We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great potential....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harbour Beach Resort
Ranked #53 of 102 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Sharon Springs
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great potential....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

We have been Westgate owners for 15 years, and have seen this resort on the Westgate web page and always wondered about it. Its our understanding that about half of this resort is owned by Westgate and the other half is privately owned. We like to stop in Daytona Beach on our annual visit to Orlando, and decided to rent a couple of nights at the Harbour Beach Resort through Westgate at the onwer rate. We were pleasantly suprised with our stay and think this resort has excellent potential.

Our family travels to Florida 2-3 times per year and Daytona Beach is one of our favorite spots to stop for a few days of beach time. We have stayed at numerous beach front hotels in this area, and truthfully there are only a handful that we would revisit. This is one of the resorts we would probably consider returning to. The location is great, facility is pretty good and the price was right.

The things we liked:

The rooms are set up very nicely. You walk into the "master bedroom" which has a bathroom of its own. Having two bathrooms in a room that sleeps 4 is fabulous whether you are traveling with kids, teenagers or adult friends. There is a kitchen in between the master bedroom and a "living room" with a sofa sleeper. Its a nice set up because there is living space during the day when the couch is folded up. The kitchen is a bit bigger than a kitchenette and a tad smaller than a full kitchen. It does have everything you need in a kitchen though. A full refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, coffee maker, and is well stocked with utensils. There is a small table for dining as well. Its a bit of an older building, but it was pretty well taken care of. Its not the facility that a timeshare owner may be used to, but overall was a pleasant surprise.

Things we were less than excited about:

The view from the balcony is as good as any other ocen front hotel; however there is no privacy whatsoever on the balcony. When you walk out of the room you are literally sitting next to the neighbor and can probably tell what they had for breakfast. Some lattice between the rooms would probably make it just private enough to be cozy.

There isa very obvious effort towards security of the facility by resort management. Each room is issued two keys for use of facilities; which you must protect with your life or pay a $35 replacement fee if one is lost. The entrance to and from the lobby to the pool area, the lobby bathrooms, the excercise and game room, and entrance from the beach to the pool area are all locked and a key is needed for access. We had two rooms for our stay with 4 people in one room and 3 in the other. Trying to juggle the facility keys was a complete inconvenience. If Westgate/Harbour remain committed to securing the facility in this way they may want to consider swipe card access for the facility use keys as well. That way they can issue unlimited card keys to their guests. Just a suggestion.

Another annoyance was the parking. Management was clearly having difficulty with non guest parking. They were constantly issuing warnings to guests about properly displaying their parking pass or they would be towed. I know I went to my car several times just to make sure the parking pass hadn't blown out or fell on the floor. Despite all of their efforts, we came back one evening after a trip to the airport for one of our party members, and there was not a parking place left in the resort. I had to park next door and risk being towed. Parking is a problem everywhere on the beach though and not just Harbour Beach Resort. I would suggest that they get some actual parking passes that hang from a mirror rather than a piece of paper that sits in the dash. I know it would have saved me a few trips to the car to double check.

Overall, this is a hotel we will probably try again. The area is close enough to walk to the boardwalk. The rooms are set up perfect for an extended stay at the beach- better than a simple hotel room. The staff was friendly and the room was secure. The shape of the facility is not impeccable, but pretty good for beach front property that usually gets the wear and tear of the Ocean air. Pleasantly suprised is a good definition of our impression of this resort. We think it has great potential and we are interested to see if Westgate has any future plans for this resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    55
    22
    15
    25
See reviews for
43
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Legau, Bayern
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at the Harbour Beach Resort (the best little Condo's) in Unit 416. Its a nice, clean 1 Bedroom Apartment, with Livingroom, Kitchenette and Bathroom. Enough space for at least 2 People. We've been there for 4 days of Bike Week and its the perfect location. Very Close to Main Street and the Pier (walking distance). There's a breathtaking view to the ocean and we like it to sit at the balcony and listen to the waves and watching cars drive up and down the beach. Even if you go to Daytona not for Bike Week, we can highly recommend this unit. Bill (the owner or manager of the unit) was very helpful and assisting by mail in everything. We would book this location again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiLegau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken the time to make the resort an even better destination for our guests and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

This is not an upscale pricy hotel, but if you are on a budget and want a clean condo style hotel room with a beautiful view, great pool/jacuzzi...this is the place. There are lots of dumps in the Daytona Beach area. This one is clean (depending on which condo you get since many are privately owned).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familystay10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We have updated our resort since you last came and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We (my wife & I) stayed at the Westgate / Harbour Beach in Daytona FL on Bike Week (March 10-16) and we had a great time during our stay. But this facility is about as average as you can get. Nothing horribly wrong with it but nothing terribly exciting about it either. For us, we traded some timeshare points to get closer to Main St without breaking the bank and this certainly fit that bill. All the rooms look mostly the same - front faces Atlantic Ave and the rear has a balcony facing the ocean. Rooms are narrow and the bedroom part was closest to the street. On Bike Week that means lots of louder MC's but for us that was ok. For others that may be a problem. There is a bar but no restaurant. Front door is unmanned and closes at 5-6PM - you will need the pool key to access the building. I have stayed at other Westgate locations and this is the low end of their offerings. Still for what it was, it was clean, uneventful (at the hotel) and got exactly what we thought it would be. For Bike Week we would go back again - if on regular vacation, I would want to upgrade. FYI - we did have free wifi service at Westgate.

Room Tip: all the rooms look the same or at least the ones I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edtompkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are smaller than other Westgate resorts, however, the beauty of our direct oceanfront views and sunrises make up for the lack of space in the rooms. There has been talk of adding a food menu to the bar and this could be a reality as early as next year. Our resort is laid back and we do not have events or activities, but many of our guests appreciate the quietness and peacefulness they find here at Harbour Beach Resort. Because our location is so conveniently close to Main Street, motorcycle sounds may be heard during Bike Week. Our resort does not typically get complaints of loud street noise. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Mountain, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Admittedly with some reservations we booked a 3 day long weekend through VRBO at the Harbour Beach Resort. We had seen mixed reviews but also noted that many were from Westgate owners who were use to elegant properties such as found in the Orlando/Disney area and were disappointed by comparison. Most of the units in this complex are privately owned so reviews will be proportional to how well the unit is appointed and maintained. The building and amenities themselves are exceptionally nice with a fantastic, extra large heated pool (that is heated to 83 degrees) as well as a extra large hot tub that I was told is heated to 105 degrees.(I can believe it as it was fantastic) In addition there is a well equipped spa. I was able to access their WiFi from the 6th floor. I was told that as of Nov 2011 their WiFi access will be upgraded to give access to all floors within the building. Cable TV was very good as well. We stayed in a 6th floor, 1 bedroom unit with a direct ocean front balcony. It was very spacious. The views were fantastic. Right next door is a FREE water park and play ground for the kids along with bathroom facilities. We were only a short walk to the center of the DB action as well as pier. We were so pleased with our accommodations and happy that we did not let some negative reviews scare us away. Just be sure to read the individual reviews for the units you have an interest in on their VRBO listing. Look at the pictures and possibly question the owners to insure you feel confident the unit will be up to your expectations and meet your needs. The Harbour Beach complex has recently been completely remolded and is exceptionally nice. We also found it very secure and the staff very giving of their time and information should you need help or questions answered. Not a 5 star but a clean and very nice place to enjoy the ocean front as well as amenities at a reasonable price for the budget minded.

Room Tip: Book rooms above floor level for the fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WR M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. It is fantastic that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have taken the time to make the resort an even better destination for our guests and hope to see you again!

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We booked our trip thru VRBO, and the owner was very pleasant to deal with.

Our Room contained a Double Bed, and a fold out couch. The room was small but well organized. Our children are very small, so we had room for one to sleep on the sofa bed, and the other in our pack in play. Being a budget the price was very reasonable for what we received, as we were not looking for something fancy just something functional.

The Pool is quite spacious and was very enjoyable to use. The SPA was well maintained and served its purpose as well. The best place about this property is all rooms are ocean front. Beautiful view from the balcony.

Negatives: Wi-Fi only works in lobby. Parking is a big tight. Nothing other than Pool/ SPA on property. If your needs are minimal, and you are a on a budget this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Check VRBO for better rates than what is offered on Hotel Site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tigerinatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2015
We appreciate your review! We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

The view is wonderful and the people were very kind and that is where the good parts end. No maidservice, No wi/fi (Lobby only and that was very poor) very small balcony and people right next door could step right over the low railing and be in your room very easy. Clean towels only on wednesday and only at certain times. No way two people can pass in this place! When you walk into the room the first thing you do is fall over the bed and then slide between the kitchen sink and the table that seats 3. The 4th person has to eat by themselves at a very small table by the tv. As a westgate owner I was so mad, they only have this one floor plan for Westgate Owners! You would think with not one, but TWO resorts in this place that it should be the top of the line! I have stayed in motels that were bigger and nicer than this! Westgate should be very ashamed of themselves! I bet the top dogs and directers of westgate do not stay there! I would like to see the man that sold us our vacation stay in this place! really?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2015
We appreciate your review! We have renovated our property since you last visited and welcome you back to see what we have improved on.

Best regards,
Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Daytona Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Fountain Beach Resort
Fountain Beach Resort
#49 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
Daytona Inn Beach Resort
#73 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#31 of 102 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#20 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#6 of 102 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Beach Resort

Property: Harbour Beach Resort
Address: 701 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4511 (Formerly Westgate Daytona Beach)
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Oceanfront Daytona Beach Resort The oceanfront Harbour Beach Resort in beautiful Daytona Beach, Florida, provides spacious villas and easy access to white-sand beaches, watersports, area attractions, championship golf courses and the world-famous Daytona Beach Speedway. Daytona Beach is also a short, one-hour drive to Orlando and its amazing theme parks, including Walt Disney World Resort, Universal Orlando Resort and SeaWorld Orlando. Vacationers have traveled to Daytona Beach for more than a century to enjoy the great year-round weather and Harbour Beach Resort is the perfect place for a resort getaway to "The World's Most Famous Beach." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Harbour Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Beach Hotel Daytona Beach
Harbour Beach Daytona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing