We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John U. Lloyd Beach State Park”

Dr. Von D. Mizell-Eula Johnson State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$279.00*
and up
Sunset Air Tour: Miami Beach and Fort Lauderdale
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“John U. Lloyd Beach State Park”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Many people don't know about this hidden State Park. Plenty of gorgeous beaches and picnic areas. Also you have the Intracoastal waterway. There is a jetty that you can fish from that is located right at the heart of Port Everglades. This is a beautiful park to have lunch or just relax at the beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    104
    37
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Quiet beach to come collect shells, watch the cruise ships come in/out, visit with fisherman on the pier, or camp out with your honey. Perfect place for pictures with the rocks in the water. Pavillioins for a picnic with clean restrooms. Tons of nature, approximately $5 to get in. All day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank hollywoodpalms1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful day”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Absolutely Great Labor Day , Dania Beach is Clean and Peaceful . enjoyed the SUN and brought own food and drinks. We stayed the whole day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anita M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly people and a nice place to fish”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After having a terrible experience on another fishing pier in Florida, we were greatly surprised to have a completely different experience that all but made us forget about the other pier. When we walked up to the bait shop, the guy couldn't have been more helpful. We were able to get what we needed without any issues. After finding a nice spot to set up, we just sat back and had a nice day. Unfortunately, the fishing was not so good that day. However, the pier was packed with locals, and on more than one occasion one of the locals made a point to come over to us to tell us that it was not a common occurrence for the fishing to be so poor. It was obvious to us that he genuinely felt bad that we had made a special trip to fish at this pier and the fishing was so poor. Even though we didn't catch any fish that day, we went back the next to try again. Unfortunately it did rain the next day and we decided not to fish, but we will certainly go back to this pier to fish.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank copperfuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not good on windy day”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Based on reviews, we went here on a Sunday after lunch to fill a couple hours while waiting to pick up someone at the airport. It was a wind day, so the swimming was not even really possible. There was a LOT of seaweed on the beach and in the water. Planes went overhead regularily. I found them distracting, but my husband liked looking at them. Not very relaxing. It is a long stretch, so there was room for all. The sand is VERY HOT, so flip flops are helpful. Some pretty shells, but not a lot. Showers and bathrooms were available and in typical shape for a public place. The "educational facility" was just an area for groups to hear talks. We did find the "Nature Walk". It was kind of interesting to see native trees/plants labeled. There were lots of cobwebs, so not many people must check it out. It only took us 10 minutes to walk it as it looked like part of it was blocked off. We left about 3pm and the line of cars to get in was LOOONG!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Von D. Mizell-Eula Johnson State Park also viewed

Dania Beach, Broward County
Dania Beach, Broward County
 
Dania Beach, Broward County
Hollywood, Broward County
 

Been to Dr. Von D. Mizell-Eula Johnson State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing