We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach
Ranked #30 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Okay Place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2010

The staff was very friendly, They got us into our room very quickly, The room was clean, When we needed more towels they were quick to respond.. But we noticed there was burn marks on the padding of the bed and burn marks on the sofa...Late at night there is alot of people hanging around the hotel which REALLY brothers me... This hotel is in a high crime area.......

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolbreezejohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    210
    126
    68
    57
See reviews for
360
218
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

The room was dirty and smelly. We left and went to the Holiday Inn down the street (very nice Holiday in with outsanding staff). A few days later our travel agent told us that the La Quinta manager told him we were still there. We went back to speak with the manager and he said that he wouldn't tell the travel agency we left until we "proved that the room was dirty." When we went to the room (he didn't even have to ask which room it was), and it had been thoroughly cleaned and would have passed a military inspection (I spent 20-years in the military, so I should know). When I stated that the room had been cleaned, he said that the room hadn't been touched and that we were lying. When trying to get a refund from the travel agency and La Quinta, the manager wouldn't agree to tell them that we left the property unless we agreed to say that the room was not dirty/smelly. Even though La Quinta (corporate, not this property's manager) finally gave us a refund (weeks later), the attitude and behavior of the manager was unexusable and we will never go to this property again. I would go back to tent city in SWA before I would go back to this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAFVet2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Everything about this hotel was super. The housekeeping staff was awesome. If we ever get a chance to go back to Daytona Beach we will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misscookiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

I went down to the Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona I made these plans last minute. So I didn't have many places to choose from most of the Hotels I like to stay at were full Hilton, Marriott, etc etc. So I gave this La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach 816 N. Atlantic Ave. Daytona Beach, FL 32118 a chance. When I arrived they were nice at the front counter and they had my info. I was tried so I got my room card #201 and went over to my room. The first thing I noticed was this room was at the top of the stairs. I really don't like being at the top or bottom of the stairs but I went in the room was large with 2 queen size beds. I deceided to stay it was only for a night. The room has carpet under the beds and tile every where else. The room had a Ref and Microwave oven and two large size tv's that both worked and the cable or sat worked fine. There was only one window and the bathroom wasn't bad but only one sink ok for one or two people. But if a family was to stay in room 201 that would be bad! I went on to the race and then came back about 3 1/2 hours later the parking lot was filling up I parked near my room. And went upstairs I deceided to sleep in the back room for when I turned on the a/c it was making a loud noise. I didn't call down for any help so after a bit I just turned it off. For I knew the weather was getting colder. During my sleep I woke up several times to the bathroom fan? It seemed the noise was coming from the roof. I some how got back to sleep. When morning came I took a relaxing bath only to find my hot water didn't stay hot for long? So during my Shower the water was luke warm. The cont Breakfast was fine I wanted to get on there computer in the business office. But a sign on the door said OUT OF ORDER? Just like on the Fitness center door which if you look inside the glass door you see ladders and old a/c units. I paid with tax $133.00 for this room.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itellitlikeitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Our family of four stayed here in August for a week. One of the few upsides to this stay was that we redeemed La Quinta points and our stay was reasonably cheap. However, I was charged $10 per person per night for my two 18 year old sons, which I think is ridiculous. I'm not sure if this is LQ policy, or just this hotels policy. It seems ridiculous to me to have to pay extra for a family member. My kids just turned 18, this was their graduation present, and they still live under my roof.

Rooms - The "two room" rooms are exactly that, two rooms. One room w/beds in it and one room w/tv & couch in it. In my conversation with the hotel prior to our arrival, I was led to believe it was a "two bedroom" room, a bed in each room and a seperate room for tv/couch.

Cleanliness - The closet had a moldy/musty smell. We were afraid to hang our clothes in it for fear they would absorb the smell. We had a no-smoking room and it was fine the first few days, but after about the third day it started smelling like stale smoke. We realized the rooms were "cleaned" very strongly between guests and the cleaning solutions were wearing off and the true odor of the room was coming out by this time.

Facilities-they have two washers and two dryers at this hotel. One washer was "out of order" the entire week we were there. The "workout room" is a joke. It also had a "out of order" sign on the door the entire week we were there. Obviously it had been that way for a while and would most likely continue to be.....there was sheetrock, ladders, saws and lots of other construction supplies stored in there. The "workout room" should instead be labeled "supply room".

As others have posted, you are being watched. They have cameras all over the property and will call your room if they see you doing something they percieve as "wrong". I drive a 4 door truck and was limited to certain parking spaces in their very small lot. One afternoon we made a fast run back to our room from shopping and were leaving again within 5 minutes and the front desk called to tell me I needed to move my truck as I was "in the way". This really set me off as it was the middle of the afternoon when the parking lot was mostly empty as everyone is out sight seeing. I was parked legally in front of my room, but they perceived this as "wrong" because my truck is larger than most of the other cars in the parking lot. I try to be courteous, and was not "in the way" as they said. I made sure of this before we got out of the truck.

As there are only balconies on the rooms that face the ocean, lots of the guests would set their lawn chairs up and hang out in front of their rooms in the walk ways. Beer bottles and pizza boxes were usually found in the walkways in the morning. It is definitely not a 5 star hotel.

Housekeeping - they were great. Gave you anything you needed.

Location - definitely not in the middle of everything. This could be good or bad depending on what you're looking for. We had to drive everywhere we went.

Breakfast - suprisingly decent. No meat of any kind, but an ample supply of pastries, cereal, fruit, breads. Nothing to get too excited about, but I've seen worse. Often times had to wait for desk clerk to replenish.

Upkeep - I did not see anyone doing any sort of maintenance on the hotel at any time during our stay. The parking lot was never washed off/swept up. The washer in the laundry room was never repaired. The balcony railings on the ocean side were in need of painting. They did not enforce the "no dogs in this area" rule (dogs were on the patio and using the grassy area nearby for their potty). I am a dog lover, but am not a friend of their poop in the grass :)

Management - manager hides behind wall at front desk watching his cameras and lets employees handle disgruntled guests. After the guest leaves the room, the manager will walk out from behind the wall and talk about the guest to the employee. I saw this on more than one occasion as we were eating breakfast .

Overall, Daytona Beach was a great place and we had a good time. We decided not to let the negativity of this hotel get us down. I will never go back there, and will never recommend it. We usually have good luck with La Quintas. This one needs to have it's franchise revoked. It brings down the La Quinta name. Having a different owner/manager would help improve it.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rottendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Room was recently renovated and very clean compared to similarly priced hotels nearby. Beach was right out the balcony, jacuzzi tub in room was relaxing, and staff was hospitable.

Only slight drawback is that right across the street is a liquor store that had a lot of foot traffic into it late at night, including some scary looking characters. None were on the hotel property at all, just across the street, but I still escorted wife to parking lot after dark for safety sake.

Hotel itself was clean, and affordable - a great value!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

This hotel was more than what we expected. It was worth a stay, to stay at this LaQuinta Inn, which is oceanfront.
We had a great view of the ocean, from the balcony to sit out on, even on the ground floor, just steps away from the beach. We were amazed. Room had tile and carpet in the room, also smelled so fresh and tiles looked so clean. Bed was extremely comfortable, room was clean and view was outstanding. The hotel had a breakfast, which was great!!
This hotel is dog friendly free up to 20 pounds and $10 a night over 20 pounds.
This hotel is close to the Daytona International Speedway.
The only thing we seen of a problem is the parking, which is somewhat limited.
We were so please, all staff was so courteous and friendly. We will go back again and recommend everyone with children to try this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TennesseeChip71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#20 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabreeze Oceanfront
BEST WESTERN Daytona Inn Seabree...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Daytona Beach Resort and Confere...
#19 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
6.6 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#14 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach
Address: 816 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Daytona Beach Hotel Daytona Beach
La Quinta Daytona Beach
Daytona Beach La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing