We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay pre-cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
Arlington, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good place to stay pre-cruise”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We flew into Ft. Lauderdale on Saturday, the night before leaving on Allure of the Seas on Sunday. This is a very convenient place to stay, very close to the cruise port. The staff is very friendly and the hotel is clean and comfortable. One note: there is nowhere within walking distance to eat dinner but the hotel does have a complimentary shuttle that will take you to local restaurants/shopping centers which is nice.

The complimentary breakfast the next morning downstairs was busy and crazy (as to be expected - many cruise folks there) but the food was good and always well stocked.

One thing I would do different next time is take a taxi to the cruise port to go directly to my ship. The hotel allows a company to set up in the lobby to book you a bus to the cruise port for $7 a person. The problem is it makes multiple stops. We left the hotel at 10am and didn't arrive at our ship until 11am but the port is just 10 minutes away.

Yes, I would stay here again pre-cruise. Nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brydea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    262
    120
    37
    36
See reviews for
199
264
31
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunset Beach, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

This Fairfield is literally on the wrong side of the tracks. It is not at the airport, not at the cruise port, and not in Ft Lauderdale, but on a seedy street in nearby Dania Beach. Actually, it really doesn't seem like a Marriott property, with tired sagging mattresses and chipped furniture, a small interior breakfast room serving powdered eggs, and a guy cleaning carpets outside the door of our room at 9pm. With no decent stores or places to eat nearby, even if you wanted to walk in this neighborhood, they offer a shuttle to a nearby shopping center. With lots of good places to stay before or after a Ft Lauderdale cruise or flight, especially along 17th street where there are lots of nice stores and places to eat within a short safe walking distance, don't stay in this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marife l, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We’re sorry we didn't provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we appreciate your feedback. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. We welcome any additional comments you have that will help us make your next stay more enjoyable.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Front desk was very helpful. Room was large and clean. The hot tub was great. Our flight didn't leave until 4:00 but checkout was 12:00. The front desk held our luggage for us and gave us a key card that allowed us access to the pool where we laid in the sun while waiting for the time to go to the airport. Breakfast was very good

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VikkiFromCinci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We got put up at this hotel for a night (thanks Spirit), when we got stranded and missed our flight to Puerto Rico. We had food vouchers that Spirit had given us for snacks at this hotel but the staff said they can't be accepted. There is no where close by to eat, and frankly it just did the job no more no less, it took the shuttle 1/2 hour to pick us up at the airport, but going back it was very good. The only other Fairfield that I can compare it to is the one in Romulous, Michigan, DTW, and the one in Michigan is way way nicer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shilee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marife l, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
You indicated in your response that service was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Our goal is to address your concerns so that we can ensure you have an exceptional experience on your next visit.You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. If I may be of assistance, please don’t hesitate to contact me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We had one more night to spend after our cruise before we flew home so we chose this hotel because it was close to Port Everglades and to the airport and they offered a shuttle service. We needed lunch when we arrived at the hotel and were shocked to find out that the closest "restuarants" were the Subway Sandwich and the Noors Bakery .They did offer a free shuttle to the Oakwood Plaza but not until 4:30 pm ( until 9:30 pm) . Once we got to the Oakwood Plaza there was a couple of restuarants to choose from but the shopping itself was just mainly limited to Kmart, Marshalls and Home Depot. So you can imagine, there was nothing much to do in the evening except have dinner and go back to the hotel. The next day, we still had time to kill before our flight in the evening. They were nice enough to watch our bags for us. But for spending our day, we were told that we have few options: We can take the shuttle to the Dania beach or Galleria Mall or even Sawgrass Outlet , which could cost us from $25 ( one way) to $70 ( one way). BUT the shuttle to the airport is Free.

As far as the hotel itself, our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The hotel was relatively modern. The wifi was strong during the daytime. We heard some noise which woke us up early in the morning like some sort of construction. The air conditioning was noisy so we just turned it off at night which was quite uncomfortable when we woke up. The breakfast was mediocre for a Fairfield. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sealymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta,ga
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Hubby and I did a weekend here with a checkout early Monday. We were in town to visit relatives who lived close by. We arrived super early at the height of check out time. Little did I realize this hotel is in an area with others that are used for people either returning on going on a cruise. No worries though because we received incredible service when we arrived.

My husband was told they did not have any rooms ready. We got there about 10:30. The guest service person asked for his name and phone number and offered to call us when the room was ready. Here is when they went above what you think a Fairfield would do. They offered to take our bags and put them in the room. We did not have to lug them back to the car.
Now hubby had to call about a couple of hours later, we were sleepy and wanted to change out of our winter wear but we were told 30 mins our room would be ready.
Got to the hotel a little early than 30 and guess what...the room was ready!
Nice spacious room with double beds. Hubby wanted king size but oh well more room for me to roll around without bumping into him! It was a great stay. Their rooms come with two sinks AND the sink closest to the bathroom is outside of the tub/toilet area. Makes it nice for someone to shower and the other to shave and put on make up.
Not too much closet space but this is not meant to be an extended stay place. I just place my bag near the other space. I used the desk as my own make up station which was nice. It kept the bathroom sink from being overcrowded.
Outside of the hotel is ok. You will not find a lot of upscale restaurants. There was a Burger King within 1 to 2 minutes of walking. It was that close. Across the street I believe there was a Dave and Busters as well as other eateries. You will need a car or at least I recommend one. This is very close to I95 so you can get to other parts of town quite easily.
Hubby turned in the rental car early since we were so close to the airport. We used the shuttle to get to our terminal. The driver took his job seriously. He made sure he loaded the bags based on what airlines everyone was using. There was no awkward unloading and reloading which takes up time for you to get your flight and more time for the shuttle to get back to the hotel. Wish other hotel chains had this type of common sense!
Overall very good hotel if you don't need the fancy restaurants. In case you miss your flight or let's say you have to stay an extra night or two because of the artic vortex, you will be just fine here.
We did not get a chance to take advantage of the free breakfast. From what I could see, it was cereals, oatmeal and bagels. Definitely free coffee and juice. There may be other options but just could not get close enough to tell.
You will be fine staying here.

Room Tip: Even though this hotel is close to the expressway, our room was very quiet and I had a goodnight'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melnatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A botched reservation, confused staff, and an inabillity to use common sense for simple problem solving resulted in great inconvenience. There was no line at the front desk, so there is no good excuse for their inefficiency. Their poor service totally disrupted my evening and caused me ot miss a significant part of the event I had flown in to attend. They also incorrectly charged a friend's bill and falsely told me that they had reduced charges on my bill as a result of my inconvenience. There was no "courtesy" reduction; the rates go down automatically Sun-Thurs. There is no reason for intentional deception. This trip completely undermined the credibility of Fairfield Inns..

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allout23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerson D, Guest Relations Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you had during your stay.Unfortunately we did not meet our expectations nor yours. However, your feedback and comments are very important to us as we are continuously trying to improve the service and the guest experience at our hotel. Please give us a second chance to serve you as everyone deserves a second chance. I brought these issues to the attention of the front desk staff and we are focusing on training and development to enhance the service, Please contact me as I would like to give you a credit for the inconvenience or I could give you a discounted rate for a future stay. Once again I apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dania Beach
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/Cruise
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#12 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airport North Cruise Port
Hampton Inn Fort Lauderdale Airp...
#8 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Address: 2081 Griffin Rd, Dania Beach, FL 33312-5912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Dania Beach
#7 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port 2.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port Hotel Dania Beach
Fairfield Inn And Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing