We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropic Shores Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropic Shores Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Fenelon Falls Ontario
Level Contributor
100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We took a chance when we booked this resort. We were very pleasantly surprised. The staff should be commende on the cleanliness of the facility. We have done some 75 timeshare exchanges. This is one of the better experiences. The resort is very well managed.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sturgeon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    21
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed for a week at Tropic Shores and had a great vacation. We had a 2 bedroom and it had lots of room and 2 bathrooms. It was pretty clean but in the 2nd bedroom there was mold on the window blinds. I used a clorox wipe on the blinds, thye were cheap plastic blinds. We had to put a blanket over the window anyway because my son has to have the room completely dark to sleep. I made a note about it in on the sheet they provide you with when you check in. I also found some hairs on the floor in the master bathroom. Other than those two things the room was clean. The mold on the blinds is why I only gave it a rating of average.

Every room at this place has a great ocean view. It is true that the walls are thin. We were on an end unit so we didn't have noise from next door but we could hear the people above us moving around. It often sounded like they were moving the furniture. They woke me up every morning before 7 a.m. which was annoying on vacation. The pool area suited our needs but is nothing fancy. Overall, we had a good stay and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gstew78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Wow rooms are large and well equiped! Beach is beautiful! Pool was a little warm but otherwise was great. Staff is helpful and friendly!!! Loved the safe in room. Activites are fun. Loved the boogie boards.

Room Tip: Upper floors wait for elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Great facility. Very clean, nice staff. Right on the beach, beautiful pool, shuffle board and every day there are activities. They have tons of things kids can do. You can checkout chairs, umbrellas, towels. I would love to stay here again. We had a neighbor that accidently slammed their doors. I spoke to the front desk and they took care of the neighbor. No more slamming doors.

Room Tip: stay away from the elevator, can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irving_TexasAnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed at Tropic Shores from March 3 – 10, 2012 and March 31 – April 7, 2012.
We also visited last year in March as well. We are owners of 2 one bedroom units.
This resort is older, but it is well maintained. It is directly on the beach, with all units facing the ocean. You can open your balcony door and relax on the sofa or balcony and see and hear the ocean. In the morning, the sunshine creates a golden walkway on the ocean that lights up photos. The staff is helpful and the security has been tightened this year by giving guests wristbands to wear so they can determine who are guests and people off the street.
There were lots of fantastic amenities available. Our favorites are the daily housekeeping including making the bed, cleaning the bathroom, taking out the trash & changing out the kitchen & bathroom towels – luxury and the availability of beach chairs and umbrellas, boogie boards & bicycles. The staff was super & always accommodating. We had a wonderful time & we plan on making annual visits. Everything that is needed for a great holiday is within walking distance (restaurants, drug and grocery stores and especially the beach!)

Jeff and Diana Kennaway

Room Tip: No Room Service - Please ignore the rating above
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jkennaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

We were there for a week. From outside the building and from inside the Lobby it seems a hotel from the 60's. Not bad, but far from "luxury". The good things are the service and attention from all the people and the beautiful condo units that they have. ALL of them have ocean view and are very comfortable. Full kitchen, living and 1 or 2 bedrooms. The location is the best in Daytona, close to restaurants and a great Supermarket (PUBLIX). You can save a lot of money if you cook in the unit or if you buy your dinner from Publix.
If you go further north you'll find "more luxurious" hotels but the sorrounding neighbourhoods are "not good". We were the 2nd week of January and is highly recommended: good temperature and very quiet (also few cars on the streets).
For $20 a week (p/room) you can have unlimited use of beach chairs, umbrellas and bycicles
You'll also have several nice place to visit (including the Ponce de Leon Lighthouse (just $5).
Daytona is a nice place to be for a week.

Room Tip: Any room you take is good. ALL of them have Ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GeorgefromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My family has stayed at the Tropic Shores many times. The building is always neat and clean and the staff is very nice. The condos are right on the beach in Daytona Beach Shores. Grocery shopping, restaurants, and shops are nearby. The pool and hot tub are always clean and relaxing. There are activities for all ages. It has always been the perfect place to bring my children. We have wonderful memories of time spent at the Tropic Shores.

One of our favorite activities in in Ponce Inlet (5 miles south) on A1A - the Marine Science Center. You can go there and see injured turtles being rehabilitated. Ponce Inlet also has beautiful beaches.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SML53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Daytona Beach - Oceanfront
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Beach/Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
Days Inn Daytona Oceanfront
#18 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oceanfront
Hampton Inn Daytona Shores - Oce...
#12 of 104 in Daytona Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropic Shores Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropic Shores Resort

Property: Tropic Shores Resort
Address: 3111 S Atlantic Ave, Daytona Beach, FL 32118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tropic Shores Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropic Shores Hotel Daytona Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing