We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist trap with decent food and good service”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #18 of 398 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
311 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Tourist trap with decent food and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went to the BGSC with a group of 12. We were seated immediately and had faster than expected service given that there were 12 of us. It is on the beach so expect high prices at a place designed to capture tourists. The food was good though the portions were a bit small. Overall, a good lunch place but rather pricey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPinkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    470
    276
    108
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Good food in a fun lively atmosphere. The seafood was served hot and with generous portions. The wait staff was very attentive and quick to respond.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

I've been to Bubba Gump's at Navy Pier in Chicago, so it wasn't my first experience with this restaurant. We received such a fantastic experience here, for my family. The food was very, very good. The service was excellent, our server even played a trivia game with us about the movie, Forrest Gump. My family and I left that night feeling that we definitely received our money's worth.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennfield Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“WOWEE....Bravo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

After waiting 20 minutes at the Winghouse and not being served.. my wife and I left the the place. (Jab intended). We decides to go back to Bubba Gumps in Daytona Beach. We were promptly seated and greeted by our severs Kayleigh and Romeo. Ordered our food but were not sure of what drink we wantes. Romeo steered us in the right direction,
A mint vodka mojito for my wife and razzle dazzle for me. I had garlic peel and eat shrimp and my wife had cajun shrimp and garlic bread. Kayleigh was very friendly and professional as she made suggestions from the menu for us (as did Romeo with the drinks)....the whole atmosphere was very lively and fun.. and the food was fresh and was excellent.

Two years ago.. this was not so.. just the reverse... boring staff and food quality was meager at best. THIS IS A VERY WELCOMED CHANGE...Bravo...Wowsers....well done gang!!!


Robert Raymond Gaudet, B.Sc, MCP.
Pennfield New Brunswick
Canada...... waaay up the coast from you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertRGaudet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Having been to several Bubba Gumps, the staff at this one stands out for their attentiveness to the customers. We were a party of 6 and had no less than 3 servers helping us. Everyone ordered a different entree and all were good. The shrimp were large and properly cooked and the fish entrees were flaky and moist. I would suggest that the restaurant consider adding a bread to the meal as most better seafood restaurants do. Currently, a basket of garlic bread is all they offer and must be ordered separately. The drink menu is filled with "tropical" concoctions, but this is the beach, so that is the standard. One novelty here is a look-alike Forrest Gump stopped by our table to chat. He really looks, talks and acts like Forrest and was well-versed on movie trivia. Would suggest you arrive very early for dinner (4-4:30), because the waiting time is very lengthy later on.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing