We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Juices and Fresh Food”

Dancing Avocado Kitchen
Ranked #15 of 377 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $13
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Dancing Avocado offers several Smoothies and Juices. I tried the 12 oz Kelly Green Juice and it was expensive and could not compare to the "Green" Juices that I have tasted in other restaurants. I tried the "Special" of the day and it was very tasty and reasonably priced.

No Coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 33shakespeare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvocadoKitchen, Director of Sales at Dancing Avocado Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear 33,

Thanks for visiting our restaurant and juice bar. There are so many variables in the food industry affecting price - global climate changes, seasonality of produce, transportation expenses, etc. Each one of our three green drinks are a custom beverage platform upon which you may build the perfect drink (depending on your taste and dietary needs).

The sweet green is a fresh apple with a large handful of spinach and a smidgen of lemon. The Kelly has apple with celery and cucumber making it celeratic. The mean green is what it is - kale and parsley are added to the apple, filling the glass with rich dark chlorophyll. These juices can be customized; we suggest that you pour your juice over a little ice and always add fresh lemon if it agrees with your palate.

Thanks for coming all the way to Florida to experience the Avocado Kitchen.

Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 395 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The Dancing Avocado is an amazing place with delicious food and friendly service. We live in Daytona and cannot believe it's taken this long to enjoy lunch at such a great spot! There are so many inventive vegan and vegetarian choices as well as meat lovers options. I enjoy eating meat, but after the owner took time to explain the menu to us and all the delicious sounding veggie options, I am very exited to return and try some new things! The owner was very friendly and welcoming and our server, Ashley, was a delight! This restaurant will definitely be a regular meeting place for lunch with the gals!

Thank MamabellaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvocadoKitchen, Director of Sales at Dancing Avocado Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Marnabella,

We don't believe in traditional forms of advertising. We would rather have people like you telling their friends and family about us. Thank you!

We really do have a large selection on our menu - from vegan BLT (made with our own vegan bacon and vegan mayo) to our homemade veggie "earth burger" (made from 27 vegan ingredients). Chef believes that eating well should be fun and tasty.

Thanks for making the Avocado Kitchen a part of your life. We look forward to having you back. Peace, Love, and Avocados.

Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We went to the Dancing Avocado Kitchen because we were looking for something a little different and healthy - but we were traveling with a 15 year old who did NOT want lettuce and wanted meat! We found the perfect meld in the Dancing Avocado Kitchen. Between the three of us we ordered a bacon cheeseburger with fries, a quiche, a fresh corn soup, fried plantains, fresh banana & espresso smoothies, a hummus wrap with chicken and a side salad. We all were happy with our food and found it fresh and tasty. We were all happy with the menu that offered lots of options. Plus, the service was great and the atmosphere was fun. Perfect for a breakfast or lunch and late afternoon snack.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann2973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvocadoKitchen, Director of Sales at Dancing Avocado Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear Ann,

You are so kind. Some people come in and their family diet is so variegated they have a hard time relating to each other. Chef thinks one of the saddest thing taking place in American culture is how the diversity in diets seem to alienate on both sides. We love seeing herbivore and carnivore happily eating together. We are stoked that the 15 year old got his burger on! Thank you for your glowing review. We hope that we get to see you the next time you break free from Peoria.

Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

While we are meat eaters this restaurant offers both vegetarian and meat meals. I had a great a avocado salad with chicken and my husband had the turkey Ruben. I love the atmosphere and the fresh foods.

Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvocadoKitchen, Director of Sales at Dancing Avocado Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear OG,

Thank you for visiting us from the great state of Ontario. And thanks for such a well written review that included so much of what is special at the DAK. Many of the decorations are posters of varied events which have taken place in the downtown; and most of the bottles are memories of drink experiences that we have enjoyed with our staff. The colorful chairs were actually re-purposed from the old Winter Park Mall. (They were indeed those colors when selected at the auction.) And while we are not regularly open for dinner, we do have the most extensive recycling program of nearly any restaurant in the state of FL.

The Chef and Owner (as you lovingly refer to as Dave) was ecstatic and tickled when we read your review in our staff meeting. Thank you for your exceptional rating going out to the rest of the world.

Constant change is here to stay.

Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

You are in for a unique experience in both decor & dining at The Dancing Avocado.
Dave & his staff are charming. The decor is eclectic: signs, posters, ceiling fans, decorative bottles etc. The seating is at wooden tables & brightly painted wooden chairs. There is shaded outdoor seating as well. The menu, serving breakfast, lunch & dinner items is extensive and offers lots of natural foods. There are healthy choices: vegetable dishes, squash & lentil salads, veggie burgers. Although the emphasis is on 'earth' there are meat & poultry choices too. Sea salt, pepper grinders, straws, extra serviettes, ketchup, & various sweeteners are right on each table. There is a hutch in the middle of the restaurant which holds vinegars, hot sauces etc & guests are encouraged to get up & help themselves. Drinks are served in recyclable plastic glasses and lunch items are in plastic baskets lined with paper.
Dave welcomes everyone & stops at each table leaving the guests smiling, he invites happy guests into the kitchen or he brings a little complimentary tasting of a food item to several tables.
At the cash register there are items for sale: bottles of hot sauce, jars of honey, pralines, bags of chips, rubber ducks etc.
A glass of wine was $4 and a 12 oz veggie juice was $5.
Lunch for 2 before tip was $30.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OntarioGinger186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AvocadoKitchen, Director of Sales at Dancing Avocado Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Dear OG,

Thank you for visiting us from the great state of Ontario. And thanks for such a well written review that included so much of what is special at the DAK. Many of the decorations are posters of varied events which have taken place in the downtown; and most of the bottles are memories of drink experiences that we have enjoyed with our staff. The colorful chairs were actually re-purposed from the old Winter Park Mall. (They were indeed those colors when selected at the auction.) And while we are not regularly open for dinner, we do have the most extensive recycling program of nearly any restaurant in the state of FL.

The Chef and Owner (as you lovingly refer to as Dave) was ecstatic and tickled when we read your review in our staff meeting. Thank you for your exceptional rating going out to the rest of the world.

Constant change is here to stay.

Angelo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dancing Avocado Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Dancing Avocado Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing