We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above the call of duty”
Review of Tropical Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropical Manor
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Daytona Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Above the call of duty”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here one night during Bike Week 2013. Our room was on the small side, but adequate. Though well maintained it is obviously a little dated. We weren't over impressed on arrival. But we were impressed with the service. We stopped by the front desk the morning we got to town. Being that it was 6 hours till checkin time we weren't surprised our room wasn't ready on one of their busiest days, however, we were surprised that by the time we finished breakfast across the street they called us to let us know they had sent someone to get it ready and we could checkin whenever we were ready. That was pretty cool, but today, less than a week after our stay, we received my wife's phone charger in the mail from the hotel. We had just wrote it off as a loss, hadn't even called them about it. Now that was above the call in our book, and locked in where we'll stay next time. Not recognizing, and supporting that style of service is why it's so rare today. Nice job.

Room Tip: Even though you may not be there so much for the beach on bike week it may be quieter on the beach s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We appreciate your comments and are very glad that you were exceptionally pleased with the service which we provided during your stay at the Tropical Manor. BIke week is one of our very busiest weeks of the entire year. We work extremely hard to provide a very friendly, timely and sincere welcome for our guests. We are glad that we were able to quickly prepare your room for your early arrival. I am sorry that our smallest guestrooms were the only rooms available for your stay during Bike Week. The majority of our guestrooms are 423 + square feet Ocean View One Bedroom Suites which feature separate bedrooms, living rooms, full kitchens, and full-size bathrooms. We do have a small number of Value Rooms with street views. Our Value Rooms are considerably smaller and are more basically furnished. (Our Value Rooms are in high demand during Bike Week because you can actually see your motorcycle from your room.) I wish that we had had a larger room available for you during your stay. Many guests who select a Value Room for their first visit to the Tropical Manor select one of our larger accommodations for their future visits. Please email us through our Tropical Manor website as early as possible when you are planning your next visit to the Tropical Manor so that we can personally assist you in selecting a larger Oceanview or Ocean Front One Bedroom Suite or Charming Garden View Cottage. This is the perfect time to place your reservation for Biketoberfest (October 17 - 20) because many of our choicest rooms are still available for these dates. We hope to welcome you back to the Tropical Manor for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    28
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
76
52
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first time staying at Tropical Manor. We loved our room (#42) and would recommend this room to others. Great front porch overlooking the pool and ocean. We have booked the same room for next year and are looking forward to another great visit. Staff are so attentative and kind. They even gave guests cup cakes on Valentines Day. This property is nothing glamous or fancy, but clean rooms and a great looking property. Thanks for a great 2 weeks at Tropical Manor

Room Tip: Check Tropical Manors website for room photos and locations. They have so many different type of ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeyefans01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your visit to the Tropical Manor. Oceanfront Poolside Efficiency Studio #42 is such a great choice for a couple with its Private Oceanfront Patio and wonderful oceanfront views. You truly feel like you are on a vacation at the beach when you select this room. We are glad that you liked the Valentine's Day cupcakes. It is extremely satisfying for us to receive such wonderful compliments about our property and the service we provide. We look forward very much to welcoming you back to the Tropical Manor again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pendleton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

THis place is small, cute, but a weeeee bit overly decorated...Less is more, but every
corner of the hotel rooms, as well as outside are painted w/ little murals..If you can get passed that the hotel itself, the staff, and the location are great. The pool is nice too , it was nice and warm for our grands to play in in November.

Room Tip: Our Room was large a one bedroom oceanfront, but the sleeper sofa was not in good condition so we ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you chose to stay at the Tropical Manor. Many extended families choose to stay at the Tropical Manor because of our spacious 1,2, and 3 bedroom suites and our colorful, fun, decor . We are glad that you enjoyed our oceanfront heated swimming pool with your grandchildren. We do sincerely apologize that you were not pleased with the sleeper sofa in your guestroom. We have brand new sofas on hand and would have readily provided a new one in your room had we known of your discomfort. We have placed a new mattress on the sofa in this room. We want all of our guests to be entirely satisfied with our facilities and service and hope very much that you will choose to stay at the Tropical Manor again with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

So relaxing and customer friendly. From the owner Audrey to housekeeping and in between the friendliest most reasonable hotel? Motel? Don't really know what to call this unique establishment. You are a few steps from the Atlantic ocean. Heated outdoor pool and BBQ. Movie night and bingo. close to major attractions. No fitness center but hey, walk on the great hard sand beach. Restaurants a stones throw away

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yothewish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great weekend get away.
Decided not to stay with the big chains and came upon this hotel on Trip Advisor.
Only able to stay one night, but if schedule was open would have stayed longer.
Sarah took my reservation and greeted me at the desk when we arrived (great representative for the property). The hotel decor was tropical "retro" - in a good way. My wife and I loved it. We travelled with our two teenage sons who enjoyed the beachfront access and pool.

We stayed in a two bedroom oceanfront efficiency (room 45) that had ample room and two porches overlooking the ocean and pool. The room was clean and the kitchenette was well equipped with plates, cups, etc... Need to bring your own coffee and extras (but there is a coffee maker).

The hotel has several scheduled activities and we met families that had been coming to this hotel for years. It's about 2-3 miles to the main boardwalk (that's not what we came for).

Everyone on the staff we met, went out of there way to make our experience enjoyable. We would definetly come back again.

Room Tip: Room 45 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkjkmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had a great stay with the wife & 5 boys this weekend. Trust me when I say there is nothing like the Beach House at Tropical Manor. From the Flamingo with shades & a sombero that greets you, to the bright pink "brady bunch" shag carpet, it is truly one of a kind. The beach house is perfect because you are right next to the beach, pool, shuffle board, etc. but it has a very private feel with it's own driveway & patio with an awesome view. The room was very clean & fully stocked except for paper products & salt & pepper. So, bring your own paper plates, napkins, & maybe a roll of softer tp.........just saying. :) The staff was very pleasant & helpful. All in all, we had a wonderful time & plan on returning soon. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fireproof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Audrey's Beach House with your family. We are glad that you appreciated the fun, special touches that make our Beach House special. We chose lots of bright tropical colors and furnishings to give Audrey's Beach House a cheerful and fun look and feel. Some wonderful and talented artists stay in Audrey's Beach House each winter and have created several beautiful paintings which decorate our Beach House. We hope that you will be able to stay at Audrey's Beach House longer during your next visit. A large set of dishes, pots and pans, silverware, cooking utensils, and a dishwasher are provided in the kitchen. We are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful direct ocean front views from Audrey's Beach House, our oceanfront pool and shuffleboard court ,and the friendly service we provided. We hope to welcome your family back to the Tropical Manor and Audrey's Beach House for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've stayed at a lot of places all over the world and have not experienced a better place to play.e ocean.The staff go out of their way to make sure you feel at home. Each and every room has a view of the ocean no matter the location. It is easy to walk to restaurants, shops and of course the beach. I will be back to visit for many years to come.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalManorDaytona, Manager at Tropical Manor, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are so very pleased that you have enjoyed your stays at the Tropical Manor and that the service from our staff makes you feel very much at home at the Tropical Manor. Our guests really like our great location directly on the ocean in Daytona Beach Shores. Most of our Suites and guestrooms provide oceanviews. But, our most economical Value Rooms have Street Views. We are very happy to provide information about all of our different room types so that we can best match the room type to the needs of our guests. We are delighted that you have chosen to stay at the Tropical Manor and look forward to welcoming you back to the Tropical Manor for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daytona Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Daytona Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Sun Viking Lodge
Sun Viking Lodge
#9 of 98 in Daytona Beach
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites
Lexington Inn & Suites
#24 of 98 in Daytona Beach
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Daytona Beach Resort and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Perry's Ocean Edge Resort
Perry's Ocean Edge Resort
#17 of 98 in Daytona Beach
1,153 reviews
3.1 mi away
Plaza Resort & Spa
Plaza Resort & Spa
#21 of 98 in Daytona Beach
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Manor

Property: Tropical Manor
Address: 2237 S Atlantic Ave, At Bonner Ave., Daytona Beach, FL 32118-5348
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Daytona Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Daytona Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Daytona Beach
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Daytona Beach
#27 Romantic Hotel in Daytona Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming, award-winning small ocean-front inn. Spacious 1,2,3 bedroom suites, delightful cottages, & very economical studios & value rooms. Lush tropical landscaping. Colorful hand-painted artwork. Romantic tropical ambiance. Large heated ocean-front pool & kiddie pool. Ocean-front guest BBQ area. Shuffleboard court. Free high-speed wireless internet in guestrooms. Great choice for families. Family owned & operated. AAA & superior small lodging approved. Special discounted weekly rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tropical Manor Hotel Daytona Beach
Tropical Manor Daytona Beach
Tropical Manor Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing