room. We're glad that our staff was able to bring you a power strip. We may look at leaving these in the units so this is not an issue for future guest. In regards to housekeeping, our goal is to make each guest feel at home by providing laundry and kitchen accommodations. Because we have condo-style resorts, certain hotel amenities such as daily housekeeping do not exist. We strive to provide this information to the guest through our website, pre-arrival letter and confirmation letter. In regards to food options we do provide a downstairs cafe in the lobby with seating areas. In regards to internet, we are working at improving the Wi-Fi service. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices so this may take some time. We value your feedback and will use this to continue improving our resort. Thank you for reaching out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#22 of 74 in Daytona Beach
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
2.5 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $144 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing