We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unwanted pest joined us”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarafuku Japanese Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tarafuku Japanese Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Restaurant details
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unwanted pest joined us”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We just got done with our dinner (which wasn't that great) when my husband said watch out there is a roach. Yes right on the table next to my plate was a German roach. Well I will not return to this restaurant again. They need to clean up there place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Katlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Sashimi, salad, appetizer & miso soup”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a Japanese restaurant as my husband loves sashimi. We chose this one based on recommendations in TripAdvisor.
We were the only diners on a Sunday evening. The restaurant is very up to date, pleasant and clean. The staff was very nice but brought the almost all at once instead of spacing it out. We were a bit overwhelmed with too much food at once.
We shared steak appetizer that had very thinly sliced rare beef and a delicious dipping sauce - very good! My husband had the sashimi dinner and thought it very good. I ordered the mixed tempura (fish, 1 shrimp & generous amount of vegetables). The salad and miso soup were excellent but tempura batter was not great. Next time we visit Daytona Beach will try a different Japanese restaurant to compare.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I've been going to Tarafuku for quite some time now and I have not had a bad dish here. Truly authentic food (the head Sushi Chef is from Tokyo) and it stands out as one of the better places in the Daytona area for Japanese food.

Portions are large for the cost. My wife and I usually make a meal out of their excellent Miso Soup, a couple of Sushi rolls (usually the Spicy Scallop and the Shrimp Tempura), and a large fried rice to share between us. Total cost is less than $15 for everything.

Give the place a try, even if they are a bit difficult to find (wedged in a little strip mall) and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Connecticut
Level Contributor
265 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Give it a Chance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Unfortunately its location is very misleading. Apparently its been there since 2008 but we just found it this Christmas.
This is a Japanese restaurant, not a chinese restaurant serving sushi as a side deal. This is about as authentic as it gets. Good selection and prices are reasonable.
All the appetizers were great, but a little on the small size. Howeer, most of them are only 5-6 dollars so taking that into consideration they are a good deal.
Had several of the standard sushi rolls, but the specials were where it was at. Soft shell crab roll was phenomanal. Never had anything like this before and cant say enought about it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Oakdale29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

Amazing food, truly authentic Japanese! I recommend the beef tataki it's a great appetizer or light dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarafuku Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing