We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Worst night in a hotel in my life” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Ranked #18 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worst night in a hotel in my life”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were at the hotel for a large event being held in the convention center. I purchased a room online from a discount website but paid a pretty high amount for a room, understandable considering it is a sold out weekend for hotels. In a nutshell, our rooms were unacceptable. They were in the older section and reeked of smoke. The first room I could not stay in, the combination of mold and smoke smell was too much. The housekeeper confirmed it was smoked in previously and was "supposed to be cleaned." Well we moved to another and it was only marginally better. Had to invest in a bottle of Febreeze and spray it during the night. Also saw a roach, at least it was dead! The room faced the highway and the door opened to the outside. The doors from the parking garage to the hotel were propped open - felt so unsafe there. In a nutshell, for more than $120 a night I expect better. The management was less than helpful. I hear there are nicer rooms that have been renovated but if you stay here - be careful you don't end up in the rank, older rooms. There are much nicer options in Daytona for the same price.

Room Tip: Older rooms are awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank all4sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear all4Sarah,

We are sorry to hear you were less than satified during your visit with us. We thank you for your feedback and allowing us to follow-up on these situations. I am not sure which discount website you may have booked thru however, we do have a "Best Rate Guarantee" on our website which indicates we are happy to match the price on the same room type for the same dates that you may find listed on such discounted websites. We wish you would have booked directly with us the opportunity to explain the various options available in our room inventory. We certainly hope you will give us a try the next time you have the opportunity to visit the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    248
    112
    67
    72
See reviews for
361
241
27
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel was great for the price. The location is right on the beach. The hotel is older but very clean. Good food in the restaurant and good pricing. All in all this was a good selection on many fronts! Would go there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfsrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again in the near future..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent New Year's Eve last year at the hotel and had a great time. This year we brought a few more families with us and the kids night out was a great way for the adults to enjoy the evening. Rooms could be a bit cleaner. Ocean front view rooms are fantastic and the view is amazing. Hopefully next year they lezve the fire pit on later into the night. Late check out was greatly appreciated. All staff were superb!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for ringing in the New Year with us at the Daytona Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed you stay with us. I have followed up with our Housekeeping regarding your comments on the rooms. And you are right about the fire pit..... we should have left it on later in the evening for the the celebration. We do look forward to seeing you next year! Again, thank you for your patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been to different hotels and even motels all around the USA but I have never been in a place like this first of all when I checked in I had to get my logage by myself and when I asked the front desk (Mike) he told me ( sorry we are runing low these days) really two days after the new year and they already runing low!!!!
The room which is a city view one was not clean when I checked in the dust is all over the place and there are finger nails on the corners of the room. Even the housekeeping guy told me that the morning guys didn't vacuom the room.
Later that night I asked the front desk how much is gona cost me to move to an oven front room and he told me just 10$ the next day I called to order the upgrade and the answer was 40$/ night because the hotel is 80% occupied and the 10$ offer was a mistake!!!
Overall the place is kind of a motel not a hotel please do not be impressed with the website pictures like me it is not even a 3 stars hotel. Morover, it is located so far from the activities areas it is around 15 miles away from the jet ski and the fishing rental places.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abdullah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I scheduled this trip for my mom and dad. Dad is 87 years old and a retired merchant marine. This was for their anniversary. They loved it! Dad said that he would definitely stay there again and that he would recommend it. The meals were not overpriced in the restaurant and they thoroughly enjoyed the amenities. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CARLA S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Daytona Beach Resort for your parents. We are pleased to hear they enjoyed their visit with us! We hope to them again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINTER HAVEN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

I bought a Travel Zoo special for a nights stay at this property for my husband and I. We had a really nice time. The lobby is a good first impression, our check in procedure very easy and were addressed by name checking in as well as checking out, our room was very nice--clean, comfortable and good view. We enjoyed our complimentary drink as well as our breakfast, which was delicious. All in all, I feel it would be a comfortable place to stay for a few days on the beach..and good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had 3 rooms for five nights for our family attending a college graduation. The two rooms in the new section were clean and nice. The kitchenettes were well-equipped. The balconies, while small, were adequate for 2 people to sit and watch the waves. However the room in the old section showed a lot of wear and smelled funky. During our stay, the tiki bar was closed, the restaurant, bar, and attached convenience store closed daily from 2 - 5 p.m. and by 9 each evening. The outdoor fire pit wasn't lit. We had 2 pre-schoolers with us and while they enjoyed the beach and indoor pool, there was no playground, activity area, or game room. Yet like many other nearby hotels, this one pads its rates with a $15 daily "resort fee." A public beach ramp adjacent to the hotel puts a lot of traffic on the hotel's beachfront. If you want to stay at a modest hotel in a residential neighborhood and don't mind packing in your own food and beverage from the Publix or eating at Denny's across the street, give this place a try. But ask for a room in the tower and be prepared for sticker shock . Not a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "tower" or new section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
5.7 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#7 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#16 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#21 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach / Ocean Walk Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED

Property: Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
Address: 2700 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3005
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Daytona Beach
#5 Green Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Daytona Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#35 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED 3*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily Closed Enjoy ultimate comfort and luxurious ocean front accommodation where every unit has a kitchenette at the Daytona Beach Resort. Once you arrive, choose between a dip in our white sandy beach or one of four resort pools. After a morning of swimming and sunbathing, relax in our spa or get a workout in our fitness center. Couples can enjoy an afternoon cocktail at our Reef Pool Bar while children catch waves and place their finishing touches on their sandcastles. Finish the perfect day with a great meal at our ocean front restaurant and head into a deep sleep while listening to the sounds of the waves. Whether you've come to our resort for the sand and the sun, or whether you've come here for an important conference or the wedding of loved ones, we're fully confident our Daytona Beach hotel will accommodate your vacation needs to the point of being unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Cancelon so you can book your Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center - TEMPORARILY CLOSED reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daytona Beach Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing