We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Omni - The Place to Stay for Universal Studios Visits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Davenport
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The Omni - The Place to Stay for Universal Studios Visits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is absolutely lovely! It's in a private little area called ChampionsGate near Orlando, only 19 miles (a 23-minute drive) from Universal Studios/Islands of Adventure. The staff is helpful, going out of their way to give you a great experience. We got a room with two double beds, and it was clean, larger than expected, and definitely on the "luxe" side. I have stayed at hotels all over the country during a 30-year business career, and would count the Omni as one of my top 5 brands. As with many hotels in this area, they do charge for parking. Ask for a AAA rate and if they can discount the parking to encourage you to come back and recommend them to friends. Depending on their booking percentage, they might give you a break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YvettesGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,531
    991
    330
    151
    89
See reviews for
1,632
720
68
1,187
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
206 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our leadership conference was held here and was one of the best locations we have been at. The staff were some of the friendliest I have seen, at meals saying hello to us and using our names (name badges). I used the spa for a swedish massage, which was wonderful. Those that golfed here really liked the course. My room was excellant and I had evening turndown service, I believe because I'm in Omni's reward program, which is free to signup and also get free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbqmaster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Compared to a Motel 6 this is a 5-star place - but given that you expect a place like this to be excellent it has some real flaws that potential visitors need to be aware of before booking here that warrant an average rating.

On the positive side, it has a great staff that were all friendly and went the extra mile to help - clearly a management focus here that is working. The pool area is fun - with a lazy river, water slide and walk in pool - though there is piped music that may annoy some seeking quiet. there is a nice bar by the pool too. The indoors feel fresh, clean and maintained. Internet is free if you register for the Omni frequent stay program - registration is free - so thus easy to get free internet. It also provides a complimentary daily paper.

But on the negative side, this hotel is 30 mins from the airport and downtown Orlando. It is on the Disney side of Orlando - but out beyond Disney another 15 mins. There is nothing out here - you will need to drive to go to anything not on site - it is effectively in the middle of nowhere.

The sleep experience is a main item with hotels - after all it is where you sleep and you want a good nights sleep on vacation. Almost all rooms have non-opening windows (a few appeared to have Juliet balconies so I assume the door opens) - so there is no fresh air. This mandates a use of the HVAC systems were are very noisy when running and when turning on/off under the auto cycle. You will need earplugs to sleep well when running it and its too hot not too.

The hotel cannot generate enough hot water in the mornings at shower rush time. Everyone I spoke too agreed that water heat was lacking - cold to luke warm showers greet you. Take your shower late in the day or at night when others are not. Water pipes bang in the wall - very annoying - like a jack hammer going off. This hotel also seems to cater heavily to conventions - so expect to have conventioneers all over the place - this may or may not negatively impact your staff so ask who will be there before booking. $6 bottle of water offered in room - seriously, I get tired of these $6 bottles.

The rooms on the 'back' of the hotel (50% of them) look over the top of the convention buildings A/C units and unattractive roof. Anything at floor level 5 or below is most unattractive and wouldn't really qualify as a view - if you are not facing the golf course / pool area (the 'front'), then get a room as high up as possible.

If I was coming to Orlando with my family I would not book here.

Room Tip: High floors a must if facing the 'garden' / back of the building - otherwise you stare at gi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonUnveiled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Burnett, Manager at Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear LondonUnveiled,

Thank you for being our guest and for pointing out the amenities you enjoyed during your stay. We apologize that you experienced a shortage of hot water. Around the time of your stay, we did experience a maintenance issue and had to replace a boiler. We received very few complaints but we apologize that you may have been one of the few who were affected during that window of time. As you pointed out, we offer some beautiful views overlooking the pool and golf course. These rooms are referred to as "premier" rooms so anyone who is wanting to a room with a view can select this room type. You make another great point about the balcony rooms, which guests can also purchase as a room type option - they do have sliding glass doors that open to a balcony with two chairs. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you decide to return. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wonderful staff. Very clean and plush accommodations.My wife loved the spa treatments. Ideal poolside food & beverage. The lazy river was fun for both children and adults. Learned a great deal by taking golf lessons and enjoyed playing.

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking golf course or lazy river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The room was spacious, clean, and peaceful. I also enjoyed the view from the balcony. Also, the hotel has a lazy river, and a nice golf course. In terms of location, a drive to Universal Studios, Orlando was about 45 minutes due to traffic. A drive to Sea World was about 30 minutes with traffic. I highly recommend this hotel to any family or couple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeluxeHotelCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, new jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We chose this resort primarily because my husband did not want to do the theme parks so he wanted to golf while my daughter and I did the parks. It seemed to be a reasonable location and in reality it is even better for travel to the theme parks than I had envisioned. In reality, my expectations were not that high because the price was so reasonable and we were going for the week between Christmas and New Years (when prices are usually sky high everywhere) so I figured it had to be too good to be true. All of my expectations were exceeded. The service was very good, lots of young people who worked at the main entrance were always very friendly and helpful. We had a junior suite which was very spacious (our teenager slept on the pull out couch) and the bathroom (which is always the most important thing) was big, very clean with sleek appointments. The room had a small fridge for leftovers but for the life of me, I don't know why they put it on the side of the dresser that was blocked by the bed so access was difficult) but it definitely came in handy for cold drinks and snacks. When we arrived, they knew that we needed the couch to be used for the bed and there were no sheets but that was remedied very quickly. When we called to housekeeping they came right away with the sheets for the couch/pull out. The hotel was booked solid but it never seemed overwhelming. We spent one afternoon at the pool and it was really nice, and very clean and the staff was constantly reorganizing and tidying up when guests left. The grounds are beautifully manicured and my husband enjoyed the golfing. We took the free transportation to the Magic Kingdom but made our own way to Sea World and Universal. There is nothing much at the exit for Championsgate other than a Chili's so I would say that you need about 30 mins or so to get to the exit where all the good restaurants are in the area. There was alot of activities for the kids although we didn't really take advantage but it is definitely a great family resort. When we return to this area, I would definitely stay at this Omni again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candicaneadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champions Gate
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in villas and had an amazing 2 bedroom. We stayed bc of location near legoland. Pools were great but we were so upset that Zen was closed with no warning or explanation. Other good option was packed, so we had to settle for family Italian. If you like salt- you will love it. Actually sent dish back bc indelible with amount of salt!! But - still worth it on long run.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JSCtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
Hilton Orlando
#39 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 334 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#32 of 334 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 3,610 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate

Property: Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
Address: 1500 Masters Blvd, Davenport, FL 33896-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Davenport
#1 Business Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate 4.5*
Number of rooms: 720
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-diamond Omni Orlando Resort at ChampionsGate, located just 6 miles from Walt Disney World(R) Resort, provides scheduled transportation to the Walt Disney World(R) Theme Parks. In addition to 36 holes of championship golf, guests enjoy 15 acres of recreation including an 850 ft. lazy river, zero entry family pool, formal pool with private cabanas, and a lighted, 9-hole par 3 golf course, signature Mokara Spa a 24 hour fitness center, and seven on-site dining options. The main resort features 720 newly renovated guest rooms. In addition, there are 49 two- and three-bedroom luxury resort villas, equipped with full kitchens, a dining room, living room and private patio. The resort is located just 6 miles from the Walt Disney World(R) Magic Kingdom, and within 20-30 minutes from Universal, SeaWorld, the Shopping Outlets and Mall at Millenia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Vacatia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Orlando Resort At Championsgate Hotel Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing