We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic grill room”

Piper's Grille and Championsgate Lounge
Ranked #36 of 96 Restaurants in Davenport
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Located in the ChampionsGate Golf Club, Piper’s Grille is open for breakfast and lunch and features a selection of healthy and hearty sandwiches, salads and entrees. ChampionsGate Lounge is open throughout the afternoon for golfers to enjoy a refreshing break.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good basic grill room”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a good basic grill room at a golf course. Don't expect anything fancy, but the prices are fair and this is a good alternative to the main Omni or other local restaurants.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good alternative to local Chilli's.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The food is pretty good and the service is better than most others in the area. The price is slightly higher than other local restaurants but worth it. Also, there are nice views of the Champions Gate golf course. This place isn't a mind blower but is worth a visit if you are in the area. Try the homemade chips and the waffle cut sweet potato fries. Breakfast is also good. I recommend the french toast.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mammagoose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Lunch w/ A View of the 10th Hole”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I came here with my sister for lunch as we were vacationing at the hotel. If you are staying at the Omni, ask the concierge to get a golf cart over to the clubhouse (bonus: its FREE). We were greeted by our waitress Judi, were seated promptly, and had our drinks in hand in under 2 minutes. We ordered a quesadilla, a fish sandwich and a turkey club. The quesadilla was really good but the sandwiches we ordered for lunch were incredible. The fish based on what was freshest that day (when we went it was floridian grouper). Throughout the meal, our drinks were refilled even when we didn't ask and were given to-go cups filled with what we ordered with our meals free of charge. Ironically, the drinks were cheaper than Chili's. Overall, we had a fantastic meal and we had our waitress Judi to thank for that experience.

Tip: Ask for Judi as a waitress, she was amazing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zeetravelstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good lunch for a decent price.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We made a quick stop here on out way out of town. As usual, we let Trip Advisor be our guide. The breakfast menu looked delicious, but by the time we found the restaurant they were serving lunch. The restaurant is located inside the ChampionsGate clubhouse. They have a good variety of menu items to choose from for both breakfast and lunch. I opted for the patty melt with a side of slaw. My hubby ordered the Black and Bleu burger with onion rings. Both were delicious. The slaw is creamy with just a touch of sweetness. The onion rings were light and crispy. The tables overlook a lake on the golf course - a very pleasant setting. Our cost, with 20% tip added, (no drinks) was about $28.00.

Helpful?
Thank Debi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Certain servers excellent, take note management!!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting the pipers grille for years. Very easy and convenient as we live just 5mins drive away! Thought we would give just a little review as things seemed to have changed a lot around here! (and not for the better!!)

The servers who have been there for as long as we have been coming are always happy to see us and give us a huge warm welcome whenever we are in town. Their service is faultless always cheery and very efficient!
Recently as I understand champions gate golf club (where the pipers grille is situated) is now under new management control, since then small things such as common courtesy and the odd hello has become almost non existent from the supervisors and managers!!
As a returning customer who is in almost every time we are in town I find this extremely off putting and wonder if returning to the pipers grille is worth it! As a server myself I find if more senior servers don't acknowledge returning customer then they are in the wrong position, repeat business = successful business, simple!!

If you are intending to visit pipers grille I suggest you hope you get Judi or Carla who are fantastic at what they do and appreciate us EVERY time we are in and never change! This can of course not be said for other more senior staff which is very sad! Lead by example or don't lead at all!!

The food at pipers grille is average but used to be very good! Standard may be slipping here also??

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travellerscot M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piper's Grille and Championsgate Lounge also viewed

Davenport, Central Florida
Davenport, Central Florida
 
Davenport, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Piper's Grille and Championsgate Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing