We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort fee- Are you kidding me?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was charged $16.88 for a resort fee. When we asked what this was for, we were told it was for parking, tv, and 2 bottles of water. We were also told that it was mandatory that we pay this. This a joke. A service charge I can understand, but the reasons we were given are laughable.

Room Tip: Be aware that the bathroom sink is next to the kitchen sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Phillip, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I apologize for the explanation you were provided regarding the Resort Fee and what it covers. We, unlike some hotels do not have a seperate charge for parking, we do not have a seperate charge for access to Wi-Fi, we do not have a seperate charge for access to the fitness center. Many hotels charge their guests for such items, sometimes these charges are well in excess of the nominal daily Resort Fee charged by the Daytona Beach Resort. Included in this fee are the daily newspaper delivered to your room, bottled water daily to your room, along with the access to our three outdoor pools, our indoor pool, two jacuzzi's and our sauna. We truly appreciate your patronage. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,018)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

643 - 649 of 1,018 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We love staying here for business or pleasure. We were just here this week for business and are coming back this weekend for bike week. We love the hot tubs and the pools. The employees and the staff are always very helpful. The rooms are always clean, and we just love the beachfront location. Have stayed here for many years and will continue staying here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Matt_and_Amarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Matt and Armarna, thanks for your comments regarding your recent visit with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we always try our best to accomodate your needs! We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The front desk staff was extremely helpful with check in and local places in the area to grab a bite to eat. The room was spacious and comfortable. The outside bar, pool, and hot tub were wonderful. The only negative is the ac in the room when it came on sounded like a Harley motorcycle engine - noisy.

Room Tip: Check to make sure the ac is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Valerie, Thank you for your comments regardiing your visit with us. We have fixed that Harley-of-an-air conditioner. thanks for letting us know. We truly appreciate your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My family of four enjoyed our condo, and especially the use of the indoor pool and two hot tubs. The water in the indoor pool was very wam and could match the temperature of water in hot tubs at other hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

OrangeCharles,

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon. Your comments will be shared with our Maintenance Team..... they take great pride in keeping our pool facilities in the best possible condition!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We had the misfortune of staying in a room next to the elevators. Sleep was difficult with the constant sound of the elevators running throughout the night. Although we asked to be moved to another room, we were told there were none available. As our room was prepaid, we had no choice but to stay there. The front desk personnel were not sympathetic at all. Housekeeping skipped our room on the second day of our stay. We came back to our room at 9pm to find no one had cleaned our room at all that day. We were charged an Amenities fee for the pool & exercise room. The hotel is very dated with older furnishings. Our ocean view was marred by the ugly rooftop in between our window and the beach. Definitely NOT worth the price.

Room Tip: Our 'Ocean View' room had more of dirty roof top view than ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AprilWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

April,
thank you for your comments regarding your visit with us. I am sorry to hear you were less than satisfied. Please be assured, I am personally following up on your comments regarding housekeeping and the front desk service. These are very serious concerns and by no means our standards of hospitality. It is our sincere hope that you would give us a second chance to display our true standards. Please contact me directiy, I also need some details regarding your dates of stay and the room number. Again, thank you for your comments. I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in the Daytona Beach Resort for two months in November-December 2013. We really enjoyed all the Daytona Beach area parks and activities. You can drive and bike on the beach, and the off-season rates are very good. We did not know that the 5 story garage was being sanded and rebuilt, so there was a lot of noise in alol parts of the resort. The staff at the resort was very friendly and we will be back again in the future.

Room Tip: South side gets more sun. East has a view of the ocean. Stay on the 9th floor or higher for the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Steve, thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit with us in November and December. We truly appreciate your feedback! We are pleased to hear you will be returning. We appreciate your understanding during the restoration project for the parking garage. This 5-month $1M project was completed in January. We are looking forward to you and all of our guests enjoying the convenience of the parking garage during your next visit with us! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I spent 2 nights at the DBR. Check-in was speedy and personnel were very polite and helpful. They explained what was available at the resort and the covered parking was great as it rained the first day. The room I had was double bed waterfront, on the 11th floor. Room was a 9/10 - there were a few cracks noticeable on the walls, and some water stains on the rug, but the housekeeping of the room was very clean. Loved, loved, loved the bathroom (only thing that could be improved is making it 2 basins and not just the one - which was no problem for me as I am single). The bathroom offered 2 large draws and 4 under counter cabinets - wonderful for keeping a neat looking room. The towels were nicely thick, only thin towel was the bath mat - which was did not bother me. The TV was HD, the kitchenette was nice, had enough glasses, dishes and flat ware and a couple of pots. The coffee pot was nice, but when I asked about a tea kettle there was none available. Had large microwave and a full sized refrigerator. A small table and chairs completed the room. There is a small balcony but could not move one of the chairs due to the A/C unit taking half the balcony area, but was a fantastic view! The bed was not the most comfortable - somewhat lumpy, but had great pillows. I feel that the room rate was a little high, but I was willing to pay the extra for a waterfront view. I had breakfast at the restaurant, and it was very good, eggs were cooked as I asked, and 4 slices of bacon, enough potatoes that I did not eat all of them.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NurseDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

NurseDonna, Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit with us. Based on your comments, we are looking to get a supply of tea kettles to keep on hand for such requests. Additionally, I will have our Engineering Team conduct the touch-up repairs on the walls and make sure we get the water stains from the carpeting. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our restaurant! We are very proud of our culinary team and the job they do! I am also pleased to hear that our hard-working housekeeping team took good care of you as well. Thank you for your patronage and we hope to see you again in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#22 of 73 in Daytona Beach
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
2.7 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center

Address: 2700 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3005
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $105 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy ultimate comfort and luxurious ocean front accommodation where every unit has a kitchenette at the Daytona Beach Resort. Once you arrive, choose between a dip in our white sandy beach or one of four resort pools. After a morning of swimming and sunbathing, workout in our fitness center. Couples can enjoy an afternoon cocktail at our Reef Pool Bar while children catch waves and place their finishing touches on their sandcastles. Finish the perfect day with a great meal at our ocean front restaurant and head into a deep sleep while listening to the sounds of the waves. Whether you've come to our resort for the sand and the sun, or whether you've come here for an important conference or the wedding of loved ones, we're fully confident our Daytona Beach hotel will accommodate your vacation needs to the point of being unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing