We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This restaurant named after a movie”

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.
Ranked #14 of 374 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This restaurant named after a movie”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

The movie came out in 1994, 20 years ago. Probably half the customers never heard of the movie. The food and drink are really good. The staff goes around and ask questions about the movie. Did you know Sally Fields was Forrest's mother? Yet when I asked the server what TV series Sally Fields was in he was clueless. (Flying Nun) This restaurant was fun, good location and all. The servers didn't overwhelm you with trivia about the movie. Our server was actually really cool to talk to. (The Bubba Gump in Gatlinburg they go nuts asking Gump questions to the point of 'leave me alone'.) So, go have some food and drink at this place and if you watch the movie ahead of time you probably will stump the servers.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    659
    494
    288
    111
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Service, food excellent. I recommend the bread pudding for dessert. Went for dinner it was so good went back the next day for lunch. Staff is friendly.

Helpful?
Thank craiglavert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“small portions”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We had never been here but ordered the fried fish,fries,shrimp combo. For 19.99 you get a very small serving. It was fantastic but small. The waiters were all awesome but i prefer not so much loud music when i eat although something soft in the background would have been ideal.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank patty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Food, as Expected”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We've been here before and this visit was consistent with the last. The food was excellent for its type, which is good ol American, not quite fast food, but not quite high end restaurant food either. It's in a class with Chili's Applebee's, TGI Friday's, and so on. Food that goes with a good beer, if you drink beer.

First, I really like the way Bubba Bump's is decorated with all the memorabilia surrounding the movie Forrest Gump, and the shrimping industry in the south in general. I've only been to two of these restaurants, here in Daytona Beach, and one in Hawaii, and they were similar. I would imagine that the whole chain is similar in design.

Anyway, as I said before the food was really good for it's type. Not health food; not even trying to be. Not high end restaurant food; not trying to be. But just everyday deep fat fried stuff that goes with beer. Certainly way above the regular fast food offerings and on par with the above mentioned chain restaurants. Was it expensive? Yes, it was. It's a tourist destination in a tourist town.

Aside from the description of the food, the wait staff was prompt and friendly, the buildings, tables, everything was clean and in good repair. Booths were comfortable.

When I go to Daytona Beach, I like two places: Bibba Gumps and johnny Rockets. This time it was Bubba Gumps and we weren't disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald_Fink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
286 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Same old quick USA food..... Boring”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Being from Australia and eating well to visit Bubba Gumps is a culture shock. Fast food with all the fan fare of the waiters asking questions about the Forrest Gump movie.... Who cares I haven't asked for entertainment please let me eat the only health food on the menu.... The salad

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Gump Shrimp Co. also viewed

Daytona Beach Shores, FL
 

Been to Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing