We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What is not to like?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #26 of 396 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“What is not to like?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Truly a beach front spot to just chill and enjoy! Had wonderful hand breaded coconut shrimp meal with terrific fries and very decent white wine on the roof deck right on the ocean. Saw a Right whale breach twice out in the distance, so what is not to like? Very pleasant service. The place was quiet which I loved, but I imagine in season, it is packed. There's a cool fire pit with chairs around it on the roof and the ocean view is spectacular!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SidCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    542
    388
    221
    121
    129
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
372 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Fun and food with a view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were excited about dining on the pier. It was nice to walk from our hotel down the boardwalk to dinner. After about 25 minutes waiting on a table on a Saturday evening, we were seated by a window overlooking the beach and ocean. Loved the birds landing outside of our window on the rail at sunset. We were greeted by our wonderful server Bridgett. She was a delight! We have visited several Joe's Crab Shacks in the past and by far this is our favorite! Hubby chose the grilled salmon with a double side of asparagus. The only complaint was a double order resulted in about six spears which we felt were skimpy. The grilled seasoning on the salmon was great. I chose a house salad and a dozen boiled shrimp. It was boiled and seasoned perfectly. They have great tasting sangria. I had the strawberry peach one. It came with sliced strawberries and peaches. We topped it off by sharing an order of apple crisp with a side of vanilla ice cream for dessert. It was outstanding! We enjoyed our meal at Joe's with a lovely view and service with a smile! Thank you, Bridgett!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyflnoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross City, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food, atmosphere and drinks are all awesome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I would recommend. It is located right on the pier, thus has stunning views of the Atlantic. Food was good, but a little pricey. The bloody Mary with a crab leg as a garnish was succulent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank briarosteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food ... Great atmosphere and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We went in a Sunday night. We sat at bar. The bartender was great. Had a dry and funny personality. She even got my husband and I wearing the bids during dinner. We ordered the same steam bucket and she suggested the bucket for two, to save us money. I liked that. The food had great flavor! We ate it all. Atmosphere was fun! Yes a little pricey but you are having crab, ocean front , that is to be expected.. It got busy.... Go early... 5 or so;) I definitely recommend !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“May I Suggest the Crab?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

You have to have the crab when you go to Joe's Crab Shack. Makes sense. But honestly, I'm too lazy. I love crab, just too much bother for me. So I usually order something else and it usually isn't as good as the crab. The other 2 in my party ordered the Crab Daddy Feast, a steamed pot with 3 different kinds of crab, potatoes and corn for $30.99. But then the waitress made the suggestion that they try the $26.99 Queen instead as it's sweeter. So one of them went with the Queen and the other stuck with the trio. They were both happy. Seems expensive to me, but then they weren't paying! I ordered a trio of shrimp: fried, coconut and crab stuffed. The batters were thick and doughy. Could have used another minute in the fryer. Nevertheless, I really enjoyed the coconut shrimp with pineapple plum sauce. The coleslaw was very good (wished there was more of it) and the fries were ok. The place ain't cheap. I would feel better if they threw in a tossed salad and some cornbread but I don't think that's gonna happen. It was surprisingly busy for mid-May and we were quoted a 50 minute wait. They asked for a phone # in order to text us when our table was ready. This I liked very much as it enabled us to take a walk up Main St. and check out the taffy shop. We were called to our table after only 30 mins. Service was a bit slow, dinners took a while to come out and of course took time to crack all those shells so put enough quarters in the meter. If you do drive here there are very few free parking spaces, couple dozen meters and a $10 parking lot. Meters are 15 min for $.25 and the shops will not make change for you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuffaloKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing