We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap hotel, not so great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap hotel, not so great stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent one night here prior to flight to Bahamas. They shuttled us from the airport for free, but we were crammed into a van with AC that was barely working, it was stuffy and hot. Walking into the lobby, it smelled like smoke. The whole hotel had a bad smell. Breakfast was very basic, with styrofoam plates and plasticware. The room was acceptible, we slept OK, and were quite ready to depart the next day for our flight out of town. On the way back we stayed at a different hotel, for only about $20 more. It was definately worth paying a bit more for a much better experience.

So this hotel is OK, nothing terrible happened and it served our needs, but there are much better places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank austinfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    198
    115
    54
    45
See reviews for
178
208
36
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Good place to stay before and after cruise. Free transportation to and from airport and cruise port. Comfortable rooms can sleep up to six. Pool and hot tub. Can walk to Walgreens and several restaurants easily. Walked to Hollywood Beach as well but might want to take cab.

Room Tip: 1st floor is better the elevator is fine but stairs are out of way. You have to schedule transportat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kevinndavis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Plain, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed at this Sleep Inn and took advantage of their sleep and cruise package. The hotel was nice as far as accomodations, the breakfast was very cheap, not much selection and crowded. We used their shuttle service the shuttle van was worn out but our driver was nice and got us there in plenty of time and they were very prompt in picking us up.

Now for the bad part, while staying at this hotel during our cruise we came back to our truck being broken into. We parked right next to the side entrance where a video camera was. We locked our door and took all precautions to make our vehicle secure. However our truck was broken into the lock broken by a screw driver, door damage, our headrests that had tvs built into them (that had covers and looked like normal headrests) were ripped out and a duffle bag with our clean clothes and kids dvds was stolen. They do have it on video where our vehicle was broken into you could see it on servelance. However they now say they can't get their dvr to work to sent the info to the police to catch the guy. Then a week or so after we were broken into the police informed us another car was broken into at that sleep Inn. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR CAR THERE!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I traveled with a large group of 12 people total to FLL. Beginning with the shuttle pick up at the airport, we didn’t have such a great experience with this hotel.

The shuttle took a long time to pick us up and we had to wait outside in the hot Florida air until they arrived. The shuttle van isn’t meant to hold 12 passengers, but we didn’t want to split up and wait even longer for a second ride, and therefore we all squeezed into the 9 passenger van. The driver was terrible on the roads! Unfortunately we’re a group of motion sickness sufferers, and the driver was adamant on getting to top speed right off the line every time we stopped! Even just traveling down a road he would accelerate and let off the gas very drastically… it was not smooth at all!

After arriving at the hotel, nearly green in the face from the drive, we then got stuck at the registration desk for what seemed an eternity, despite our already pre-paid reservations. Apparently the hotel made an error and reserved an extra room for our group and since they were unable to figure out the error, we got an extra room (which was nice) but it took 30 minutes to simply check in and get our room keys.

So we finally get to our room and surprise to me, I stepped in big pile of water-soaked carpet in our sitting area between the couch and coffee table! It was so much water it made a splashing noise when I stepped in it. It didn’t appear to have come from a leak in the ceiling or any other leaky location, so we figured it was spilled there somehow. How could the housekeeping staff have not noticed? I still can’t figure that out.

Several hours go by, and the hotel decides to take back the extra room they gave us, and made 2 extra people share the room I was in. This enraged me a little, having previously worked in a hotel myself, I would never risk an angry customer due to an error I made… they would’ve enjoyed the extra room all night. But not this hotel, they made us give up the room! I couldn’t believe it.

When I arrived back to the hotel late in the night, I knew my key wouldn’t work due to the room dilemma earlier, so I stopped at the desk to get a new key. For some weird reason that I can’t figure out, the front desk person made me sign a registration card! I told him it was already registered, people were already sleeping in that room, and I just needed a key to get in, yet he insisted. It was weird and I don’t get it. Needless to say, I was more than ready to leave the next morning. Luckily our morning driver was better at driving us to the port where our cruise ship was waiting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at the Sleep Inn/FLL prior to a recent cruise. We flew in to FLL but our ship departed from MIA.

We didn't take advantage of the free shuttle from the airport to the hotel - and then from the hotel to the Ft. Lauderdale pier, as we needed a rental car.

However, we would HIGHLY recommend this location for a pre-cruise stay. Obviously the free shuttle is a wonderful perk. But on top of that, there are a few restaurant options and a full service grocery store (Publix) directly across the street from the hotel, that you can easily walk to for any pre-cruise needs.

The staff was friendly and the room was nice and clean!

The hotel also features a free continental breakfast - cereal, muffins, a few "hot" options, etc.

Great stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandJColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This was our second time staying at this hotel. The staff are great, the rooms quite nice, the pool a nice retreat after a long day, and it is an excellent base location for touring the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Sleep Inn is a great place to stay overnight before you board your cruise the next day. Shuttle bus pick up from the airport and to the cruise terminal is complimentary. The continental breakfast included in the room price is adequate. I would not recommend staying here if you're planning on staying a few days though. Also, as long as your expectation is a 1 or 2 star hotel, you'll be fine. We would stay here again the next time we cruise from Fort Lauderdale

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiLuvsToTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dania Beach
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Dania Fort Lauderdale Airport Port Everglades
1.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport
2.1 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport / Cruise Port South
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport

Property: Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport
Address: 1500 SE 5th Ave, Dania Beach, FL 33004-4543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Ft. Lauderdale International Airport Hotel Dania Beach
Sleep Inn Dania Beach
Dania Beach Sleep Inn
Dania Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing