We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, dirty, and dismal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #77 of 103 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Orlando,FL
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Dated, dirty, and dismal”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

To say this hotel is in need of some TLC would be like saying a person suffering a gunshot wound could use a couple of aspirin. Booked late for a trip to the 24 Hours of Daytona, chose it because of availability and price....i now know why it was cheap and available.....honestly, I can't think of any possible way to recommend this hotel, except maybe location. It's on the beach, close to Oceanwalk amenities, but you might be better off sleeping in your car in the pay garage across from the Hilton. I've stayed in some sketchy properties before, but this is memorable for just how rundown it is. A shame, actually, given the location, but as it is, avoid it regardless of the price.

Room Tip: You can't find a good room at this hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosebrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear valued guest,

I'm glad you were able to stay with us and get an affordable rate. I'm sorry that our hotel was not to your liking. Yes, we are an older property in need of some cosmetic resurfacing and are a bit outdated. We are working to improve our hotel. We have a wonderful housekeeping staff that generally presents a fresh and clean room allowing our guests to be comfortable and at ease. I'm happy you enjoyed the location as we are in the heart of Daytona Beach. I thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate feedback to better serve our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    136
    140
    88
    120
See reviews for
246
147
47
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
butler
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few days during the off season and then on our last night we pulled back the sheets only to see a bed bug. The front desk then switched us to another room and there was a cockroach on the wall. We immediately left the hotel and would never stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawn n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear valued guest,

I thank you for your stay with us. I was sorry to hear on your last night you encountered bugs. After conversing with Orkin, they relayed that there was not a bed bug issue. In the second room, the bug was found to be a palmetto bug. They are native to Florida and do not infest. Sometimes, they find their way into hotel rooms in Florida. I can understand your concern for insects. The staff at Conch House has no tolerance for them as well, which is why we contract the best pest control company available. On your next return trip to Daytona, we sincerely hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We went there for one night and couldn't stay there for longer. When we arrived at the hotel the front desk was nice, but they just didnt know what they were doing. They gave us the wrong password for internet and they didn't even realize it until someone came from the back room and correct them...it took more than 30 mins. The room was smelling like bleach and the room was very dirty as there were sand everywhere. there were blood in the toilet and there's no extraction in the bathroom so it was really hard to breath when you are taking a hot bath or shower. Though, the location is really nice. close to everywhere you need to go. and just a few steps from the beach. very basic place...if you have low budget that mind not be a bad choice. fyi, the internet is very very slow....you can barely use it. so I would they there's no internet.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lira s, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear valued guest,

I thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry that you had unpleasant issues during your stay. As we strive for cleanliness, you should not have had a sandy room or one that wasn't sanitized. I do apologize for the overpowering bleach smell. The room should have had time to air out before being rented. The internet is now fully functional and isn't lagging. We understand how very important it is to be able to access the internet when traveling so we provide free wi fi for all of our guests. I am glad you enjoyed our location as we are walking distance to various restaurants and entertainment. On your next trip to Daytona, we would love for a return visit and a chance to give you the stay you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I went there bout a yr ago with my boyfriends parents for the Bethune Cookman homecoming. The front desk was area was nice and welcoming and so was the lady who greeted us but the room....whole different story. Tub had brown rust stains, the room had a funny smell, the tv had the staticy noise every time you'd turn it on and the lights were dim all the time. But we were 5secs from the beach which was a plus. But one last thing i hated was the noise of the planes and the drunk teenagers, couldnt rest at all. So an ok hotel for the price.

Room Tip: Try not to get one thats right at the corner of the parking lot. Try to get one behind it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessNess2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConchGM, General Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for returning to the Conch House this year, I am sorry that there were items regarding your stay that were unsatisfactory. I am happy to hear that my staff took care of you with the level of customer service we strive every day to provide, and hope that you still chose to stay with again next year when you come to Daytona. We do our best to ensure everyone's stay is comfortable and we take all reviews good and bad very seriously. We thank you for letting us know what we need to improve upon, and will work to make that happen. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I travel quite a lot each year. I was needing to spend just one night on the daytona beach A1A area. I found a great rate at this hotel (the Conch house) for 39.95 a night through a hotel coupon book offered at the Florida Welcome Center. I called at 11:45 for availability and the phone rang busy from that time till 730am Friday morning. When I got there, they had availability and even upgraded me for free to a double queen ocean view room. The receptionist was younger, well knowledgable , and very pleasant.
The elevators were out for quite some time (rusted in many spots), and the stairways had quite abit of dirt, ciggarette butts, etc. As I entered the floor... I noticed a horrible stench that lasted the entire trip. Some rooms didnt have room numbers on the front of the doors. When I found my room, and walked in, I noticed the door was not secure, there were ciggarette burns in the comforter on the bed, the phone was dead air (which i had to call the front desk twice and told them about the phone.. they did nothing about it.), the balconey railing was wobbly with extremely dirty chairs, and the carpet.. oh my the carpet was beyond filthy! The rooms were not clean, just wiped over. And through out my 24hour stay, there were 2 housekeepers that spent a lot of time on their cell phones talking loudly in the next room. There was some outlets that didnt work at all as well. I dont feel that the rate of this hotel should be what it is... It needs closed down and remodeled then open again. I will never stay there ever again and I will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Honestly, the only tip I have is to go on www.hotels.com or www.tripadvisor.com and read reviews...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cweekly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
We have just reopened as a Super 8 and took over by new management within the last year. All of our rooms are remodeled. We hope you decide to try our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luray, Virginia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

i enjoyed my couple of days here at this motel. the rooms were very pretty and loved the huge pool. the staff was very kind and helpful to me. very nice motel.

Room Tip: get an upper floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MALCOLMSMOMLuray_va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
We have just reopened as a Super 8 and took over by new management within the last year. All of our rooms are remodeled. We hope you decide to try our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The location of the hotel is excellent, the beach is on your doorstep, so are various clubs, bars and eating establishments. During Biketoberfest you do not have far to get to Main St. where much of the action happens.

I agree with other people that the room I stayed in and hotel is a little tired, but that is far outweighed by the cleanliness and excellent room service. The staff are very accomodating to all my needs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda W, Front Office Manager at Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, September 6, 2014
We have just reopened as a Super 8 and took over by new management within the last year. All of our rooms are remodeled. We hope you decide to try our hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabreeze
Best Western Daytona Inn Seabree...
#23 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
3.4 mi away
Super 8 Daytona Beach
Super 8 Daytona Beach
#48 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Dayto...
#17 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
Econo Lodge Oceanfront
#85 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
1.0 mi away
Roomba Inn & Suites
Roomba Inn & Suites
#45 of 103 in Daytona Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfront Daytona Beach
La Quinta Inn & Suites Oceanfron...
#31 of 103 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront

Property: Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront
Address: 700 N Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-3805 (Formerly Conch House)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the heart of the action at our 100% non-smoking Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront hotel, right on the sparkling beach and blocks from great restaurants, bars, live entertainment and the games and rides of the boardwalk. Our beachfront hotel is also minutes from family-friendly fun like the water rides at Daytona Lagoon. Keep up with family, friends and business on the go with our free Wi-Fi Internet, and soak up the sun in our outdoor pool. Our comfortable rooms feature 39 inch LED flat-screen TVs, ergonomic chairs, guest-controlled heating and cooling and free local calls. Accessible rooms and free parking for one car, per room are also available at our Daytona hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Super 8 Daytona Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conch House Hotel Daytona Beach
Conch Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing