We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant”

Chucherias Hondurenas
Ranked #1 of 376 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We invite to explores Chef Mayra Rodriguez bring Daytona Beach a difference in traditional Latin and Spanish cooking. By combining modern techniques with fresh ingredients, Chef Mayra presents her personal recipes in Honduran food with finesse. Extend to our Spanish dishes such as Octopus directly from Spain and conch directly from the Honduran Bay Islands. While you dine in our Historic Market building from the 20's era, walk through our courtyard and listen to the best in contemporary Spanish guitar. Enjoy the open fire during the winter months! Buen provecho..
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

During our vacation we used trip advisor to guide us to places to eat. This was rated highly so we went. Definitely a place to try while you are in Daytona. It's a little ways off the main strip but definitely worth it. We had the octopus appetizer which honestly wasn't to our taste (the octopus itself) but we still ate it since the potatoes and vegetables were sauteed perfectly. I had the True Honduran (steak, plantains, rice, beans) and my girlfriend had tilapia/shrimp. Both were without flaw which to me in itself makes most restaurants worth eating in. The atmosphere is great and the night we were there a young man played acoustic guitar and it really added to the ambiance of the place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    63
    18
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at the new location, we were surprised. The place is very pretty, probably one of Daytona's nicest restaurants.
The food was great, i do wish they had a lunch menu. I cant spend $11-15 for lunch everyday.
But it was really tasty!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DMGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“" Could Not Resist "”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Another visit to this unique dinning experience that makes this trip better than before. The food is superb, the setting is cozy, the staff is so pleasant and attentive, it reminds me of the " day when."
Sometimes you find the just right place that fits your fancy. This is one of mine. Jaun sets the stage for a fine performance that makes you want to come back for the unusual and delightful treasures that are served for your pleasure. To insure your visit, come early or maybe a little later than the normal times. This is a busy place during the normal hours. Unique is the word, so if you like something different, come to the Chucherias Hondurenas.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food....service needs some work”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The FLAVORS of the food served here are REALLY GOOD! We happened to get a young server who appeared new. She barely knew the menu and some of the basic ingredients when asked. We had to ask her what the specials were etc... Bottom line, she wasn't ready to be on the floor serving be herself. If you're in a hurry....this is not the place. If you have 90 to 120 minutes to enjoy a great tasting meal of a different cuisine, you won't be disappointed.This was my second visit and Yes I will be back...this week in fact.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 04HarleyDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food! Beautiful location!!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This restaurant is located in a beautiful building and overlooks a very pretty courtyard. The stone walls and wood beam ceiling add to the very warm and inviting ambiance. I went for lunch with a few friends and we all agreed that we will return...very very soon!! The food is this restaurant's best quality. From the complimentary bowl of soup to start (we had a delicious lentil soup), to the entrees which are flavorful and plentiful, to the sweet little complimentary cookies at the end (did I mention they are filled with dulce de leche?)...the flavors and freshness came through...very authentic, mouthwatering, delightful. Just writing about it makes my mouth water! Two things prevented me from givin this restaurant an excellent rating - the service was very slow to start...we sat...and sat... and sat and were not greeted or acknowledged - that for me is a huge turn-off. Second negative, I was charged $28.00 more than my total amount on my bill so for a $14.91 total, my credit card company was charged $32.91. I called the restaurant and spoke to the manager and he told me it would be taken care of; and I hope it is...soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sonia34576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chucherias Hondurenas also viewed

 

Been to Chucherias Hondurenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing