We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely surprised and we're coming back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Davenport
Troutman, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Completely surprised and we're coming back!”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This indeed is a true gem of a hotel and is managed extremely well by Mr. Shane Anderson. The entire staff is friendly, efficient and always greet you with a "can do" attitude.

The breakfast buffet was a surprise and is very edible. The menu changed daily and the employee that operated the buffet always kept food hot, plentiful and tasty.

We had only planned to stay at this hotel for a night or two; then move onto a more expensive hotel. However, we so enjoyed the Holiday Express from the service, food and the comforts of the bed that we stayed over for six nights.

Cons: A few more tables in the dining room area would be nice. As the breakfast area fills up quickly

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimire3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    115
    52
    16
    16
See reviews for
155
82
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Tucked out of the way a little bit, and can only be accessed from one side of road. But a real gem good value in every way . Well done management keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rodger006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great hotel for a bargain price. A hidden gem. Not far from the theme parks, shopping and day trips to Kennedy Space Center and Florida beaches. Stayed for 7 days. Staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast was ver good. Lots of food. Only suggestion more tables and chairs. Well done Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We decided to go to Davenport on very short notice. This hotel was available and the price was right. We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised. Shane and all the staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the breakfast was fine. They offered 24 hour coffee, tea and hot chocolate...nice touch.

If I had to list any negatives, the only complaints I would have (annoyances more than complaints) were that since there were 2 of us, it would have been nice to have more than one chair in the room (very minor). We brought back dinner one night and one of us had to stand or sit on the bed to eat. It was tricky juggling several items for the one on the bed. I'm sure though, if we would have asked, they would have pleasantly given us a second chair ... since it was our last nite, we didn't ask.

The only other minor complaints were that, although they offer free wi fi....which is great...you had to keep connecting to it every time you left your laptop, even for 10 minutes or so. They did, however, offer 2 desktop computers and a printer in the lobby area. That was a big help as we needed to print our return plane tickets. As a matter of fact, when we had trouble with the printer, Shane immediately and pleasantly came and fixed it for us.

Lastly, it would have been nice to have some shade in the pool area..... it was hot when we were there so you couldn't just sit sit by the pool and relax for very long.

All in all, the good definitely outweighed the inconveniences. Shane and his staff were the friendliest I've seen in any hotel we've stayed, even ones that were much more expensive.

If we ever take a short trip to Davenport again, I would definitely book this hotel again ... that is, as long as Shane is in charge. I'm sure the friendliness, cleanliness, etc., at a hotel has a lot to do with the quality of the management staff and to Shane's credit, he seems to manage it very well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
176 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

we have been in many hotels but this is the only hotel the noise from the other rooms are extremely high.. Even minor noises from other room you could hear.

The staff (night shift) when we checked in on July 23 * night was not friendly at all.

Breakfast is free but many are told out of stock even "Milk" ??

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARA111toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

as a couple, we were traveling with the intention of just getting away and staying in a Hotel for some precious alone time. Having said that, the hotel experience (cleanliness/friendliness etc) would certainly make or break this getaway for us, as it was our actual destination.
I will happily say that I am certainly looking forward to the next time! The entire place was clean and in perfect shape outside and in. The staff was very friendly and we had no issues or complaints whatsoever!

The breakfast was fantastic and there was a much bigger variety than I had expected... (though we couldnt bring ourselves to get out of the comfortable bed- for breakfast the second day!) I love that there were soft and firm pillows on the bed!!!

I can not leave out the most amazing aspect of the room... the whirlpool tub. I think I was wrinkled like a prune by the time we had to leave! (too much info? )

lets just say my sweetheart and I had a much needed amazing weekend and we are looking forward to the next time!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanndenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

In a day and age where customer service seems to be a myth instead of a reality, it was a welcome surprise to stumble upon this Holiday Inn Express. From the moment we arrived I noticed that the property looked nice---not that I normally really notice the appearance of a hotel, but this place looked almost brand new. Check-in was quick and it was nice to be greeted with a smile and friendly personalities. Our room---complete with jacuzzi tub---was very clean and comfortable. There were plenty of pillows on the bed and it was fantastic (a pet-peeve of mine is when you have a bed with only two or three flat pillows on it).

While it may be true that there's no such thing as a free lunch, apparently there is free breakfast at this hotel. Each day there is a variety of diffrent food offered, but you will generally find pancakes, eggs, fruit, rolls, bread/toast, various types of muffins and more---along with some great coffee. Of course, there are lots of places to eat nearby so you don't have to worry about driving forever to satisfy your appetite.

I can imagine that a few may be put off by the fact that this hotel is quite a distance 25 miles or so) outside of Orlando... but we found that to be quite appealing actually. Living in the city and dealing with traffice all week, it was great to be away from that element for the weekend, yet not so far out in the middle of owhere that we felt cut off.

- - - - In summary - - - -

Staff: A (repeatedly told us if you need anything to ask, but everything was perfect)

Room: A+ (perfectly clean, perfectly comfortable and had a thermostat---which we kept at 68 the entire time).

Property: A (Looks new and it was nice to stay at a place where we didn't have to worry as to whether or not our car would be there in the morning)

Amenities/miscellaneous: A (There was a family reunion going on at this hotel the weekend we were there and yet it was so quiet and relaxing we hardly noticed anyone else was even on the property).

Price: A+ (There's something to be said about being away from the city).

Overall: A

I very rarely write hotel reviews, but if you're going to complain about bad service it's only fair to note when you have an excellent experience as well. Thanks for a wonderful weekend Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZMike11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Davenport
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Maingate South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Orlando - Maingate South
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Davenport
Days Inn & Suites Davenport
#12 of 14 in Davenport
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Reunion Resort of Orlando
Reunion Resort of Orlando
#13 of 152 in Kissimmee
1,623 reviews
2.3 mi away
Omni Orlando Resort at Championsgate
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Maingate South
Quality Inn Maingate South
#8 of 14 in Davenport
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport
Address: 4050 Hotel Dr, Davenport, FL 33897-3446
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Davenport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Davenport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel, opened February, 2009. The gracious and professional staff proudly presents The Holiday Inn Express and Suites Orlando South. Presenting a delicious complimentary hot breakfast buffet every morning in our Great Room. Enjoy our sparkling outdoor pool, fitness room, business center, interior corridors, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Orlando South-Davenport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Orlando South-Davenport
Holiday Inn Express Davenport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing