We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Lantern Pike Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lantern Pike Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Cold November day. Went into the Lantern and found a warm and friendly atmosphere. The other clients were pleasant and the front of house manager, Mark was efficient, attentive and humorous. The food was great, plentiful and well cooked and presented. Appears to have lovely real ales, unfortunately I was driving!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you so much for those kind words of appreciation. Tom and Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 217 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

This old fashioned Inn is what you expect from this type of establishment, which is always a good thing. Nothing worse than turning up at a traditional pub and finding it's like a travel lodge. For about the same sort of money you can stay in this pub with it's history and character and enjoy the sort of food you should expect from a real Inn not a themed pub.
The rooms are clean and suprisingly spacious with a generous on-suite.
The Lanteren Pike seems to cater for two main types, the traveler and people who enjoy walking the local hills. Both are well catered for in that the importance of a good breakfast is not lost here and at night you can enjoy pub grub as intended. There is a dining room but most people seem to prefer to eat in the bar and when both logs fires are on why not especially if you have been walking the hills all day!
The Lantern Pike is a cosy and friendly old style pub providing a very warm welcome and a suprisingly large and varried menu suported by some excellent beers. On my visit they also had a selection of ciders at astonishingly good prices.
If your not sure what to order ask for a sample, they don't hesitate. Tom the landlord takes a pride in his pub and most nights seem to have something on, Wednesday was quize night. If your'e into walking ask Tom as he is very knowledgable about the local terrain and what's worth seeing locally.
A very comfortable, friendly and affordable Inn with a great atmospere.

Room Tip: Ask to see them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thegentScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you so much for those kind words of appreciation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Fabulous lunchtime meal and environment. We plan to be there again for a Christmas meal in December. Oh and we drove from Nottingham, Preston and Leeds just to meet up there, so that is saying how much we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTULeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you so much for those kind words of appreciation. Tom and Stella

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have been a visitor to the LP regularly for the past 5 years, my most recent visit was fantastic !! what a great menu and super beer !! I am moving abroad in the near future an hope to have one last taste of heaven !! before I go, a special mention to Stella's homemade sausages the best !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glueboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Mr Glueboots, thank you for those kind words of appreciation, we look forward to your next visit when you return from overseas. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

One of my favourite pubs in the area. Very good Timothy Taylor landlord and other guest beers and good home made style food. Very popular with walkers tackling the nearby Lantern Pike which is the home of a fell race in September.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank glossopowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear glossopowl, thank you very much for your kind words of appreciation, I will pass them on to the staff. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were taken here by manchester friends and totally agree that this is a charming pub with good service. Our food was fine and served promptly.
Our friends have been a number of times.
On the front door there is a sign that says walkers are welcome but please remove muddy boots!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acsgcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, Owner at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear AcsGcs, thank you for your kind words of appreciation, i will pass them on to the staff. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Excelent Timothy Taylors, welcome and roaring fire. Attentive waiting on table and prompt service. Would have deserved an excellent rating overall were it not for the listlessness of the food. All a bit dated - Tony Warren might have been comfortable with it when writing his first episode of Coronation Street here, but today's customers need a bit more thought going into it and a little less salt (totally agree with another recent review on the salt point). Perhaps something in the budget for continuing professional development for the chef this winter?

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebordingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomc01, General Manager at Lantern Pike Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear ebordingle, thank you for your review, sorry the food wasn't to your liking. Having said that, we are fully aware that our menu (as indeed anybody else's menu in any restaurant in the world) will never appeal to everybody that enters through its doors. We believe our menu appeals to the vast majority of our customers and have valued feedback to demonstrate this. Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Hayfield
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 6 in Hayfield
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#2 of 6 in Hayfield
195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Millie's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Kinder Lodge
The Kinder Lodge
#2 of 3 in Hayfield
30 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lantern Pike Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lantern Pike Inn

Address: 45 Glossop Road, Little Hayfield, Peak District National Park, Hayfield SK22 2NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hayfield > Little Hayfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Little Hayfield
Price Range: $95 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lantern Pike Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Peak District National Park, this delightful Inn dates back to the building of the turnpike from Old Glossop to Buxton in 1792. Today, the resident owners extend a warm welcome to all who visit their country hostelry, good food, a well balanced Wine Menu, well kept real ales and comfortable bedrooms. Ideally situated for great walking or touring. We are Hayfield's ONLY main entry in the Good Pub Guide 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lantern Pike Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lantern Pike Hotel Little Hayfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing