We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful which one you rent”
Review of Highland Reserve

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Davenport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highland Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Be careful which one you rent”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Be careful with these villas. Like many Florida holiday homes these were built with cheap kitchens and bathrooms and depending on the owner they can either be really nice or disgusting. We stayed in one a few years ago that was very nice and we were pleased, however we had someone to split the cost and payed for a good one. We stayed in one by ourselves July 2012. It was right at the end of glen eagles road and it was disgusting. It was/ is owned by a guy named Power. The day we arrived we found only one bed was fresh, the rest had been left unmade from the previous occupants. That was 4/5 beds not clean. The bathrooms were dirty and after a few days roaches were coming out. We had to clean it ourselves when we arrived! A that point the owner was holding about $500 damage deposit so we didn't know what to do. He could very easily have not given it back as he was in another country. We phoned the management company because he old fridge was so noisy you couldn't hear the tv and also there were not enough glasses. I mean, come on, a box of glasses is about $10! The utensils were dirty. So, be careful what you rent. Don't rent one with the old fridge and stove and old carpet and old beds. It's just not worth it to save a few dollars. Also, the pics might look good but a lot of them are few years old and the houses have since dilapidated. Only book renovated ones and have a plan in case you get there and it's disgusting.

Room Tip: Only choose renovated properties or you may get dilapidated junk. Some of the management companies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mystic_mama74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IWantAVilla, Manager at Highland Reserve, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
This is definitely not one of our villas - Next time you want to rent a quality villa please come to I Want A Villa - we only have top quality villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    25
    19
    11
    6
See reviews for
105
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have stayed at the villa located at 135 Cork Way, which we booked direct with the owners through Home and Away. We have stayed at various villa's on Highland Reserve over the years, and this was undoubtedly the best. It was impeccably maintained, and while most are what I would call 'surface clean', this property was spotless. The pool was solar heated and it worked amazingly well, pool temperature was always about 88degrees & the thing we liked was that the owners didn't charge extra for pool heating, whereas most charge around £15/$25 per day (which really adds up over 2 weeks).
We have already booked to go back again later this year.
We did have one little problem during our stay, but 1 call to the management company and it was all sorted out within a couple of hours.
All in all, what it said in the description on home and away, was exactly what you got - brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Roger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed at 460 Bonville Drive for 2 weeks Nov 2012.Overlooking golf course.Villa sold as having solar heated pool well it either didnt work or solar heating is useless.We bought the matter to the attention of management company their reason was change in temps overnight may be true but even at end of sunny day temps in 80s no change for pool and they wanted to charge us for pool heating.This villa is sold as for 8 people but in my opinion 6 would be the max.Very poor on dishes etc the property needs re decorating but was clean.Beware next doors pool heater is vey noisy and can be heard in master bedroom which opens onto outside seating area.Enjoyed holiday but would not return to this villa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank member from salt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IWantAVilla, Manager at Highland Reserve, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
This is definitely not one of our villas - Next time you want to rent a quality villa please come to I Want A Villa - we only have top quality villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northam, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in August 2012 as a family holiday in Highland Reserve. Lovely location overlooking the golf course. the villa, however had a few issues, such as a lack of cooking facilities such as pots and pans and the air conditioning wasn't working properly and then packed in but was fine once repaired. disposal of rubbish was an issue as next door used our dustbin and left a load of rubbish lying causing fly infestation. A games room in the garage was a wonderful idea and kept the lads busy while the girls went shopping. still had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IWantAVilla, Manager at Highland Reserve, responded to this review, April 10, 2017
This is definitely not one of our villas - Next time you want to rent a quality villa please come to I Want A Villa - we only have top quality villas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in Highland Reserve in July 2012, with our main aim being to go to Disneyworld for the week, however I could've just stayed in the villa as it was that amazing! Even though there was only 5 of us, it could sleep 8, not counting the sofas available. It was massive, with four bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a full kitchen with everthing you could need, a utility room with a washer and a dryer, a garage with a pingpong table, a large dining area, a kitchen dining area and an outdoor dining area! Not to mention the pool - it was the best part. The pool was covered by a wire mesh so no insects or animals could get in. There were 4 separate doors out to the pool, one of which led to the master bedroom and another to an ensuite bathroom of another bedroom. The place really was huge!
The location was great, but you really do need a car. There is a Publix supermarket that isn't too far down the road, as well as a Target etc.
Disneyworld itself is about a 20 minute drive and Universal Studios, 30minutes. It was the perfect location as we were away from the Disney hype when we returned to the villa.
Orlando is so so hot and the air conditioning in the villa was fantastic, as it wasn't too cold when you entered the house.
I would definitly return to highland reserve, it is the perfect place for anyone going to the Orlando theme parks, especially those who are going in a group/big group. These villas have it all!

Room Tip: Some of the villas look out onto a golf course if that would interest you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Have stayed on this Resort twice and is very close to restaurants and supermarkets. Only a 15-20 min drive to Disney & universal. You will definatly need a car for this resort. The pools were such a bonus and some villas over looks the golf course. Very spacious rooms, one villa we stayed in even had a pool table!! If travelling From the uk buy your park tickets in advance! Disney & universal are a must do... So is the premium outlets!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Steph1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed in a 4 bedroom/3 bathroom villa in February 2012 for our trip to the Orlando theme parks. The villas are huge and beautiful and approximately 20 minutes drive from the theme parks. There was a pool which the kids loved, but it was not heated and too cold for me (extra cost for heating was too expensive I felt). The kitchen was not particularly well equipped and the bedding and towels had seen better days. We had to check in at a different location which was a bit of a pain after such a long journey. There was no central area which I know some other villas have with games rooms and restaurants etc. The villa was good value and we really enjoyed our holiday

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wresto4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.4 mi away
Villas at Regal Palms Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Highlands Reserve Golf Resort
4.9 mi away
Tuscana Resort Orlando by Aston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bahama Bay Resort Orlando by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
4.4 mi away
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
4.7 mi away
Mystic Dunes Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Reserve

Property: Highland Reserve
Address: 1832 N Hampton Dr, Davenport, FL 33897-5326
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The prestigious and well established Highlands Reserve Golf and Country Club is set in undulating countryside surrounded by orange groves, oaks and pine trees. This highly popular and sought after community features wide tree lined boulevards, pavements, street lighting and green areas. A safe environment for children to play. We feature 3 - 6 bedroom luxury villas all with their own private pools. Facilities available to renting guests include Tennis Courts, 76' (23m) Community Pool, Golf Club House and Golf Course. In addition, the excellent shops, bars and restaurants at Berry Town Center which is an easy walk away. The development includes a championship 18 hole (par 72) golf course, a large communal swimming pool, a children's play area and a tennis courts. The clubhouse features a pro-shop and serves snacks and drinks. All villas are set on generous plots and are not all "crammed in" as is found on many other developments. Most villas benefit from conservation or golf course views, fully taking advantage of the beautiful setting at Highlands Reserve - you can't but be impressed and you will want to come back year after year !! Highlands Reserve has the zip code 33897 (check it out on Google Earth) and is located just 10 minutes west of Disney World, on Highway US27 just south of US192. It has easy access to Interstate 4 (some 2 miles to the south), which means easy access to all of Florida's main Theme Parks and attractions, including the beautiful beaches of Florida's Gulf and Atlantic coastlines. Orlando International Airport (MCO) is about 35 minutes away, Sanford Airport is about 50 minutes away, Tampa International Airport is about 75 minutes and Miami is 3.5 hours away. The nearest supermarket (Publix) is just a 10 - 25 minute WALK away (depending on where you are staying on Highlands Reserve) north of Highlands Reserve on the US27 which also has strip mall with a huge variety of shops, restaurants, takeaways and bars - alternatively you could drive there in less than 3 minutes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Reserve Hotel Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing