We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy day fun museum.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences

MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences
352 South Nova Road, Daytona Beach, FL 32114
13862550285
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Arts & Sciences (MOAS) is the primary art, science and history museum in Central Florida. The area's largest museum, MOAS is nationally accredited by the American Alliance of Museums and is a Smithsonian Institution Affiliate. Located on a 90-acre Florida nature preserve, the 100,000 square foot facility is host to over 30,000 objects including the Dow Gallery of American Art, one of the finest collections of American art in the Southeast, the Schulte Gallery of Chinese Art, the Bouchelle Collection and Gallery of Decorative Arts, the largest and most comprehensive collection in the South, and the Root Family Museum featuring restored railroad cars, antique automobiles and the largest collection of Coca-Cola(R) memorabilia in Florida. The Helene B. Roberson Visible Storage Building exhibits thousands of objects from many donors which are owned by the Museum, while the Linda and Williams Children's Museum presents an interactive experience for children. A new state-of-the-art planetarium and the Cici and Hyatt Brown Museum of Art showcasing the largest collection of Florida-based art in the world, rounds out areas to explore inside the Museum of Arts & Sciences. The Museum's new West Wing will open to the public on October 30, 2015. The West Wing contains the Gillespy Gallery of Sub-Saharan African artifacts, the Cuban Foundation Museum showcasing one of the most significant collections of Cuban paintings in the United States, and a prehistory of Florida gallery, featuring Florida's Giant Ground Sloth skeleton.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Rainy day fun museum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Museum of Arts and Science is a great place to go in Daytona Beach. When we went to it the first time I wasn't expecting much and was pleasantly surprised. The exhibits for adults are so interesting and they have a planetarium. If you have children don't miss it. There is a giant sloth, a hands on section for the children that is so much fun, a make believe pizza parlor (my grandsons favorite) and don't miss the stringless harp.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Floridalynn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
MikeRomeo321
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Variety of Collections=Interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A Sunday afternoon visit--thought the place was closed. Looks it from the main street. Drove around back to the parking and entry. Greeted by two very nice staff workers. 50% off Military Discount, nice surprise. Toured the entire exhibit and maybe saw three other visitors. What a collection! I wasn't even aware of this place. Quickly read some Tripadvisor reviews prior to going so I knew the place was OK-enough. I really was surprised. After a couple minutes into the the tour I had to find out Who were the "Dows" and Who were the "Roots"? because this museum is mostly "their stuff"! We did not go into the Children's Museum and we did not tour the outside nature preserve. The planetarium was not open. We will go again and bring our teens...they'll like it. (oh, the guy said military are FREE after Memorial Day)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeRomeo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great getaway for poor weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

So this was a 5 all the way for me but a 3 for my wife. The kids loved the childrens museum and I was fascinated with the CocaCola history and the entire portion dealing with the Root family. The vast array of different items within this museum is a bit chaotic, but by having so many different items it guarantees that everyone will find something of interest. Go.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Babybluebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Must to SEE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What an array of collections! We started with the Planetarium show. WOW...this was fun, informative and took only about 20 minutes. This museum has delights for all. Especially enjoyed the Root Family area with vintage automobiles, restored railroad cars and Coca-Cola memorabilia.The preserved 13 foot tall skeleton of the giant ground sloth would be interesting to all ages. The Dow Gallery of American Art was one of our favorites too. Since this museum is self-guided you can go fast through rooms that you aren't interested in. The gift shop was just ok and could be improved with more items and books. One of our most favorite attractions of Daytona Beach!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BYI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I enjoyed the permanent collection. Loved the visible storage area, I just wish there were more information about these pieces. Great Cuban exhibit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences also viewed

 

Been to MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing