We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding at any price!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe 101

Cafe 101
Ranked #158 of 396 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Outstanding at any price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I realize that food in these school restaurants can be spotty, but our experience at Cafe 101 was on par with any of the best restaurants in the area. We had an outstanding four course meal with each dish being prepared and presented as beautifully as any other place!

And at a price of $15, it was a steal! Reservations and advanced planning are prerequisites, but well worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WDSPonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional Dining Experience. Unexpected Location. Reservations Required.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was our second trip to CAFE 101 for dinner. (They also serve lunch but we have not tried this yet.)

NOTE: You MUST make reservations in advance. I suggest WAY in advance as seating is very limited.

The price for dinner is fixed at $15.00/person.

The menu has a selection of 2 appetisers, Soup or salad, 4 entrees, and two desserts. The server will take your full order, including dessert, at the beginning of the meal.

The menu changes regularly.

This past Wednesday evening I had Bean and Chorizo soup, Conche friters, and Jerk Chicken Breast. (Others at the table had sea scallops for their entre or a salad rather than the soup.)

All dishes were very good to excellent. The sea scallops were too salty but acceptable.

The servers are students so sometimes they are obviously still learning but they try very hard. For example, our server had some trouble remembering to clear plates before serving the next course. Also, three people had the same entre and one had a different entree but she served the "odd" entree to the wrong person.

Quiet ambiance. Great value for money. Definitely worth going.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MEGATLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Elegant dining gem hidden on campus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

After Daytona visitors have tired of fast-food joints on the beach, they may want to try finding Cafe 101 on the main campus of Daytona State College (US 92) for something elegant yet still informal. It's a cool and quiet respite from the tourism strip. Operated by students of the college's hospitality program, the cafe typically offers a choice of 3 or 4 fixed-price luncheon entrees. Some are brought to the table; others are served on a buffet. With appetizer, beverage and dessert included, the bill usually is in the $12 range.
I've dined there a half-dozen times and have always found the food quality to be in the very good to excellent range. The menu is creative and presentation is done with a flair. Service sometimes is a tad slow, but always courteous.
The big drawback is that reservations are required, so you have to plan your meal a few days in advance. And it's open only for weekday lunches.
To find the cafe, look for the main entrance to the college on US 92, then turn left near the end and proceed to the Hosseini Building, a large cream colored structure. The cafe is right across the lobby from the Southeast Museum of Photography, a free gallery with excellent rotating exhibits of photographers with national or international stature. And the museum frequently offers free art-house films in early afternoon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeachcomberT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great school food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I went here because my friend goes to the culinary program at Daytona State College (DSC). I was blown away by the dishes that the students prepare. The shrimp and grits was amazing and I'm not big on grits! I was so impressed that I considered taking classes at the college (it wouldn't fit into my schedule :[ ). The meal was very reasonably priced and atmosphere was stunning. A reservation is required to dine in and the list gets full very quick.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WoodenCello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great experience in dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

A really neat place to go for a meal with family and/or friends. Knowing that this is training for students, the customer receives GOOD service with special attention. The food is ok, some items are better tasting than others at times. It's been a while since I visited, but I was pleased and I'm sure things are improved upon constantly.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarazina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 101 also viewed

Daytona Beach, FL
 
Daytona Beach, FL
 

Been to Cafe 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing