We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, but lacking in service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Davenport
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“OK hotel, but lacking in service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

First I'll say that I chose this place for the great price and because I usually stick with Priority Club properties. After that I'll say that the quality of the room and property are decent, on par with the average Holiday Inn Express. The pillows weren't too good, but having the fridge and micro in the room were nice extras. But service is where this place definitely is less than the average of Holiday Inn Express. The check in clerk wasn't unfriendly or rude when I arrived in the late evening, but she paid no attention to, nor made mention of my top tier status in their rewards program, and despite the hotel being quite empty, did not fill my request for a king bed or a suite upgrade. These things don't mean much to most potential guests, but just keep in mind that if they treat their most frequent customers that way, others don't stand much of a chance.

But moving past that, going down to breakfast the next morning is where I really noticed that the quality of service was bad. The breakfast room had nobody working the area when I got down there and so I had to clean off my own table. They had one of the new pancake machines sitting next to the other hot food, so I was excited. But then I noticed that they didn't bother to have it turned on for us. When the less-than-friendly employee did finally show up I asked her how to work it and she just said it didn't work. How about removing it from the food counter if it isn't working? Is it there just to disappoint everyone that tries to get a pancake from it? The employee took off again and wasn't seen until 9:30 when it was time to close the breakfast. And this time she brought another helper and they got right to work cleaning up. No warning or announcement to the guests still eating, they just went to work removing the food and didn't look back. It was nice to see them finally working hard, but it would have been nice to see them doing that to provide breakfast rather than to remove the breakfast. At no time during this whole process did this employee smile or look or act friendly, and she just gave off an unfriendly and don't-bother-me attitude.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    111
    51
    16
    16
See reviews for
152
80
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft.Myers FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel is a real bargain for the money. It is close enough to the theme parks and has a refrigerator and microwave in the room. The rooms are spacious and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marypat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed one night as I was just quickly passing through the area. This hotel fit the bill for value, cleanliness, and a place to rest for the night. The front desk staff was friendly, the room was comfortable, and the breakfast decent. It's not the most convenient location for quick access to retail or dining, nor to the southeast part of Orlando, but certainly works for the immediate surroundings and for travelers on Interstate 4.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Edam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Typical hotel furnishings in a clean and spacious king room. Room had a small sitting area with a wet bar, microwave, mini fridge, flat screen TV, and a safe tucked away in the closet. There was an outdoor pool that looked very inviting, a small fitness center, and breakfast was included with my stay - muffins, cold cereals, make your own pancakes, etc. Well lit parking area.

The property is right off of I-4, behind the Comfort Suites. Target is nearby on Hwy 27S, in a nice shopping center. Wal-Mart is a little farther down Hwy 27S. Disney is not far, so if you want a property away from the crowds, this is a good one.

My only problems with this property are that the walls are very thin. I don't normally mention this, but I was awakened at 5am one morning by snoring from the next room. However, once the air conditioner kicked in, the snoring was drowned out. I could also clearly hear conversations in the next room and the occupants weren't shouting. The other complaint I have is that there is only access to the property on one side of the road. That got to be pretty annoying after a while.

Room Tip: Try a room on the back side of the property as the front side is facing I-4 and you can hear some tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden, Ontario
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

We've stayed at the Holiday Inn 6 times & have never been disappointed. The staff are very friendly, the rooms always clean, atmosphere quiet, breakfast just fine. The price is incredible. We love the location as it's only minutes from Disney, shopping and many great restaurants. What a jewel!

Room Tip: Remember to use AAA/CAA or other discounts offered. King room had extra living room and kitchen. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiles53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

This indeed is a true gem of a hotel and is managed extremely well by Mr. Shane Anderson. The entire staff is friendly, efficient and always greet you with a "can do" attitude.

The breakfast buffet was a surprise and is very edible. The menu changed daily and the employee that operated the buffet always kept food hot, plentiful and tasty.

We had only planned to stay at this hotel for a night or two; then move onto a more expensive hotel. However, we so enjoyed the Holiday Express from the service, food and the comforts of the bed that we stayed over for six nights.

Cons: A few more tables in the dining room area would be nice. As the breakfast area fills up quickly

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimire3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Tucked out of the way a little bit, and can only be accessed from one side of road. But a real gem good value in every way . Well done management keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodger006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Maingate South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Orlando - Maingate South
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Davenport
Days Inn & Suites Davenport
#12 of 14 in Davenport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Reunion Resort of Orlando
Reunion Resort of Orlando
#13 of 152 in Kissimmee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,562 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Maingate South
Quality Inn Maingate South
#7 of 14 in Davenport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.3 mi away
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport
Address: 4050 Hotel Dr, Davenport, FL 33897-3446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel, opened February, 2009. The gracious and professional staff proudly presents The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Orlando South. Presenting a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet every morning in our Great Room. Enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool, fitness room, business center, interior corridors, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Orlando South-Davenport
Holiday Inn Express Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing