We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but Bad Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The property is extremely well cared for and the staff working there are wonderful. I didn't like the location. There are homeless accross the street. The first night we arrived, we walked to Pizza Hut to get a pizza. On our way back, we were approached by one of the homeless for a piece of pizza. The park next door serves as their washroom. The other side of the property is what looks like an abandoned house and then an empty lot. Keys are needed to enter the property from the beach, enter the hotel from the pool area, enter the public restrooms by the lobby, enter the laundry rooms, enter the vending area, enter the excercise room and game room. Hopefully when the Hard Rock is built, the area will improve and the security can be brought down a notch. I was not comfortable in walking to the pier or boardwalk area. I wish this property the best because the staff and owners were very nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank happyportorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at Harbour Beach Resort in Daytona Beach. We have a fantastic location right on the beach, and we appreciate that you found our resort well cared for and the staff wonderful. For our guests' security, we do require that a key be used to access the building and other entry points. We hope to have you stay with us again when you are in Daytona Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 150 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

The staff was great. The ocean view was also great. We stayed at this property as a Westggate owner. We were very disappointed. The unit was very small, the door actually hit the bed upon entering. This should have been listed as a studio instead of a one bedroom villa. Having two bathrooms was nice but this unit does not compare to any other villa that we have visited and we have stayed in two other Westgate properties. I would not recommend this property for everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thanks for your review. We're glad that you found both our staff and the ocean view great. Our units are 450 sq. feet, which is larger than our studios, which are usually 300+ sq. feet. These units also come with a fully equipped kitchen, separate dining and living area and a private furnished balcony. For those who are looking for a great way to stay seaside in lovely Daytona Beach, this is a fantastic option. Each Westgate property is different and unique, and we are confident that you will enjoy your time at any one of our other properties.

Sincerely,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Rooms are old and need To be updated.
I asked for a late check out and it was denied. The staff rushed us out of the room with not enough time for 4 people to shower.
But overall we had a pleasant stay. Excellent view and access to beach and nice pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wejoust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and you enjoyed our resort amenities. Please accept our apologies if a member of our staff was less than courteous- this is not our standard. Guest feedback is vital, so that we can provide the best service we can. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us again, so that we can provide a greater experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Very clean great value for the money will be the place we every time we still in Daytona. Very nice pool area and hot tub. Rooms had a full kitchen with dish washer only thing you need is your food. Would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debharbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you for saying that our resort is of great value. We are happy that you were able to enjoy the resort amenities as well. We hope you had a wonderful time at the resort with your family. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was excited to rent this condo for a long weekend. The pictures and reviews on VRBO.com were very nice. When we arrived there somehow was no record of my reservation even though I paid in full. The property manager was very nice and found us a comparable room. The room however was small and everything inside looked old. It was noisy most of the day and night, people coming and going, doors slamming, the refrigerator made noise constantly and the halls smelled of cigarette smoke. We were only given one key to the room and a key was required for everything...entering the front lobby, entering the pool area, entering the beach, etc. With two small children and lots of beach stuff to carry this is VERY inconvenient. The part of town this "resort" is in is very run down and scary at night. Not very well lit. Everything fun to do is more than a mile away. Overall I was very disappointed in this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback! We strive to make your vacation a memorable one. Please know that although you had some challenges during your stay, we are always looking to make our guests stay better. Please revisit us in the future to see how we are working hard to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We love the location anything we needed they got for us always very nice. I just think they could do something about the parking. It's sad when you leave the resort to do something and come back and can't even park because they have no more spots. So you have to leave again and hope when u come back you will have a spot. It was VERY frustrating... With so little parking they should only allow one car per room. We go every year for the races and I would love to stay there again but because of the parking issues we will never go back. After the race we got back to the room at 1:30am and there were no parking spots. When you come in so late and can't park that really topped it off. We thought we would be able to go back to the room and rest before we headed home but because of no parking we just packed up and left for our 12hr ride home. Let's just say we were not happy at all.....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanclos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We apologize that you encountered issues during your stay with us. We want to assure you that we care about each of our guests and we do everything we can to accommodate them. If available, our employees would be glad to give you a ride on their golf cart. We appreciate your comments and look forward to exceeding your expectations on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

we stayed here for 2 weeks! The staff were very friendly and helpful! The rooms were very clean and comfy! The view is magnificent overlooking the pool and ocean! We loved the fact that it is secure, needing a key to get into the building, and out to the pool and beach.
We are coming back for sure!! Hated to leave. All the comforts of home! And the people we met who live there were very friendly as well. Right in the heart of things, short walk to the pier. Very quiet! we went may 13 -25.....deserted beach, perfect time to come there! Beautiful sunrises from our balcony! found lots of lovely shells on our sunrise walks on the beach! We will be back many times I'm sure!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niteangel41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to review Harbour Beach Resort. We appreciate your kind words on our staff and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your vacation. Once again, thank you for making us your home away from home and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#39 of 73 in Daytona Beach
292 reviews
1.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Regency
Daytona Beach Regency
#20 of 73 in Daytona Beach
456 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 73 in Daytona Beach
590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
1.1 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#21 of 73 in Daytona Beach
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Beach Resort

Address: 701 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4511 (Formerly Westgate Daytona Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $131 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Oceanfront Daytona Beach Resort The oceanfront Harbour Beach Resort in beautiful Daytona Beach, Florida, provides spacious villas and easy access to white-sand beaches, watersports, area attractions, championship golf courses and the world-famous Daytona Beach Speedway. Daytona Beach is also a short, one-hour drive to Orlando and its amazing theme parks, including Walt Disney World Resort, Universal Orlando Resort and SeaWorld Orlando. Vacationers have traveled to Daytona Beach for more than a century to enjoy the great year-round weather and Harbour Beach Resort is the perfect place for a resort getaway to "The World's Most Famous Beach." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Beach Hotel Daytona Beach
Harbour Beach Daytona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing