We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catalina Beach Club
Ranked #35 of 73 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our first time at the Catalina and it was absolutely wonderful. We bought a unit on the 5th floor from a friend who's family has been going there for over 20 years and they love it. (friend is trying to buy a 2 or 3 bedroom) Our room is a one bedroom 2 bath very nice. We did have a problem with the AC but they were right there to solve the problem. This can happen anywhere and it did not ruin our vacation. They gave us another room to sleep in while they fixed the problem. We hope to have many more wonderful years there. Security was great. We set on our balcony as late as 2:00 am and felt safe. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pool was wonderful. What we like about the pool was you were allowed to bring your floats/noodles in the pool. Just one big happy family. We usually get bored and want to leave the beach early but not this time. It was so sad to have to leave on Sat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BonnieConnie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Catalina Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 57 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

After reading the reviews I was very worried about having a first floor room. All the complaints about no beach view and such. We were in a room on the first floor just off the pool and loved it! All the regular time share owners were very pleasant and nice to be around. We walked out our door and onto the pool deck. We could sit on our little patio and watch our kids in the pool. The beach less than 50 yards away.
The rooms were great. We are timeshare owners and trade ours in all the time to travel to other places. These are some of the best rooms we've been in.
Staff was courteous and kept the place up well.
YOUR ON THE OCEAN. It's great!

Room Tip: I'm sure upper level rooms offer a great view of the ocean but we loved the ground floor off the...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have been staying at the Catalina Beach Club for a week every year since about 1984. It is not a huge facility, like many of the places on Daytona Beach, but the staff is friendly and competent and pleasant activities are available if you want to take advantage of them. The units are mostly small, although there are a few larger ones. Ours is a 1-bedroom, 2-bath unit with kitchen (also small). BUT -- it is directly on the ocean, and the pool is good (although the pool heater was inoperative the first week in January). Local and long-distance phone service is free (US, Canada, PR, and some other places) and I'd rate the Internet service excellent. There is wireless Internet, and tg=he units have wired outlets too.

There is some "pressure" to do a timeshare presentation (not for this particular facility, however) and they promist a "gift card" if you accept the invitation. The amount gets larger toward the end of the week, if you decline! There are good restaurants within easy driving distance, and a couple of (IMHO) so-so restaurants within a short walk.

The Catalina is not as luxurious as some of the larger time-shares, but the friendliness of the staff and the pleasant atmosphere makes up for it. Well, OK, I admit I am biased -- I just like the place.

Room Tip: There is parking on the street side of the building as well as on the ocean side. I prefer the stre...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JimS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This resort is a time-share, so the amenities are somewhat limited. The front desk is closed after 5 every day except Saturday. The pool area is small and without trees. The rooms are spacious, the beds comfortable, the pillows however, were not very good. The kitchen has enough pots, pans and utensils to make basic meals. The rooms were clean and everything was in working order.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms do not feel secure.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BookishBeachGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I almost passed this place over due to one horrible review on this site. But being practical, I figured if it really was bad there would be more than one low score. Thank goodness I booked here anyway. I loved it!
The setting was fantastic and the staff extremely friendly, helpful and not too pushy on the timeshare inquiries. All rooms are on the ocean front. We were on the 3rd floor with a double balcony and two sliders onto it. Full fridge was great, as there are great fish and meat markets in the area. The sound of the surf was loud and very welcome to New Englanders in December. We slept with both sliders wide open every night. Two nice ceiling fans as well. The dampness of the surf did come in with the wind and made the tile floors a little slippery when wearing sneakers, but no prob, we just went barefoot when inside. The place was absolutely SPOTLESS when we arrived, which more than made up for the older furniture and decor. The only thing I wish were different is that they remove the buoys across the middle of the pool so people could swim laps. The pool is fairly deep even at the lesser end, so little kids would use their own pool and not the full sized one. A very memorable week for us. We will want to go again for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauriew333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had read some reviews before leaving home and was a bit sceptical.
Overall though, it was OK. The 2 bed apartment was big and had all the facilities you need. It was clean although not to my standards - dirty skirting boards leave me cold, but otherwise they provided everything you need for self catering ............and there were 3 flat screen TVs which made the 'boys' very happy!
The balcony's are narrow but the views over the ocean are terrific.
All in all, it was a good base for us but if we ever went to Daytona Beach again would probably choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't get the ground (or 1st floor) as they call it - you face the car park
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

CBC is a little older and with fewer rooms than the new resorts, thus is ideal for adults. Right on the beach, nice pool, bbq grill area, game room, fitness room and free DVD rental. Room was very clean and well equipped and had 2 towel exchanges a week. Limited activities. Staff was very courteous and friendly. All balconies face the beach, but first floor all you can see is the pool or parking lot. We were on the 5th floor and the view was great. Bring sandals to wear in the room, with so much fine sand you just cannot keep the floor clean. The very wide and nice beach is the attraction here.

Room Tip: Stay above ferst floor to have a view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas57598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Nautilus Inn
Nautilus Inn
#4 of 73 in Daytona Beach
587 reviews
4.2 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
1.4 mi away
Hilton Daytona Beach Oceanfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#11 of 73 in Daytona Beach
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Beach Club

Address: 1303 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118-4886
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range: $394 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalina Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp so you can book your Catalina Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Beach Club Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing