We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle of the road beach hotel....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Emerald Shores Hotel
Ranked #45 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Middle of the road beach hotel....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at the Emerald Shores on 11/11/11 after the manager Bradley Reising was kind enough to provide us with a free stay in the “Presidential Suite” after a disastrous stay in 04/2011. This suite was better, but the hotel remains outdated and the furniture, knick knacks, and fake plants are right out of the 1980’s. It appears that overall the cleaning and maintenance staff lack attention to detail as again there was missing paint in some areas, broken knick knacks, and dusty fake plants. I would recommend to management to impress upon his staff that it is important when they see things that are broken, or in need of service to inform you to get them resolved. I initially thought that this was a huge problem because I travel so frequently to many areas, but after spending the day in Daytona and seeing other available options in the Daytona Shores area, I can say without a doubt that this hotel is probably your best bet if you do not want to break the bank. It’s a middle of the road beach hotel – it provides air conditioning, the beach, and a small kitchen which is good if you are traveling with a family. Overall the place is cleaner than I remembered and the staff is friendly enough. After now staying in the suite I would definitely recommend the place for the value of your money, but suggest paying the extra for a beach side room. I would also suggest either getting rid of the offered “continental breakfast” or upgrading the items – as it simply seems like a bunch of Walmartish/generic pecan rolls and granola bars. Again, if you are staying in Daytona Shores…and don’t want to break the bank…this is the place to go.

Thanks again to Bradley for offering us a second chance to stay at the hotel!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a beach side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrma75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    155
    72
    45
    42
See reviews for
199
181
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

There has been a huge improvement at this hotel in the past few years. We have been coming here for over four. It provides excellent value for money specially of peak. Do yourself a favour get a sea view room( pay the extra ) well worth it. Top floors are better for scenery and quiter. Rooms are spacious and clean ,all have balconys. Wifi reception is also better on this side of the building,they also have internet access at the reception area. Room service attentive to detail. Two fast elevators.
You should concider breakfast non existent that way you won't be disappointed. Coffee was good. Plenty of parking space. Pool side was cleaned frequently but they ran out of towels all too often and would have to agree with others on it's quality . Staff and management very friendly and professional . Best thing about this hotel is it's location . Right on the beautiful Daytona beach. For breakfast try Cracked Egg just down the street. Plenty of places to eat my wife and I frequented Bonefish,Carabas,to name a few. De Land is half hour drive away where there are lots of small shops. Daytona is a whole lot better of peak.

Room Tip: Sea view,corner ,top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GezenBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

the hotel are ok butb if something hapen with your own property and request manager and police to review your case
the management advise you up front of police you are not longer allowed to stay on this property and never come back
the police serve you as a criminal for almost one hour taking picture of you and reletives and writing a tresspassing warning
i was loosing 270.00 dollar was bin taken from my room by roomservice on my 27.universerie wekend
it is a schame on hotel staff and local police department

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EshGm, General Manager at Emerald Shores Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for writing. Guest safety is a top priority here at the hotel. If there is ever a report of a lost or missing item we first check the lost and found log in housekeeping. Items/possessions left in rooms are logged as to what room the item was found in, who found the item, and the date. Attemps are then made by me to contact the guest to see how they wish their item(s) returned to them. If a report is made of a stolen item the police are called and they respond by taking statments and doing an investigation based on the evidence. We cooperate fully with any such request. We did speak and no report was ever filed with the police by you for the alleged incident you describe above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Very unprofessional night staff that banged on our door in the middle of the night and called us liars to our face. Too long of a story but very little sleep thanks to the staff there. Will never go back! Contacted the GM and am still waiting for a response to this nightmare of a trip!

Room Tip: Don't stay there if u value any sleep or relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EshGm, General Manager at Emerald Shores Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
All guest input if apprecited here at the hotel. The incident you are referring too was called in by a guest with an oxygen tank in the room next to yours. The cigarette smoke coming from your room was disturbing them. The night auditor is empowered to resolve such complaints. You and your guests agreed to change rooms amicably and nothing was ever mentioned of any unprofessional staff response from you at that time. The Emerald Shores Hotel has all non smoking rooms and public areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Rooms are big but not cozy and our towels looked veeery old - that was unpleasant. Service was fine - helped me all the times with my needs. Overall it's a good hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viacheslaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Let me preface this review by saying that we checked Tripadvisor before booking this hotel (via Hotwire - we figured out which one it was) so we were hopeful that our stay over Labor Day weekend would turn out okay. Obviously, from my review title, you can see that it did not. I am wondering if some of the previous reviews were written by real guests?...

Anyway, when we checked in the lady at the front desk told us that we got the very last room in the place. After seeing our room I totally believe that because our room was like a dungeon and should not even be available for booking on any website. We had one long, but small window that looked out onto a concrete wall or rooftop; there was barely even any daylight in the room when the curtains were open. The hotel was dirty; we should have known something was up when we got to our room and the “public” trashcan was right outside of our door with trash in bags sitting in the floor next to it. Our room in particular did not appear to have been cleaned properly (that or the hotel is so old that everything just looks dirty) and did not have adequate bedding. When we asked about a blanket for our bed at the front desk we were told that they don’t put blankets on the beds but they are available by request (I have never heard of a hotel in my life that doesn’t put any type of blanket on the beds) but we still did not receive a blanket because they were all out (maybe other people expected blankets on their beds too?). The furnishings in the room looked like they were from 1980 and the room was so dark and dingy that my husband and I almost considered leaving the hotel and going back home. The bed was just about unbearable and we woke up very sore the next morning after what little sleep we could get due to the all of the noise from other guests on our floor. The high-speed internet access did not work for almost the entirety of our stay (which was less than 18 hours due to our quick exit on checkout morning). All of the pool towels were gone every time we attempted to get one to use. The continental breakfast was nonexistent. I could go on and on, but suffice to say, this was not the type of stay we were expecting for a quick, impromptu anniversary weekend getaway.

Also, I saw the management response to a previous negative review and I think they are just trying to act like they care so that people who come to Tripadvisor to read reviews will think one or two negative reviews are not the norm at this hotel - I don't buy it for a minute and furthermore, there was no "letter of welcome" from the GM in our room and the comment regarding this hotel being the "newest" in the area is ridiculous, maybe new management, a new name, or something similar, but definitely not a "new" hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ametaldiva77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delta,mo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Emerald Shores is our favorite beach front hotel in Daytona Beach. We have been coming to Daytona for more than 15 years. After our first stay at E.S. we were hooked. Super nice and helpful employees. Bradley will bend over backwards to accommodate everyone. The folks at the front desk are very helpful with any question or situation. Kailee can even work on your computer. Donna our housekeeper is first rate. You can always expect to have a clean, comfortable room. We have always stayed in an ocean front efficiency, we have a wonderful view of the ocean. We see the sunrise over the ocean every morning. With calm waters in the morning you can sometimes catch the dollphins swiming by.
Parking is free, laundry is available, pool towels are furnished, pool and spa are always clean.
I have only one negative and that is, I finally have to go home.

Room Tip: ocean front gives you a beautiful view of the ocean and you can see everything going on at the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EshGm, General Manager at Emerald Shores Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
So glad you had a great time! Our mission statement is to be the Cleanest and Friendliest hotel in Daytona. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#25 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabreeze Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabree...
#24 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
6.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#20 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Shores Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Shores Hotel

Property: Emerald Shores Hotel
Address: 2613 South Atlantic Avenue, Daytona Beach, FL 32127
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Emerald Shores Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emerald Shores is Daytona’s newest oceanfront hotel. The resort features 84 guest rooms including efficiencies, connecting rooms and a Penthouse suite. Start your sunny beach day with our complimentary Continental Breakfast served every morning from 7am to 9am. Bask in the sun, or step off our pool deck to sink your toes into our white sandy beach. The pool is heated seasonally. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Shores Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Shores Daytona Beach
Hotel Emerald Shores
Emerald Shores Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing