We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous and Nasty! No AC, no H2O for a day, Elevator electrocutes people. Owner does not care!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cove Motel Oceanfront
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dangerous and Nasty! No AC, no H2O for a day, Elevator electrocutes people. Owner does not care!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Worse hotel stay EVER! Nasty rooms, the bed had trash under it and used cotton balls , I asked the maid to clean it and was told they only clean under the beds when they do a "deep clean." Our room had no AC or water on arrival. Water was turned on within 6 hours, but it took 48 hours for AC. Room smelled like mold and we bought our own cleaning products to clean the room. Day 3 we ordered pizza and the delivery guy got stuck in the elevator. He pressed the help button and yelled and scremed, I called the front desk and informed them. The delivery guy got out on another floor and brought the pizza, he was sweating and jerking all over poor guy. About 5 min later a lady from the front office came by and asked if I had called for help for the man and I said yes. She rudely informed me that I should have called her and let her know he had gotten out and to remember that for the NEXT TIME!! I said I'm sorry I thought you let the guy out on a different floor. So no elevator for 24 hours.


Well that takes us to day 5. My 3 years old son decides to press the elevator button like all children do and was electrocuted! It was reported to the front desk to a lady named Jeanette [--] who says she is the owner. She goes to the elevator presses the button and says "it didn't shock me. There is nothing I can do about it." Why did we stay so long you ask? The policy you sign at checkin says absolutely no refunds! I didn't have extra money for another room :( I learned my lesson the hard way! Please don't have the same experience as we did go somewhere else! I don't know how they ever got a good review.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TCrump81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    48
    20
    17
    12
See reviews for
71
42
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

well i went there had wonderful room service and a great view it was a once in a lifetime thing for me I am coming in June should be funn




<3 Ash

Room Tip: higher floors and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I have stayed at the Cove Motel several times and feel each time like I am with family. The personnel are friendly, warm and helpful. The accommodations are clean and with the kitchen it makes a perfect place to stay and relax. Being on the oceanfront is spectacular and the pool and patio are sparkling clean. I have stayed many places but this is the one I continue to return to and plan to do even more in the future. Mickey

Room Tip: I prefer the oceanfront however all the rooms have a view of the ocean. I usually stay on the two u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mickeyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I love the fact we are right on the beach, the price is very good and I know the staff like family. The rooms are very good and the kitchen is a big plus. I have referred this place to all my friends and most have gone back as I do year after year. If your looking for a 200-300 dollar room with all the bells and whistles then go somewhere else, but if your looking for a reasonable price, on the beach and very clean, this your spot. Going back in Sept and I'm as excited as I was the first time I went to Daytona in 1988.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Deborah594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

we stayed 4 nights and 5 days. Enjoyed every minute of our stay. We visited Flagler Beach and St.Augustine Lighthouse.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grace122652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boucherville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

February 2011 - Daytona 500 Race Week
We were there from Thursday to the following Thursday.
I loved the fact that we had a kitchenette that served our purposes perfectly.
The view from our room was awesome and we were right on the beach.
We looked forward to taking our morning coffee on the balcony overlooking the ocean.
We're not very demanding people, so all was ok. We had problems with the shower-head and fifteen minutes after reporting the problem, a new one was installed.
I recommend this place and would go back without hesitation. This might not be a five-star hotel, but this is just my kind of place.

Room Tip: Two beds with a kitchenette - oceanview from our room. All rooms had a great view in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roylaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

very outdated, walls and plaster falling apart on inside and outside, comfortable beds, patio much too small, not enough room to put chair straight ahead, had to put sideways, price is reasonable, effeciency room with fridge and burner stove, but very old,grease coming ot from the side caked on, no fan in the washroom , very small and we had to open a window when we took a shower. nice pool, but they said it was heated, did not seem like it was, was pretty cold on most days. lights in the unit not properly positioned if someone wanted to watch t.v late while their partner was sleeping, again you get what you pay for, but i would not recommend, spend a bit more and the two hotels on either sideoffer the same thing and are much nicer. owner did not seem to be too friendly the week we went, also washer and dryer very old, needs a major update!!!!! last thing was told by the clerk at the front desk that fee for the entire stay had to be paid up front, did save some money coming here but I doubt very much that we will return, the maintenance man cleaning daily and very friendly.

kitchener ontario
May 2011.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
7.0 mi away
Beachside Hotel
Beachside Hotel
#37 of 73 in Daytona Beach
8 reviews
1.3 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sea Shells Beach Club
Sea Shells Beach Club
#23 of 73 in Daytona Beach
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
#49 of 73 in Daytona Beach
596 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropical Winds Oceanfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Motel Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Motel Oceanfront

Property: Cove Motel Oceanfront
Address: 1306 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3633
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cove Motel Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Daytona Beach, this oceanfront Florida motel features an outdoor heated pool and free property-wide Wi-Fi. Guests are also within 8 miles of the Daytona Speedway. A cable TV and coffee-making facilities are included in all rooms at this Oceanfront Cove Motel. A kitchen with a microwave, small refrigerator, and stove are included in select rooms. Cove Motel Oceanfront guests have access to an on-site laundromat. Free on-site parking is available for added convenience. Daytona Beach International Airport is within 7 miles of the property. Guests are 3 miles from Manatee Island Park. Cove Motel Oceanfront is under new ownership and has been completely renovated, take a look at the new photos posted by management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Visit Barbados, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cove Motel Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Motel Oceanfront Hotel Daytona Beach
Cove Motel Daytona Beach
Cove Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing