We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Orlando getaway..” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Orlando getaway..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just back from 4 weeks at the Bahama Bay resort, this was our second time at this resort ( we went there some 8 years ago when it first opened).

The rooms where clean but slightly dated however adequate for a family of 5. The beds got a damp feel to them when the aircon was on to high small issue that we just lived with.

The main pool was nice and big and never got to busy however we had lunch there one day and we spent $100 on 5 sandwiches and drinks bit pricey but I suppose expected for a resort.

No sign of any bugs in our rooms as some have complained about for the temperature and the time being there was very good if you ask me.

Used to being a bit closer to the Parks put this was not a deal breaker the 27 to the I4 was only a ten min drive away then straight up for 10-15 miles for all the parks.

Overall the kids had a great time the free DVD rental at the main reception was a great help however due to our length of stay we ended up buying a few DVD's from Wal-Mart.

Would go back again as a family and use a private villa when in a bigger group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scouseoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,080
    584
    208
    123
    96
See reviews for
1,448
205
8
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Well, where do I start? Have just returned from 21 day stay at this beautiful resort. We rented privately through Owners Direct website and stayed in block 21 room 1610. On arrival the reception staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We, as a family have been to Orlando a few times, We have stayed in hotels on International Drive. Our stay at Bahama Bay was by far the best holiday so far, so much so I will go back. I'm very fussy about cleanliness and found the condo very well maintained and spotlessly clean. It was more spacious than we expected with three generous sized bedrooms one with queen size bed and one king size bed, the other with twin beds. Every room had modern flat screen TVs. I checked the beds and bed linen, having read previous reviews, but they were immaculate. Extra bed linen, towels and pool towels were all provided. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly need and was also spotlessly clean[apart from the blender was broke] so no smoothie for breakfast.
You will have to stock up on essentials like washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs, laundry detergent, kitchen towel and loo rolls, but there is a Publix supermarket two minutes drive away and a huge Wallmart five minutes away, this was not a great hassle.The resort is really well maintained. We used two of the three pool areas, there is one with the beach area and one at the club house with the splash zone. both were very clean. We enjoyed the large hot tubs. We ate in Tradewinds on our first night and the food was basic pizza/burgers/chicken but really nice. Tradewinds also delivered . Disney parks are 15-20 minutes drive and Universal a bit further about 30 minutes drive. We found it was nice to have a bit of distance from the madness of the parks. There is a fantastic choice of restaurants within ten minute drive, we also did a two night trip to Miami , that was great. and we did an over night stop in Clearwater again that was also lovely. We would definitely highly recommend this resort but you will need a car to get around. Check in and out was easy and without hassle

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dolphin123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Florida, but the first to Bahama Bay. Having previously stopped in a private villa, we were looking forward to ageing additional facilities on site. Well we weren't disappointed.

Upon arrival, check in was very slick, and we were given three keys to the Condo, and easy directions.

The Condo was spotlessly clean, although the Patio door lock was broken. A quick call to maintenance and they fixed it within minutes. The Condo had everything you could ask for - kitchen with a full suite of appliances, separate laundry room, spacious sitting area and two en-suite bedrooms.. Both bedrooms and sitting area had huge TV's with cable channels.

We did have some noise from guests in the condo above us, but nothing to keep us awake, or feel like complaining.

The pool area closest to our Condo was again spotless, as was the beach area, although we didn't use this (too much to do!!!!)

We had a few takeaway pizzas from Tradewinds, and on every occasion they were of excellent quality, and piping hot.

The only minor issue we had were a few cockroaches, and other small insects, but these are to be expected given the landscaping.

For us as a family, the location was perfect - about 15 minutes to the Disney Complex and 30 minutes to Universal Studios. It was nice to return to the peace and quiet of Bahama Bay after many a hectic day.

Various restaurants on the US 192 or US 27 to choose from, and all within a 10 minute drive.

Overall, excellent facilities, and would certainly recommend, but need to be mindful that a car is essential.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caulkers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Well, where do I start? We, as a family have been to Orlando quite a few times, in fact my wife and I got married there in the mid nineties. We have stayed in hotels and villas in Kissimmee and on International Drive. Our stay at Bahama Bay was by far the best holiday so far, so much so we are looking to return there next summer.
The staff in reception were extremely helpful and pleasant, check in and out was easy and without hassle. Free DVD hire is included at the resort, although the one occasion we tried it the disc was badly scratched and stopped half way through the film, so we never found out who did it!
The condo was well equipped and certainly sufficient for us, a bit of a bonus really as we booked a two bedroom condo and were allocated a three bedroom one, which meant our twins had a bedroom each, which was nice.
We didn't have modern flat screen TVs in the condo, but then again we didn't travel from the UK to watch American TV with their constant advert breaks, the bit of TV we did watch made us appreciate British progammes!
Distance to the theme parks was not an issue for us, we like a quiet life away from the noise and traffic of the main routes. 30 mins to Universal and around 20 mins to Disney, no problem!
We only have two minor negatives about the resort, the first is the noise from above, we were on the middle floor and I think a family of little elephants were on holiday above us, they were constantly running through the condo! Luckily they all went to sleep at a reasonable time so it didn't keep us awake. To those with small children, please have consideration for those below you! While on the subject of noise, please be aware when making phone calls on your balcony, if there is someone sitting below or above you, they can clearly hear everything you say so be careful.
Our other minor negative was the night we tried the food in the Tradewinds. The waitress was completely disinterested and clearly didn't want to be there, I ordered a beer for myself which she spilled over the table and never offered to clean up or top up. The food was edible but nothing special for the prices charged, on top of that a 15% service charge was added to our bill! We don't mind paying for good service but resent not having a choice especially when we got very poor service. With service charge added to our bill why should the waitress try to be helpful or pleasant? We did not return to Tradewinds and will not go there on our return to Bahama Bay next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Have just returned from 21 day stay at this beautiful resort. We rented privately through Owners Direct website and stayed in block 12 room 403. On arrival the reception staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. I'm very fussy about cleanliness and found the condo very well maintained and spotlessly clean. It was more spacious than we expected with two generous sized bedrooms one with queen size bed and the other with twin beds. I checked the beds and bed linen, having read previous reviews, but they were immaculate. Extra bed linen, towels and pool towels were all provided. The kitchen was equipped with everything you could possibly need and was also spotlessly clean. You will have to stock up on essentials like washing up liquid, dishwasher tabs, laundry detergent, kitchen towel and loo rolls, but there is a Publix supermarket two minutes drive away and a huge Wallmart five minutes away, this was not a great hassle.The resort is really well maintained. We used two of the pool areas, the one closest to our condo with the beach area and the one at the club house with the splash zone. Neither was particularly busy and both were very clean. Our boys aged 11 and 6 loved them both. We enjoyed the large hot tubs. We ate in Tradewinds on our first night and the food was basic pizza/burgers/chicken but really nice. We also had take away from Tradewinds delivered to our condo on a couple of evenings, great when you've returned from the parks exhausted and can't face cooking or eating out. Disney parks are 15-20 minutes drive and Universal a bit further about 30 minutes drive. We found it was nice to have a bit of distance from the madness of the parks and the resort felt like a tranquil oasis. There is a fantastic choice of restaurants within ten minute drive, in particular have to mention Applebees, Longhorn Steakhouse, Houlihans, and Chuys Mexican restaurant. We would definitely highly recommend this resort but you will need a car to get around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 994daytripper994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

As the title says, this is a great concept. The condos are privately owned and sublet ( did not know this before arrival as booked through travel company), & subsequently maintained by the resort. Unfortunately the condo we were allocated was poorly maintained (broken curtain track, broken window blinds, damaged furniture). To top it all the condo was not adequately cleaned before being handed over to us (dirty kitchen floor, dirty bathroom floor, sink, shower, counter top with hair from previous occupant). We did speak with a receptionist, who appeared to be totally disinterested. To our surprise, the curtain track was fixed, the damaged flooring (that constantly hurt feet) between the kitchen & living area did get a floor rod fitted, & a perfunctory vacuuming of the floor took place. But in all, the place was overall grubby. We washed the towels etc before use (as they came with hair from previous occupants). Who wants to go on holiday only to have to start cleaning? In addition to this we were informed by a receptionist that we were liable to pay a $80 cleaning charge. When we questioned a second member of staff they confirmed this would be the case. Our tour company had to re-explain to the hotel that we we not liable for this charge. Was this incompetence by the hotel or an opportunity to charge more from holidaymakers?

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Westport1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sugar land
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Was put here by agent when was supposed to be in Kissimmee to stay for Universal and Disney vacation. Accomodations are nice. We stayed in building 2 unit 603 and had 3 bedrooms and 2 baths. TVs in two of the rooms and the living area. Know ahead of time that if it is a privately owned unit like we had you will gave to start a wash of the linens and the dishes. In our particular unit we only had 3 rolls of toilet paper and a quarter roll of paper towels. When we arrived there was still a load of damp towels on the dryer. We had to provide own toiletries and laundry soap.
There are a few pools on property and a nice sprinkler park. There is a "beach" in back of property as well but I was not impressed with it.
It is about a 30 minute drive to Universal and 20 to Disney. Master BR was in interior of complex so parking lot noise was not an issue for me, but my kids said they could hear a lot from the parking lot.
Stocked with dishes, toaster, coffee pot, and silverware. Our unit had a rug we kept tripping over bc it was curled at the edges. Public grocery and Walmart near.
Overall, a nice place for families to stay in Orlando area if you don't mind the driveto amusement parks bc of the roominess, but we will look for something closer next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sugarlandmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
9.9 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
11.9 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
11.7 mi away
Floridays Resort Orlando
Floridays Resort Orlando
#18 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
4.9 mi away
Tuscana Resort Orlando by Aston
3.4 mi away
Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals

Property: Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
Address: 400 Gran Bahama Boulevard, Davenport, FL 33897-8322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals 3.5*
Number of rooms: 498
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Lake Davenport is the beautiful Bahama Bay Resort and Spa. Just off the beaten path, Bahama Bay is a hidden gem amongst the theme parks. Take a stroll on one of the nature trails, go for a dip in one of the four pools, soak in the hot tub or play a game of tennis, the resort has everything whether you want to relax or be active. Your room has a fully stocked kitchen and a washer and dryer, saving you money on eating out and packing a heavy suitcase, as well as plenty of living space and a screened in patio to enjoy the Florida weather. With resort wide Wi-Fi, no parking fees, free DVD rentals in the lobby and a friendly staff on-site to help you with your every need, Bahama Bay Resort & Spa is where you want to be! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando Hotel Davenport
Bahama Bay Hotel Orlando
Bahama Bay Florida
Bahama Bay Davenport
Bahamas Bay Florida
Bahama Bay Resort Spa
Bahama Bay Orlando Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing