We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place, very welcoming”

Don Vito's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 379 Restaurants in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Family owned and operated, Don Vito's Italian Restaurant is a fantastic establishment that utilizes traditional recipes and comfortable surroundings to provide patrons with, "A Meal YOU Can't Refuse". Using fifth generation recipes passed down from their grandmothers in the kitchen, the owners sons prepare authentic Italian dishes ranging from all of your favorites to some unique creations that you may not have experienced previously, including PIZZA. All of this is served up in a comfortable dining room with black booths, and a number of pieces of Italian art and movie photos on the wall. Located in the quaint Beach Street area directly on International Speedway Blvd. And across the bridge from the beach, Don Vito's is a must-visit Italian restaurant in Daytona for dine in, take out or catering!
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We decided to try Don Vito based on the trip advisor reviews, and we weren't disappointed. My husband and I shared a portion of garlic knots (delicious) and a margarita pizza. The pizza was huge, we took it home and finished it for lunch the next day! The staff were fantastic - very very friendly without being intrusive or over the top, and quick to refill drinks etc.

We went on a Tuesday night, so it was pretty quiet, but still half a dozen tables in, and the owner/chef made time to talk to all the tables. The pasta dishes the other tables had smelt delicious! I would definite, give this place a try - fab all round!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eight_eight_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,044)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,509 - 1,513 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Saw it as the No. 1 restaurant in Daytona and had to try it. No. 1 may be stretching it a bit, but it was very good. Our group had eggplant parm, chicken parm and shrimp scampi. All were excellent. Garlic knots were an excellent starter. The service was prompt. The music blasting was a little too much. All in all, we now know where to go in Daytona for very good Italian.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank GAHighRoller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Enough food for two dinners. Salad and bread was good. Service with a smile and she was helpful in selecting a house specialty.

Thank WWCSeaview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We decided to take our family here after graduation for dinner. The main reason being it was so highly ranked! We were extremely disappointed. The food tasted like it was bought at a grocery store and heated. Our family is from NY, so was excited for good Italian food...this was far from it!

The food was the worst part of the experience. The staff was great: personable, funny, and attentive. But the food was very mediocre, as was the atmosphere. Also, prices were just ok...each meal was around $15-23ish.

Zappi's Italian Garden around the corner was a zillion times nicer, cheaper, and GREAT food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
12  Thank lmt_wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donvitos, Owner at Don Vito's Italian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

My Dearest LMT WOLF – [Does lmt stand for limited?] It seems like you’ve been a busy little beaver. Your #15 reviews, which appear to have taken place in a little over one month, span from Rome Italy to Daytona Beach, FL. While we defend your right to express your view of an experience in our restaurant, we don’t think you have a right to make recommendations for other restaurants on a page that has been set aside for us BUT, it’s certainly a good way to get others attention. Most restaurants have a page of their own and that is where your words should be written. I’m sure all restaurateurs believe they’re the best. We and the majority of Tripadvisor followers think we’re the best. Perhaps you’re exhausted from your extensive travel and your taste buds are dead and your fingers are swollen from so many reviews? Being from NY does not automatically make you a food critic to be reckoned with. We’re from NY too and think we know, and our followers will know bogus when they see it. It seems to us that you had no intention of being informative and the words you use are meant to hurt and disparage without any real substance. When you’re rated #1 there are always going to be people looking to practice their reviewer skills to try and put you down because their words are the only ones that really count. Your EXTREME DISSAPOINTMENT is not consistent with what others have found and we think the real reason has something to do with the free Cannoli we provided to the graduating member of your group which is our usual practice and awarded to celebrants. We do not provide free for an entire group, which the matriarch of the group was asking for? Demanding? We also would not accept your offer for a great review in exchange for free Tiramisu so I guess this is the result. Perhaps there are other restaurants which are willing to provide more free items to your group than we are but, we don’t and won’t play those games. Perhaps you wanted an extra crawfish at Emeril’s in New Orleans when you panned that one too? Your other comments about the taste of our food being the WORST PART OF THE EXPERIENCE, VERY MEDIOCRE and REHEATED GROCERY STORE FOOD with the cost being as high as $23 ish are meant to be misleading and provide a vehicle for you to steer people to other places because YOU and only YOU know great food. Unbelievable!!! For clarification and on average, the meals your group had were $13.95. ONLY ONE ITEM in our entire restaurant is $23 ish and it’s loaded with shrimp, Calamari, Mussels, and Clams and Pasta and homemade Italian Bread, [Getting Hungry}. No one in your group had that item. Have you ever heard the words integrity AND ethical? To sum it up your group devoured the VERY MEDIOCRE REHEATED GROCERY STORE FOOD. They sat for over two hours in the VERY MEDIOCRE ATMOSPHERE AND SEEMINGLY HAD A GREAT TIME. While we’re glad you enjoyed the staff WE THINK those comments were provided only to hide and embellish your distasteful comments. Very slick!! WELL Mz or Mr Lmt Wolf, you won’t be getting any more mediocre food or atmosphere at Don Vito’s. I guess you’ll have to go elsewhere where it’s a Zillion times nicer and cheaper. To Paraphrase the title of your review, you are not our #1 customer by far. Oh by the way the highlight of our disappointment came when we noted your review of Emeril Lagasse’s restaurant in New Orleans. You stated you went to another restaurant nearby,[named it], and found it to be a MILLION times better. In our case you stated you located one in Daytona Beach a ZILLION times better. Can you imagine our extreme disappointment? Oh well, somehow we’ll have to go on. As for you wolf man [or mz], No more mediocre anything at Don Vito’s for you. You are banned for life unless you plead like you did for the Free Tiramisu and extra cannoli’s. Make an appointment to state your plea and we’ll try and fit you in, but we’re very, very busy making all that mediocre food, despite your delightful review. The wait for your plea could be over a year?? We try to find a little humor in all we do but, we take all reviews very seriously as this is our family and our business. Everyone is responsible for what they say and do so think!! In any event Wolfie, Go gobble in peace with your wolf pack and May the force be with you. Perky Barbara, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited Don Vito's last week (April 27th) while visiting Daytona Beach. We chose DV's because of ratings on Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. Being half italian myself, I'm pretty picky when it comes to Italian food... as it never seems to compare. I ordered eggplant parm with white sauce instead of red. I swear that was the very best alfredo sauce I have ever eaten! We ordered cheese pizza for the kiddos, which had a thin crispy crust... perfect! My mom and husband were very satisfied with their meals too. We look forward to our next visit to Daytona Beach and Don Vito's!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Vito's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Don Vito's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing