We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely home, wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
River Lily Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Daytona Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely home, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights in January while visiting our son. The building is beautifully restored and we really enjoyed the breakfasts. Art and Polly are great hosts and Art even serenaded us at breakfast. We plan to go back when it's warmer to take advantage of the pool.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, the Moon River room does not get a signal, even on the outside balcony. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    11
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
179
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

A couple in our 60s, we spent 2 nights over Christmas 2013 with Art & Polly. They have a lovely place which was a residence up until 2007 when they bought it and converted it into a B&B with 6 nice rooms (we physically looked at all of them). One room on the ground floor is suitable for those guests unable to negotiate the stairs. 2 rooms have skylights which makes them quite bright, probably brighter than any room in your own house. Each room has its own thermostat to set to your personal comfort level. 2 upstairs rooms have a view of the Halifax river.

While the house was "old" with wooden plank floors, the floors were generally firm and quiet. There is ample parking and a pool although we didn't use it at Christmas time.

Art & Polly have their own living quarters in a separate building near the rear of the guest house. Polly was very flexible with our arrival time and is in constant contact via her cell phone if something comes up. She made arrangements for our evening Christmas meal at a local restaurant where we were pleasantly surprised with their "famous" desert which was "on the house" after she made our reservation for us. Don't over look this.

Art was the primary chef and prepared two amazing breakfasts for us and that's something you can look forward to. On top of being a great cook and host, he's also an entertainer and artist (paintings).

4 stars+ for this visit only because I don't give 5s overall.
The B&B is conveniently located only a short distance to the beach or the airport but without the noise or hustle/bustle associated with either.

Anyone can build or create a nice B&B. We've experienced many and find it's the hosts that can make all the difference in the world. We feel you'll enjoy Art & Polly and their hospitality.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the rooms with a view of the river. They are on the street side but the B&am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Col_Tomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I were looking for a getaway in Daytona to celebrate our 31st Anniversary. Art and Polly are fantastic hosts. You feel like family the minute you walk through the door. Fantastic rooms. The breakfast is delicious and filling. You will never walk away hungry. Rooms have great views. They are very knowledgeable of the area in helping with site seeing adventures. We will be staying here every time we come to Daytona. Normally I don't sleep well on other beds, but that wasn't a problem here.

Room Tip: All rooms have their themes and unique settings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redwards50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just got back from another great New Year's Eve at the River Lily Inn. This is our fifth year and it is always so enjoyable. Probably what makes the whole experience one you want to repeat over and over are the innkeepers, Polly and Art. They create an atmosphere of family. Every year there are some of the same people from years before and always some new faces who then become new friends we hope to see again. Polly organizes the meals and service and Art plays the music and sings all night. (I particularly love his "Sweet Caroline," so sometimes he'll play that twice!) The dinner was delicious, as usual, and the champagne and fireworks provided by Art and his helper at midnight just top the night off. We love the low-key, gentile way the night goes. The people we meet are so interesting and from so many different places. We spent the night. The beds are the most comfortable I've ever slept in, and the coffee and breakfast the next morning start the new year with such a good feeling.

Room Tip: The River Lily is the largest room with king size bed. It overlooks the River and has a balcony whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJR44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 3 days here for our sons graduation from ERAU and while the weather was a little coler than we hoped, Polly and Art at the River Lily could not have been warmer and more inviting. Great place, very comfortable room and bed and fabulous breakfasts every day. We will not stay anywhere elsewhen when we visit the Daytona Beach area in the future. This great couple also offers a lot of local info and suggestions for restaurants which is a bonus.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Forget the Vegas Strip of the Atlantic and stay on the inland waterway at the River Lilly B&B in Holly Hill. My wife and I stayed here and enjoyed a beautiful room by innkeeper Polly. The inn is located across the street from the inner harbor waterway and the grounds and inn are very well kept and appointed. Almost every room has a balcony and the room was very comfortable and spacious. Polly's husband Art provided a delicious plentiful breakfast of apricot pancakes and a cheese filled egg scramble and then serenaded us with Christmas songs from his baby grand in the living room. Wow! Live music at the River Lilly inn. Thank you Art and Polly and we will be back.

Jim And Jessie
California

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed December 2, 2013

What a perfect place for our son's and new daughter-in-law's wedding -- the rooms were lovely and very comfortable, and it was so convenient to have everyone staying at the same place! The breakfasts were excellent and the owners were gracious hosts and extremely helpful. It could not have been more perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daytona Beach
3.8 mi away
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
Best Western Aku Tiki Inn
#5 of 98 in Daytona Beach
942 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Daytona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Ocea...
#2 of 5 in Daytona Beach Shores
1,272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Ocean Walk
Wyndham Ocean Walk
#30 of 98 in Daytona Beach
2,142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Lily Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Lily Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: River Lily Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 558 Riverside Dr, Daytona Beach, FL 32117-3739
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — River Lily Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daytona Beach's Premier Bed and Breakfast. Located on the Intracoastal Waterway, 5 minutes from the beaches, 15 minutes from Daytona International Speedway. All or the amenities! Luxury at affordable prices. Heart shaped swimming pool, flat screen TV's, cable, DVD players, wireless internet, hot tubs, verandahs overlooking the Halifax River. Full hot breakfast. Live music in the evening with wine and cheese or dessert. Romantic escapes, Weddings/Receptions, Corporate retreats. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your River Lily Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing