We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regal Palms Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome resort”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed while vacationing to Legoland. The villas were extremely nice, very clean, and the resort pool was fantastic for our children. Definitely would stay again, and would recommend to anyone visiting this theme park area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    509
    220
    195
    239
See reviews for
1,515
82
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

So we come to Florida quite a bit and have tried various accommodation. This time we thought we would try a 'resort style'.
We rented through a private owner on Owners Direct who was extremely helpful. So the resort:

Check In: we arrived at 7pm and went into a deserted reception. The receptionist came out but was interrupted as she was sorting out her bill payments on the phone. She was not at all informative or friendly!

The Accommodation: great size, affordable and fully equipped. Nothing special. Right at the back off the resort so needed a car to get about and unfortunately we were kept awake two nights by loud parties in properties off the resort.

The area: great area, loads to do but the 192 is an accident waiting to happen with loads of tourists weaving in and out of the traffic lost! We had a good giggle at them most of the time!

The resort: the bar, restaurant seemed to be dead every night so we never ate there. We went to the pool once - pleasant enough but it is small and it does get packed with large groups.

Overall we have had a fab holiday but the resort is just so so and not good enough for us to return!

Room Tip: Don't go at the back of the resort, the neighbouring properties had two all night parties!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gladders21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I stayed for one week at one of Simon's properties at Regal Palms. I have to say the condo was amazing, comfortable and clean. My family had a great time and can not wait to go back again. Everything was just as described.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrissyc32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed at Regal Palms for two weeks in May, and found it to be both comfortable and affordable. We had an end unit that was really roomy (1700 square feet) with 4 bedrooms and 3 1/2 bathrooms.

The kitchen was well equipped with plates, cups, glasses and cookware. The only thing that would have been nice other than the cookware available would have been a baking pan for the oven (to bake chicken, pork chops, etc.) I just picked up a disposable one from the grocery store and it worked fine for the time I was there. Cooking for ourselves saves a lot of money!

Overall, our beds were very comfortable. The sheets on my bed (king upstairs) were a little worn, but they were clean. We don't have little ones, but there was a high chair and pack & play available in the unit. No other issues with the bedrooms or bathrooms. The apartment sized stackable washing machine and dryer worked great and helped us save on what was needed for packing clothes.

The only downside to our unit was that the television was really small. We got a Redbox movie a couple of nights and it was kind of challenging to watch together.

The pool was nice and beautifully landscaped. It's not very big, so when it's crowded IT'S REALLY CROWDED, but the small lazy river, slide and Jacuzzi are nice amenities. Before we left, the pool was a little dirty and could have used some TLC as more people were staying at the resort by then. Heads-up: the fee for using the pool is $12/day paid up front at check-in (with tax, it's really $14 per day) and they put a hold on your card for $250 for deposit released at the end of your trip. Plan it into your budget so you are not surprised.

PRO TIP: You are given plastic bracelets to wear that gives you access to the pool. If you break them, you have to purchase new ones and once they are on - they don't come apart. We didn't know this and put them on a bit too tight. We figured out how to slide them off and I bought those curly bracelets with a key ring and slid the RP bracelets onto the key-ring. Worked like a charm because we were able to put them on and off and no extra fee. I wish they had explained at check-in a little more clearly because I would have been better prepared. If you're only staying a few days, then it's not such a big deal, but we were staying for two weeks!

Last thing: I am a runner and was hoping to continue to run using the treadmill in the gym on site, since I am not really used to the humidity in Florida. Only one of the two treadmills worked, and there is no fan in the gym. When I was in there, they also left the door to the sauna/Jacuzzi open so the humidity in the gym area was off the charts. This made it pretty uncomfortable. They could really use a few good quality fans in there for the comfort of the guests.

We ate at the restaurant and thought it was good and reasonably priced. There is a great play area and game room with a huge climbing structure for little ones - really neat.

Last of all, the service at the front desk was mixed. We had some very loud neighbors in the middle of the night, and I was very disappointed with their evening staff for their lack of responsiveness and initiative. Also, their business center was not working, so I had to go to Staples out of the way to get tickets printed - kind of an inconvenience. Mostly they were friendly and helpful.

Publix, CVS, gas station, restaurants, salon, liquor store - all walking distance. Walmart is a short drive (maybe 5 minutes) 600 U.S. 27, Clermont, FL. Disney is about 20-25 minutes North. Legoland is about 30 minutes south. Universal and Sea World is about 30 minutes North. Don't forget to get cash for tolls! The flea markets along Rt. 4 are lots of fun if you like that kind of thing. Another cool thing we found along Rt. 27 was the Showcase of Citrus which does ecotours (check it out!)

What to bring or buy at the grocery store:
salt & pepper
seasoning mix/es
cooking oil
hot mitts
toilet paper
paper towels
napkins
kleenex
tin baking pans
coffee filters
disinfecting wipes
laundry pods
dishwasher pods
dish washing soap
charcoal (if you want to cook out, there are several areas around the resort)
tin foil
plastic wrap
plastic bags

If you're on a budget, check out LivingSocial.com, Groupon.com, visitorlando.com and AAA for discounts on fun stuff in the area. Also, Mousesavers.com has some great tips for cheap and free things to do (like visit the Disney Boardwalk and watch the fireworks from Epcot for free!).

We booked with Bran at Villa Tropico on Homeaway and I would use him again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Krysten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have rented from Simon in the past and after reviewing the comments on Trip Advisor were a bit concerned that we had made a mistake by renting from him again. Please let me assure you that this is a quality resort with a hardworking staff at a budget price. If/when we decide to return to Disney we will be looking to stay in the resort again. The pool, slide, lazy river are wonderful for children. The adults enjoyed the spa and hot tub.

  • Liked — We had a corner unit close to the pool, absolutely wonderul.
  • Disliked — Pool was very busy, carpet stains, worn furniture
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TurtleWatch09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

First off; as you open the door to walk into the unit you are greeted by a disgustingly stained and filthy carpet! The bed is hard and falling apart...the bathroom was dirty, hair in the tub and on the towels- glad we brought our own! Went to the restaurant....sat there waiting to be greeted for 15 minutes...nobody came so we left. Front desk personnel was very pleasant but not enough to bring us back. It was a horrible experience....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Renee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

House was dirty, rugs disgusting, we had to purchase our own bedding in fear of sleeping on theirs. The pool while it looked nice it was dirty, did not stay checked out the next day. With no help from management.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stacey w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accuratereview2, Guest Relations Manager at Regal Palms Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for writing your review. The resort did not own the house you stayed in and we would very much appreciate it if you would contact us so we can identify the exact location and owner of the property you describe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
Lake Buena Vista
Best Western Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Palms Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Palms Resort & Spa

Property: Regal Palms Resort & Spa
Address: 2700 Sand Mine Rd, Davenport, FL 33897-3406
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Regal Palms Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Palms Resort & Spa is a private Resort consisting of bars, restaurant, health spa,gym, a spectacular pool area with water slide and lazy river, 24/7 check in, guest services, theme park tickets and Banana Jacks childrens restaurant and gaming center. The resort is surrounded by 598 privately owned townhomes and 700 pool homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regal Palms Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Palms Hotel Davenport
Regal Palms Resort And Spa
Regal Palms Davenport
Regal Palms Resort Florida
Regal Palms At Highlands Reserve
Palm Regal Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing