We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay-with cookies!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Dania Beach
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay—with cookies!”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

I don't know where they got them or who made them, but the hotel had placed individually-wrapped cookies at the check-in desk that were ridiculously delicious! A nice, unexpected touch after a day of travelling.

We staid overnight to catch a cruise the following day, and the hotel had an airport shuttle (free) and one that went to the cruise terminal (inexpensive). It was an easy, convenient place to stay when stopping over for that reason.

The rooms and hotel were quite clean and the rooms had a clean, somewhat strong scent. A few people here have complained about the carpets looking dirty, but I think it's because of the choice of carpet material. The fabric was intentionally rough and irregular, but the pilling makes it look a bit dirty at first sight, especially if a sunbeam is shining on it on an angle. Still, it was clean and I have no complaints about the room.

The hotel advertises free WiFi, which was actually a crucial element of me booking the room here, however once I got to the room, there was no hotel WiFi signal on either my iPad or smartphone. When I called down to the desk, the man said that sometimes the signal isn't strong enough to reach the upper floors. What?! That's an easily-fixed problem, so…fix it? I ended up spending some hours in the lobby in order to use the WiFi there (different login and password), which was somewhat slow, but free WiFi often is. It was fine for getting email and browsing the web, but don't bother trying to videochat or watch YouTube videos.

The included breakfast was average, though there was more to choose from than I expected. The staff worked like dogs during the breakfast service, replacing the always-empty milk thermoses and cleaning up after customers' messy, somewhat pushy liquidation of the food counters. Muffins were the usual bland, mass-produced variety, but there were some good cereals and the juice machine was very popular. The breakfast lounge is adjacent to the lobby, so the food aromas carry over strongly in the morning.

The staff was friendly and appropriately helpful, though not overly effusive. They staid pretty much in the background unless you engaged them, which is nice if you like that sort of thing (I do).

Though it's located near a large set of shopping plazas, getting to the plazas on foot is an exercise in frustration because of how the streets are laid out. Only certain intersections have crosswalks, and they're all inconvenient. Since there are ten lanes of traffic at these points, you can't easily and safely just hop across the street, which would get you to the mall quickly rather than having to meander and backtrack in order just to cross the road.

There are food places within walking distance, like Chipotle, Taco Bell, and McDonalds. There are snack and soda vending machines around the hotel as well. The hotel is located next to a highway and under a huge billboard, so you're not going there for its views.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLoToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFanklin, Property Revenue Manager at Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about your stay with us. We are really glad to hear you enjoyed the cookies, our little touch. Sorry to hear about the internet issue, i will pass this along to the management team so that they can look into it and get it resolved. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    410
    292
    177
    143
See reviews for
398
520
78
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WORCESTER, MA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

For our purposes, it is a good location and a good value - but that was the only positive. The breakfast came with the room but it was not worth eating. There was free WiFi but
I had a hard time connecting to my Ipad. The room keys were a constant problem and the front desk was not happy about reformatting them. The cooling unit was loud which made for a terrible night's sleep. They NEED to beef up their housekeeping; the lobby trash cans were always overflowing and it took forever to get more towels and hangers. The room was way too small to add a cot. The overall landscape design was dumb. No ramps at the side doors for luggage and no ramp and sidewalk from the front parking lot. The treadmill was broken, the business center was always full and there is NO restaurant on the premises. Spend a few dollars more and stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLITZMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The hotel well located next to I95, the major north south interstate road and in close proximity to major south florida attractions. We found the hotel staff to be very friendly and accomodating with our housekeeper,Mislaidis Ramirez keeping our room spotless

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justatravelingman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFanklin, Property Revenue Manager at Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 4, 2011
The Management and Staff are pleased to hear you enjoyed our property and your stay with us. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. Our staff prides itself on keeping the property clean and well maintained and it looks as if we met your expectations. Thanks again for your great remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We stayed here one night for convenience. Arrived very late. Somewhat close to airport, but expected closer. Hotle is described as new and photos look great, but up close the reality is different. Worst part was cleanliness of the bed "comforter". Snagged and grimy fabric that felt as if not washed in quite a while covered a cheap, lumpy mess of a comforter. Carpet looked very dirty as well. New and trendy fixtures dressed up the place, but underneath the surface, the quality was Motel 6. Alarm clock/radio did not work at all. Requested a wake up call. After over-sleeping and missing breakfast, complained to desk that did not receive wake up call. Attendant said they did call; discovered the phone volume was very low. No offer of compensation. Witnessed a few other unhappy guests at desk, some asking for new room assignments. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonsky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFanklin, Property Revenue Manager at Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy the hotel or your stay with us. The property does pride itself on making sure every guest is taken care of and has a enjoyable stay but it looks as if we fall short on this with your experience. Management has taken the steps to address the issues you encountered with the departments and staff involved. Again we are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Stayed here for a night to attend a concert at Seminole hard rock casino which is a couple of miles away. Nice size room with king bed was more like a mini suite. Room was clean bed was comfortable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emjets32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFanklin, Owner at Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review and for staying with us while in the Fort Lauderdale area. The staff is very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We booked this hotel before a cruise, early check in was perfect, very nice front desk staff, my children really enjoyed the breakfast, good location, close to all shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OntarioAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFanklin, Property Revenue Manager at Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to fill out a review about your stay with us and thanks for staying with us while in the Fort Lauderdale area. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel, staff and stay. The property prides itself on making sure each and every guest is taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Hotel is new condition and rooms are modern; however, they are dirty. Hairs on the bathroom floor, stains on the sheets and a lipstick smudge on one of the pillows. I wonder if the sheets are changed between guests??? There were also no towels in the room. Weird.

Great location, but needs proper cleaning.

Also, the shuttle was not free. We were charged per person rate. Seems as though some of the staff have some side deals with tour operators???

My advice, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWFanklin, Property Revenue Manager at Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 21, 2011
First I would like to thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about the property. It looks as if we fell short on your expectations and you encountered a couple issues while at the hotel. I will pass this information along to the management staff so that they can get these items resolved. Again thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dania Beach
0.1 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Fort Lauderdale, Airport South & Cruise Port
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport/Cruise Port
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdal...
#37 of 128 in Fort Lauderdale
1,139 reviews
0.1 mi away
HYATT house Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport South & Cruise Port
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft. Lauderdale Airport/South Cruise Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites
Address: 1900 Stirling Rd, Dania Beach, FL 33004-2101 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Dania Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Dania Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the brand new Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood Airport hotel with easy access to the Port Everglades Cruise Port and Broward Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Hotel Dania Beach
Best Western Plus Fort Lauderdale Airport South Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing