We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must to SEE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences

MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences
352 South Nova Road, Daytona Beach, FL 32114
13862550285
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Museum of Arts & Sciences (MOAS) is the primary art, science and history museum in Central Florida. The area's largest museum, MOAS is nationally accredited by the American Alliance of Museums and is a Smithsonian Institution Affiliate. Located on a 90-acre Florida nature preserve, the 100,000 square foot facility is host to over 30,000 objects including the Dow Gallery of American Art, one of the finest collections of American art in the Southeast, the Schulte Gallery of Chinese Art, the Bouchelle Collection and Gallery of Decorative Arts, the largest and most comprehensive collection in the South, and the Root Family Museum featuring restored railroad cars, antique automobiles and the largest collection of Coca-Cola(R) memorabilia in Florida. The Helene B. Roberson Visible Storage Building exhibits thousands of objects from many donors which are owned by the Museum, while the Linda and Williams Children's Museum presents an interactive experience for children. A new state-of-the-art planetarium and the Cici and Hyatt Brown Museum of Art showcasing the largest collection of Florida-based art in the world, rounds out areas to explore inside the Museum of Arts & Sciences. The Museum's new West Wing will open to the public on October 30, 2015. The West Wing contains the Gillespy Gallery of Sub-Saharan African artifacts, the Cuban Foundation Museum showcasing one of the most significant collections of Cuban paintings in the United States, and a prehistory of Florida gallery, featuring Florida's Giant Ground Sloth skeleton.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Must to SEE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What an array of collections! We started with the Planetarium show. WOW...this was fun, informative and took only about 20 minutes. This museum has delights for all. Especially enjoyed the Root Family area with vintage automobiles, restored railroad cars and Coca-Cola memorabilia.The preserved 13 foot tall skeleton of the giant ground sloth would be interesting to all ages. The Dow Gallery of American Art was one of our favorites too. Since this museum is self-guided you can go fast through rooms that you aren't interested in. The gift shop was just ok and could be improved with more items and books. One of our most favorite attractions of Daytona Beach!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BYI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I enjoyed the permanent collection. Loved the visible storage area, I just wish there were more information about these pieces. Great Cuban exhibit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“history at reach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I liked the coca cola exhibition memorablia, especially the old
soda machines .I admired all the bears with the coke emblems.
The big furnished tall doll house remembers the place all girls
dream for.
There was not anything I disliked.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank luz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not your ordinary beach attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a great time visiting this delightfully different museum. A little bit of everything including the giant land sloth skeleton, 1000 teddy bears, unique open storage conglomeration of just about everything imaginable. Interestingly very little was labeled in detail; as one of the other visitors we met suggested, "we wouldn't remember what we read anyhow". A perfect rainy day attraction, but even on a bright sunny day, we found it worth the time away from the beach

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ecmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Visited here in June with grandchildren and again at Christmas with our son and his wife. A treat for all. And even adults enjoy hands on childrens section. Planaterium is special extra and presenter explains all for young and old alike. Must see treasure worth the trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank anetcast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences also viewed

 

Been to MOAS - Museum of Arts and Sciences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing