We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring”
Review of Mary Bethune Home

Mary Bethune Home
Ranked #23 of 117 things to do in Daytona Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune is located on the campus of Bethune-Cookman University, which she founded in 1904. Formerly known as "The Retreat," her home is now known as the Bethune Foundation and features precious pieces including her original library, furniture, photos and family heirlooms. Visitors who came during Dr. Bethune's time include Langston Hughes (Harlem Renaissance writer), Jackie Robinson (baseball legend) and First Lady Eleanor Roosevelt. Come walk in the steps of the presidential advisor, international civil rights activist and college president!
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
“Inspiring”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I was vey inspired at all the great works and accomplishment of such a wonderful Lady.
The home was a great look into her life and family, with numerous memoriabilia and photos of people she touch or touched her.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Director/Curator at Mary Bethune Home, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for visiting the Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation. Dr. Robinson our Curator appreciates you attending the Foundation as well as your family. All the best.
Sincerely,
Carolyn Sanders-James
Volunteer Staff Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    7
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“College road trip”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a beautiful college for up coming young men and women who want to know their history as well as excell in their future.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Arnetta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Director/Curator at Mary Bethune Home, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
The Curator along with the staff appreciate you visiting Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation. Please feel free to visit us again,
Sincerely,
Carolyn Sanders-James
Volunteer Staff Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mary's House”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I took my 5yr grand daughter she and I both enjoyed the tour. The tour guide knew sooooo much of the history of Mary Bethune. I would recommend to everyone go get a Great History lesson!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Director/Curator at Mary Bethune Home, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for visiting Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation. Our Curator, Dr. Robinson appreciate you taking the time out to visit us.
Sincerely,
Carolyn Sanders-James
Volunteer Staff Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

very well kept it was nice to see that it is being taken good care of..

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley R, Director/Curator at Mary Bethune Home, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time out to visit Dr. Mary McLeod Bethune Foundation. Our Curator, Dr. Robinson is always excited to see new visitors as well as regulars.
Sincerely,
Carolyn Sanders-James
Volunteer Staff Member
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary Bethune Home also viewed

 

Been to Mary Bethune Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing