We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars lobby but 2 star everywhere else! DISAPPOINTED*** TRY THE HILTON”
Review of Wyndham Ocean Walk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Daytona Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family (ages, 37, 35,11 and 8) and I stayed here for the week and overall was disappointed. The lobby and pools were beautiful, location is prime, but once you stepped off the elevator to go to your room I was completely disappointed. For starters the hallway smelled like urine, wallpaper was torn off in the hallway and windows were so dirty. Entering our 3 bedroom unit, the space was nice, plenty of room, but the furniture was the commercialized and SO uncomfortable. Nothing like trying to watch TV with a lobby chair. The windows in our unit were so gross, refrigerator was very old and dingy with broken shelf and rusty stove. The toilet in the master bath had to be plunged every time it was used. The carpet was very old and felt dirty. Our balcony was concrete half way up so you could only see the ocean, not the beach. The staff was nice, but management was poor. They offered to move us rooms, but I told them I needed two kings and they gave me a room that was 1 king and 2 double. So much for listening to the customers needs. Just a few other things.... You can't turn left into the hotel, so you have to turn around each time. Most of the attractions are right, so this became annoying. Also, the parking garage is annoying after you've been there a few days. The best way to get around is walking. OH, the biggest complaint.......... you ONLY get sun from 10-12 if you are lucky. The hotel blocks the sun!!!!! ugh! Also, if you use their towels, they are yours for the week. No turning in the used ones for new ones.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,230 - 1,236 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Reviews were a bit sketchy but checked into a 2 bed room ocean view and was satisfied with our room. Appliances bit dated and some required replacement while we were there but staff were friendly and helpful. Big problem no Internet unless you are an owner, we assumed that Internet would be available.

Room Tip: Ocean view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here from 12/30/12 thru 01.06/13. It was a very pleasant stay. We went knowing that the weather would be bad. When we arrived the temperature was in the forties. We had 1 eighty degree day and did go in the ocean that day.(For about 30 seconds). This resort had many amenities. 2 indoor pools, to heated outdoor pools, 2 outdoor hot tubs and a lazy river that was not heated. The activity ctr. had many craft activities, they had a huge video arcade for kids, they had a bar and an eatery in the main lobby. The eatery served burritos and pizza. On the 4th floor they had mini golf and they had a ton of board games to check out. We visited 2 places during our stay and both are a must. We drove about 1 hour to St Augustine & saw The Old Jail, The Oldest store, the oldest house, a Pirate museum and toured an Old Spanish Fort. We also went to Ponce Inlet about 40 minutes in the other direction. This is the site of Florida's tallest lighthouse. You can visit the houses that the lighthouse keepers used to stay in. You can also climb the 203 stairs each way and get a spectacular view. One thing to keep in mind,

Room Tip: All 3 bedroom units are full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steeler1mws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

after reading some of the earlier reviews, I was a little skeptical about booking in at this hotel, however, I didn't regret it at all. We checked in late at night and it was totally painless. it was a very well maintained facility. reserved a 1 bdrm unit with a completely equipped kitchen including a d/w and w/d. we were there christmas week.unfortunately we were unable to get an ocean view unit. the hotel is adjacent to the ocean walk mall and minutes walk from the daytona pier. endless dining options for a week along atlantic avenue, the mall and the ocean walk. the pools and lazy river were extremely clean despite some earlier reviewers. there are 2 hottubs on site but didnt seem to look as clean as the pools. during out time, one of the hottub jets were not working but the hottub was left open for use and it stayed that way for the entire week. there is also a water slide which is open till 5pm for the kids to enjoy. the only complaint I had was whenever we called front desk, either it took 10 rings or no one picked up. there is an amusement park and entertainment centre along the ocean walk and one larger on behind the ocean walk mall parkade. activity centre with scheduled activities for kids and pretty much a full-time staff to help you plan your days with places to visit, where to eat and play. the lady at the desk there is very helpful and knowlegeable. she even searched and printed out coupons, maps etc.

Room Tip: all rooms are not ocean view. request for one at check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FC_EDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This resort was located on a nice stretch of the ocean, and with a "no drive" policy, it was an easy beach for walking.One big advantage to this location...it was semi-attached...easy walking distance to Village Shops...several restaurants and a movie theater. I was in a 2 bedroom, and there was plenty of room...the bathrooms were huge ( one with a jetted jacuzzi ), and the living room and dining room were also spacious. The furniture was somewhat dated, and there appeared to be no effort to decorate....paintings, lamps, etc. were lacking and kind of a theme, and there was one very uncomfortable couch...but none of these features would prevent me from staying there again.
Two negatives...and not the resort's fault....I had very poor weather for the first part of the trip and there is not very much to do in the Daytona area if you are not using the beach...and the parking garage was a nightmare...at least to this older woman driver! Very tight spaces, and loads of turns...I hit my side mirror on one of the concrete posts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lighthouse1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were here for a family members wedding and this was the closest Wyndham resort to the location of the wedding. We are Wyndham Vacation Owners but our stay here was on points that we had exchanged through RCI. We checked in around 6pm and the front desk clerk was very nice. Because we were here through RCI we were placed in the South Tower, unit 1617. The wrap around corner balcony has a partial view of the ocean/beach and the city. The unit was recently partially renovated and still had the new paint smell. It was nicely decorated and clean but it was obvious what was new and what was not and they forgot some items when restocking (trash cans in the bathrooms, kitchen hand towels, glass shelves in the refrigerator, rubber safety guard on garbage disposal). The shower in the master bath looked nice but water leaked onto the floor. The living room furniture was new and looked nice but was not comfortable to sit in. The chairs on the balcony were old and outdated but because the weather was cold and rainy we did not use them. They were renovating the unit above us so there was constant construction noise every day from 6am - 5pm. We had breakfast one morning at the Ocean Walk Eatery and it was good. As always, after check in they send you to the concierge where they ask you to sign up for the owners information breakfast or lunch. We would receive a free meal plus a $75 Amex card and a Wyndham beach towel for attending. We had some questions about our membership so we signed up for breakfast. After meeting our sales person at the meeting we informed him we had attended an information meeting in August and we just had some questions so he allowed us to skip the presentation and just eat breakfast at his desk while he answered our questions. He of course still had to give us the sales pitch on upgrading our membership but was not overly aggressive. After a little over an hour and a half we left with our questions answered, a free breakfast, a $75 Amex card and they were out of beach towels so they gave us a $25 gift card to Caribbean Jack's restaurant. There is a lot to see and do within walking distance but because of the cold & rainy weather during our entire week stay we didn't get to enjoy it as much as we wanted to. Overall, the resort and the staff were very nice and we will definitely return during the warmer months so that we can fully enjoy all the resort amenities and activities they have to offer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hot4travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I regret purchasing into Wyndham but I do try to enjoy the resorts in spite of my regret. The unit was newly renovated and the modern color scheme is quite attractive. Some sloppy work with hinges painted over, door handle covered with white grainy substance I had to clean off(polish, I hope). I agree with the previous poster about poor cleanliness; there was a long black hair on/in the folded towel. No ice maker in the frig and no ice machine in the building. A shower, tub, three sinks and one tiny bar of soap.

But the ultimate negative? As an owner, I am entitled to wifi in the room. But, alas, no signal. No help from the desk except the phone number of AT&T who verified I had no signal and they would work on it sometime. I am in the bar, using the public network. I don't expect any change.

Wyndham insists they want to help their owners but they only want to help the big point owners and I am a little fish to them.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Marycas4504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
2.5 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#22 of 74 in Daytona Beach
464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
0.5 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Ocean Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Ocean Walk

Address: 300 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3902 (Formerly Ocean Walk Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#7 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $154 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Ocean Walk 3.5*
Number of rooms: 710
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach front resort located next to Ocean Walk shops and movie theater. Units are spacious and comfortable with home conveniences including washer/dryer. Daily maid service is not provided. On site parking is limited to one (1) spot per unit regardless of unit ocupancy. Additional public parking located accross street for a fee. Studio/suites are interior/city view and do not have a balcony. Check in begins at 4pm. Please note: Some units at Ocean Walk are privately owned condominiums and are not managed, serviced or rented through Wyndham. For rental information of Wyndham managed units see Extra Holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Ocean Walk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Ocean Walk Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Hotel Daytona Beach
Wyndham Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing