We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deplorable - August 15 Review Is Right on the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island Club Resort and Spa
A TripAdvisor Member
Sarasota, Florida
120
Reviewed August 23, 2005

The review posted on August 15 is right on the money. We decided to stay a few days near Disney before the kids went back to school. This place looked nice on the travel sites and the price was right so we decided to give it a try. We had a miserable time. The walls are paperthin so you can hear every word and noice from the guests in the adjoining units. There were plenty of bugs and management was extremely uncooperative.

We did not find out about Trip Advisor until after our stay. I wish we had found out about the site earlier. Do yourselves a favor and read many pages of reviews before you book your stay here. It is extremely suspicious that after each negative review there are several glowing reviews. I also find it suspicious that there are over 400 reviews for this place when there are only 20-30 reviews posted for most other hotels on this site. Please pay attention to the negative reviews and believe what they have to say.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 227 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2005

The apartments inside are beautiful! However, ants upstairs in the masterbath when we arrived. The outside of the apratments really need to be cleaned up for they look so run down and dirty. The view out our sliding glass doors and windows was tall grass/with dirt piles and two old run down trailers. The grounds surrounding the apartment and resort are full of ant mounds and bugs. Since we have children that are allergic to ants I had to be on stand by with the epi-pen jr. The pool was nice but ants all around it, ants were even at the edge of the jacuzzi, the wading pool had vomit in it that hadn't been cleaned out. The two restaurants were closed (one for remodeling and the other had just been sold to another person/company). The tiki bar only open weekends during the evening and nights only. Everyone that worked at the Island Hideaway lived at the resort. Yes I'd say we got what we paid for and next time I will pay the extra $20-$30 to keep our children safe and to have a better environment for our children. We were disappointed when we got there and just saw the place, if we wouldn't have already paid (would've been charged $95 to cancel) we would have went somewhere else!! It was to be a surprise for my husband home for R&R from Iraq so he could just enjoy and have fun with the 5 kids. Well I feel I let him and the kids down with this place!!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank sharonwR308QI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2005

We have traveled to Orlando a few times a year for the past 20 years. Now when our family and grandchildren come along, we stay in larger accommodations. Island Club West fit the bill. The unit we stayed in was managed by Resort Quest. It was as clean as it could be. It was decorated
in a Florida way - nice and bright. There were NO bugs. The rooms were spacious. The master bedroom and bath were quite nice. The soaps and shampoos provide were as nice as any other place. The washer and dryer were quite convenient. It wasn't perfect but what accomodations are unless you go to a five star resort, and we had minor problems at one of those on one occasion. If there were any problems, we were informed to call Resort Quest directly. The maintenance men on site had nothing to do with our accomodations. The pool was fine and large. The baby pool was perfect for little ones. The Tiki Bar was open. It was very close to everything. It's not the Ritz but for the price we were satisfied that we all had plenty of space in a decent resort. (The gym is VERY nice.)

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CINMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
123
Reviewed August 14, 2005

If I can make one suggestion to anyone thinking about booking their vacation with Island Club Resort and Spa/Island Hideaway/Island Club West (yes they have changed names three times in the past 3 years without a change in ownership) - Please read several pages of the reviews before you book your vacation. You will see many terrible reviews for this place and I hope that you pay attention to them.

Our vacation was ruined when we decided to believe the glowing reviews posted on this site and ignore the terrible reviews. It is very hard to find this place and once you do it is all downhill from there. The "resort" looks like a rundown apartment complex or housing project rather than a 4 or 5 star resort as is claimed by some of the reviews posted here. I believe that management is responsible for the glowing reviews, there is no other reasonable explanation.

The condo's are spacious but the furniture is cheap and falling apart, the back patio doors would not lock which is extremely unsafe (we had to shove a broom handle in the tracks), the beds were extremely uncomfortable and they have a serious bug infestation problem that includes roaches, fire ants and huge spiders. Our condo was dirty when we checked in, with trash and dirty dishes still in the sink. The washer did not work and we only had enough hot water for 5 minute showers. We asked the employees to please clean the condo and fix the broken items and all but one just did not care. The one that did try to help us admitted that management was posting the positive reviews to counter the negative reviews posted by actual guests. We were not the only guests complaining and upset when we were there.

Because management did not care, we were forced to clean the condo ourselves, even though it should have been clean when we arrived, purchase bug spray to combat all of the roaches, ants and spiders and wash our clothes at a laundromat on route 192.

They claim to be 10 miles and a short ride from Disney. It took us 45 minutes to an hour each way to get to and from Disney due to heavy traffic and construction on the only two roads you can take to get there.

Check in was horrible, it took us over 45 minutes to be checked in at the guard gate. They don't even use the clubhouse and none of the restaurants/tiki bars are open. The pool was dirty and the water in the whirlpool spa was very cold.

When they refused to refund our money we decided to gut it out but we truly wish we had left early, found better accomodations and then fought for our money back through the Better Business Bureau. We are in the process of filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in the hopes of getting some of our money back and have cancelled our credit card for fear we will be charged for items after our departure, as has happened to other guests.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2005

i also stayed here sept 2004 and although also i had a few silly problems it didnt ruin my holiday .the people are friendly the houses are clean,there was silly things going wrong but as soon as reported were rectified.this is not a resort of horror ,i am wanting to go back to same resort.if it was that bad would i go back.understand these people are trying to get everything back together after the tornado`s last yr.we had blue tarpaulin on the roofs and no screens on the windows,so we couldnt open the window at night but we just turned up the air conditioning.try turning a negative into a positive.when your in florida do you have time to see faults were you are sleeping?maybe i was enjoying myself too much and didnt spend enough time in the apartment..i say enjoy these appartments and dont let anybody make it sound awful ..they fail to mention the washer .tumble drier,en suite rooms,and jakuzzi island club resort im coming back!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank shellypr25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2005

The quality of the units at this resort is appalling. The builder should be ashamed of his work. The quality of the furnishing inside the units is equally bad. The bed was the worst I had ever slepped on. You could feel every spring in your body. The cusions on livingroom couch were so soft that they would literally sink into the pull-out bed section.

When we entered our room, the telephone light was flashing. I immediately called the v-mail to retrieve the message. It was the hotel welcoming us to the resort and providing information on massage availability. The next morning, we booked a massage. We never herd from the hotel regarding this service. We called and asked several time what the problem was and never got a straight answer.

The service was very poor. Our complaints were totally ignored. I can expect this to happen in Mexico but not in the US.

The gatehouse at the entrance is also a joke. They give you a swipe card at check-in, which is basically just for show as they press on a button inside the guard-house to let you in and out.

The pool, the game room and billiards room were nice and that is the only good thing I have to say about this place

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank agent99Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2005

Do your homework and you will be very happy with this place.
1st- book through a management company such as Florida team management.

They manage units that have been bought by individual owners and not the developer.

2nd- Stay near the front of the property- you can walk to the clubhouse

I was there this past weekend and was pleasantly surprised with the 4bed/3 bath unit. It was very spacious and having 3 bathrooms was huge in the morning.

The pool was large and the Tiki bar is open. I met the Tiki bar owner- great guy- and he is planning to open the resturant and mini market on June 1st. This will make this community much more appealing to families.

Finally- inregards to investors- smart investors know to buy the most inexpensive property in the nicest area. Any property in that area under 200 thousand is a steal, get in now and you will make a nice profit in 6 months.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mcmichagander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davenport hotels
4.6 mi away
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
1.5 mi away
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Maingate South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Inn Maingate South
Quality Inn Maingate South
#8 of 13 in Davenport
190 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tuscana Resort Orlando by Aston
5.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Davenport
Days Inn & Suites Davenport
#11 of 13 in Davenport
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Club Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Club Resort and Spa

Address: 3100 Sand Mine Rd, Davenport, FL 33897-5496 (Formerly Island Hideaway)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Davenport
Price Range: $34 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Club Resort and Spa is the perfect position to provide access to every bit of excitement and action Orlando has to offer. Its secluded setting offers a respite from the cares of the world. It is a country club vacation home with every comfort taken into consideration. From the secluded feeling that lets you forget your worries upon arrival on the resort property, to the spaciousness of your villa you will experience total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Island Club Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Club Hotel Davenport
Island Hotel Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing